We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab stay in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We really loved our stay here. The hotel staff was incredibly helpful. We arrived to a beautifully sunny day and the concierge was able to secure a tee time for my husband at Braids (also recommended by the concierge) just hours later. He had a fantastic time while I explored the city.
We had a castle view room. It was not overly spacious, but well appointed. Lots of outlets to plug in all our electronic gadgets.
Breakfast buffet was excellent and the service was quick and friendly. The haggis is very good - don't be afraid to try it!
Loved our meal at Galvin Brasserie. Excellent French cuisine.
Excellent service at Peacock alley one night; so slow the next that we left.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxtravgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear luxtravgal,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you loved your stay, and particularly pleased with your commending of our team members. I agree that the haggis is wonderful, and your experience in our Galvin Brasserie De Luxe was also successful.

Hopefully you and your husband shall return again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,896
    827
    397
    163
    71
See reviews for
705
1,640
97
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you are looking for a well appointed, clean, centrally located hotel with old fashioned historical charm, then this is the place for you.

We were celebrating our anniversary. I emailed the concierge in advance of our trip asking about suggestions and reservations for dinner on the night of our anniversary. I received several suggestions and we ended up dining at all of them throughout our stay. All were wonderful and most we would never have found on our own. We walked to all but one of them, even though a couple were a bit of a hike from the hotel.

We were pleasantly surprised upon arrival when we were upgraded to a large suite with a view of the castle. We also had wine in the room with a note congratulating us on our first anniversary. The bed was comfortable, there was no street noise even though we were on a lower level, and everything was clean. You feel like you are stepping back in time just a little.

My only complaint is that the hotel is located on a somewhat busy intersection which sometimes made it a pain to get in and out of the hotel.

I would (and hope to) stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelAddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear TheTravelAddicts,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that we were able to assist in making your Anniversary stay such a special occasion. Our Personal Concierge is always available for assistance, and thankfully the suggestions made were to your satisfaction.

I also hope that you are able to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future, maybe even for your next Anniversary.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

There's not much to say than perfect. Luxurious room, good service. In the heart of Edinburgh you can reach most of the spots by feet. Its worth it to pay more. I can only recommend the hotel. Hope to have the chance for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilolitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Lilolitaa

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. There are no more words to use to match your perfect description of your experience with us.

I am extremely grateful, and hope that you are able to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was at The Caledonian for a 2-day conference, so spent most of my time in Edinburgh in the hotel. Not a bad thing, though. The property retains the charm of its age, but is comfortably modern. My room had a view of a castle - totally Instagram worthy, and a cool way to be introduced to Scotland. Comfortable bed, room well-appointed (though quite small), including a Nespresso machine. The Peacock Bar has a decent selection of wine, table service, and comfortable chairs you could easily lounge in till you reach unseemly levels of drunkenness. Breakfast was a beautifully arranged and varied affair. I needed to grab mine to go, and they were happy to help me with a box and travel coffee. What I saw of the fitness room was good - clean, functional equipment, water, towels, apples.

Room Tip: View of the castle and cemetery from higher rooms is super cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GABRIELLE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear GABRIELLE M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. By all accounts it would appear that you have departed more than satisfied, and I am delighted to hear that you have shared your photographs on Instagram! You have mentioned many of the highlights of the hotel, including the fashionable Nespresso machines, as well as our wonderful Peacock Alley area!

Hopefully your next conference will be located at the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you are planning a trip to Edinburgh, than look no further, this is the place to stay. The fabulous Waldorf Astoria is not only one of the most beautiful old hotels, but it also has the finest staff I have ever come across, in all my years of extensive travel. They were so exceptional in their approach to guest service that it seemed effortless. Nothing was a problem and attention to detail on all counts. We were greeted by Guest Relations Manager, Natalie, who also sent a pre check in email to see if there were any special requests, or anything was needed prior to check in. I had never encountered such a professional approach and her ability to remember each and every member of the family's names was impressive. The hotel room was beautifully appointed and the high ceilings provided that old world charm and elegance. High tea in Peacock Alley is a must do and again, attention to detail. All meals from the cakes, quality coffee and sandwiches were excellent, in fact there was nothing I could fault. To top it off, this hotel is in a prime location, with amazing view of the Edinburgh Castle. It is close to shops and restaurant keeping my wife and daughter very happy. Each day we were greeted at the door by Neil, dressed immaculately in traditional kilt and company uniform. Always helpful, knowledgable and friendly.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a Castle view room, high tea is a must do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear blueferrari,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am simply blown away by your wonderful comments after your experience, and ecstatic that you have singled out our amazing guest relations team member Natalie. Our guest relations team thrive on going above and beyond to serve our guests, and I am pleased that you have noticed this. Edinburgh is certainly a great city to visit, especially when you had a room overlooking the castle!

Hopefully you will have the opportunity to visit the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumpton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a traditional city hotel, efficient check in service, beds large and comfortable. We asked for a quiet room which we were given and it was perfect, perhaps not the best views but excellent for us. Disappointed with the room servicing, the Nespresso capsules not replaced and had to ask 4 times for earl grey tea bags. The blackout curtains and the comfy bed meant it was a great nights sleep.
Breakfast buffet we found to be the best value rather than ordering from the menu, food not piping hot but lovely haggis. Staff were fantastic and intent on making our stay a special one.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms do not have the same views but are away from the main road and the night bus stop. King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agentswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear agentswiss,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we were able to assist with your preferences and requests regarding a quiet room. I am delighted the staff members delivered excellent service and ensured your stay was memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a splurge for us to stay at the Waldorf Astoria. When we checked in the room was dingy, old looking, no view….. Not what we expected for over $500CAD. We called down and were offered an upgrade for 40 pounds which we took, the room was not much better but at least had a view. We had asked for the upgrade request when we did our online reservation, this was not discussed at check in as we had expected but after the long trip we were tired and forgot. The next day when the bill showed up under the door we had the 40 pound charge, but we remembered that we had asked for a 25 pound upgrade, when I called the desk they provided a 15 pound discount to our bill. That was nice:)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Elaine H,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I regret to hear your stay did not fully live up to expectations. I am pleased the front desk team were able to assist you and ensure the remainder of your stay was enjoyable. I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing