We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CALEDONIAN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

the hotel was brilliant and the concierge Natalie was very helpful the room took my wife's breath away the area of the hotel was great everything was within walking distance and top it of the weather was hot in the high 70's we where there for the royal garden party

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Andrew H,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. It is a pleasure to read your excellent review; I am delighted you had a very enjoyable stay whilst attending the garden party! I will certainly share your kind comments with Natalie and the concierge team. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,477 - 2,483 of 3,676 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Wonderful location for all the sights, shopping, restaurants etc. Recently refurbished, the hotel is very stylish and comfortable, whilst retaining a traditional feel. Staff very helpful and efficient and the beds are really comfortable.
The only downside is that breakfast is not included in the price and an expensive extra cost so we went elsewhere as there are lits of reasonable options nearby.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms only look over an inside courtyard but are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear gill H
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. I am glad to hear you had an excellent stay and found the hotel in a convenient location for exploring the city. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very nice hotel-our room had a view of the castle, lovely view. However, I felt that the hotel did not live up to the service I expected. These are very small things- we were not ever offered water during our stay and I find these odd when staying at a luxury hotel. After travel, I appreciate the offer of a cold bottle of water when checking in. Or ever. Our refrigerator was not working in-room and this was not fixed (after numerous inquiries) until our 3rd day. Again, a small thing, but not what I expected as far as service.
Beds were ok, firm mattresses. Rooms had large bathrooms with heated towel racks- very enjoyable with the cool weather.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Clownface918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear clownface918
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. I am pleased you felt the hotel was lovely overall, however it is clear there were some service issues experienced during your stay. Please rest assured I will certainly address this with the In Room dining department to ensure attention to detail and high standards are met in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is one of two great old hotels in Edinburgh. Formerly a railway hotel (note the clock in the excellent bar kept 5 minutes fast to promote fewer late passengers and missed departures), the rail terminus has been covered and although the old exterior facades exist, it is now a cozy gathering bar. The only flaw is the rather inept young pianist.

But our room, - our second room was large, gracious and well furnished, and a considerable contrast to the small remote one first offered. We had made the error of having our travel-agent companion book the rooms thrugh his service, and they were a poor choice despite the price. The front desk offered us an upgrade for a modest 40 quid a night, and it was a compelling buy.

There are the decorative features like the double staircase that speak to the heritage and status of this grand old lady, but the excellent spa and new pool and gym are very nicely executed.

The breakfast included was excellent: well prepared a la carte items or a generous buffet. Staff throughout were affable and professional. The hotel is clean, well maintained, and well run. A good choice, IF you don't book the cheapest room.

Room Tip: 154 is an excellent choice, or an example when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Charles P
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and am pleased our front desk team were able to provide a large, more comfortable room for the rest of your stay! I am pleased you were able to experience the hotels facilities including Peacock Alley and the Guerlain spa.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We really loved our stay here. The hotel staff was incredibly helpful. We arrived to a beautifully sunny day and the concierge was able to secure a tee time for my husband at Braids (also recommended by the concierge) just hours later. He had a fantastic time while I explored the city.
We had a castle view room. It was not overly spacious, but well appointed. Lots of outlets to plug in all our electronic gadgets.
Breakfast buffet was excellent and the service was quick and friendly. The haggis is very good - don't be afraid to try it!
Loved our meal at Galvin Brasserie. Excellent French cuisine.
Excellent service at Peacock alley one night; so slow the next that we left.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxtravgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear luxtravgal,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you loved your stay, and particularly pleased with your commending of our team members. I agree that the haggis is wonderful, and your experience in our Galvin Brasserie De Luxe was also successful.

Hopefully you and your husband shall return again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you are looking for a well appointed, clean, centrally located hotel with old fashioned historical charm, then this is the place for you.

We were celebrating our anniversary. I emailed the concierge in advance of our trip asking about suggestions and reservations for dinner on the night of our anniversary. I received several suggestions and we ended up dining at all of them throughout our stay. All were wonderful and most we would never have found on our own. We walked to all but one of them, even though a couple were a bit of a hike from the hotel.

We were pleasantly surprised upon arrival when we were upgraded to a large suite with a view of the castle. We also had wine in the room with a note congratulating us on our first anniversary. The bed was comfortable, there was no street noise even though we were on a lower level, and everything was clean. You feel like you are stepping back in time just a little.

My only complaint is that the hotel is located on a somewhat busy intersection which sometimes made it a pain to get in and out of the hotel.

I would (and hope to) stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelAddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear TheTravelAddicts,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that we were able to assist in making your Anniversary stay such a special occasion. Our Personal Concierge is always available for assistance, and thankfully the suggestions made were to your satisfaction.

I also hope that you are able to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future, maybe even for your next Anniversary.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

There's not much to say than perfect. Luxurious room, good service. In the heart of Edinburgh you can reach most of the spots by feet. Its worth it to pay more. I can only recommend the hotel. Hope to have the chance for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilolitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Lilolitaa

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. There are no more words to use to match your perfect description of your experience with us.

I am extremely grateful, and hope that you are able to return to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,881 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,887 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £124 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing