We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waldorf Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A wonderful hotel that gives you everything you need to enjoy a relaxing holiday in the heart of the city. Why have such a silly requirement of a minimum of 200 charaters ? In future I will not be completing such a survey for your company.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Mark K,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. I am extremely glad to hear you had a very enjoyable stay with us and you feel the hotel provides everything you need to relax in wonderful Edinburgh!
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,477 - 2,483 of 3,681 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Caledonian is a wonderful hotel with a great view
and amenities! The lobby and bar area is welcoming
and beautiful!! The rooms are clean and spacious
with nice bathrooms, bedding and a Nespresso machine. We
had two rooms which overlooked the castle and the views
during the day and at night when the castle was lit
were beautiful! We ate dinner in both of the hotel restaurants
and the food was delicious! The Pompadour restaurant is a lovely
room with nice views!
Natalie, a concierge at the hotel, was extremely helpful in answering my questions
before we arrived and in setting up dinner reservations. She was
also a big help when our arrival flight was delayed 24 hours and even
greeted us upon arrival and showed us to our room! We had a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: A room with a castle view is worth the extra money! The breakfast buffet is good, but pricey at 21 G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnolia217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear magnolia217,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. I am delighted to read you had a very pleasant stay with us, and were able to enjoy both restaurants and other facilities in the hotel! I will certainly share your kind comments with Natalie; I am pleased she was able to offer assistance prior to your arrival.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After doing the "check-in dance" typical of some Hiltons, we finally got the "Castle view" room that we had requested more than 2 months in advance. At first we were given a room that had a view of a back alley and chimneys, that was far less than what we expected. Numerous patronizing excuses were given to us about the Castle view we had long requested. It seemed like we were being stonewalled at reception with semantics about the "request" in our travel agent's reservation. A room reservation request made nearly 3 months in advance should usually be honored. After climbing the management ladder with our request we finally got the room we expected, but we shouldn't have been forced to go through this process to begin with. We actually chose this hotel for its Castle view. It is NEVER easy to change rooms after traveling.

After settling into the Castle view room that we expected we had a great stay. The room was comfortable, large and clean with a phenomenal view of the Edinburgh Castle on the hill in the summer. Because the sun sets after 10pm, it is an amazing transition into twilight.

Also, the Concierge made a great recommendation of a small casual Italian restaurant around the corner from the hotel that we really enjoyed.

Room Tip: Choose a Castle view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TVZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear TVZOOM,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the original room that was allocated. I understand our Guest Relations Manager has contacted you following your departure. We certainly try our upmost to accommodate all requests subject to availability and business levels, however unfortunately on this occasion we were unable to fulfil your request upon arrival.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A large party of us attended for Afternoon tea.
Had pre-booked the speciality option, but we were disappointed to find on arrival that this would not be provided.
Had we known this in advance we would have cancelled and gone somewhere else, as the standard afternoon tea was not what we wanted for this special occasion.
However, with guests on the way we could hardly rearrange venues minutes before their arrival.
I found this oversight to be especially frustrating as the reservation was made weeks in advance, and there had been email correspondence with the staff in which it was expressly stipulated that it was the Speciality Tea we were ordering, as this was an entirely different menu from the standard.
Other that that, cakes were pleasant. Sandwiches were too small - left peckish.
Staff were friendly and obliging, but the service for the food to arrive was slow. And even after it had arrived there was a very long wait while tea orders were taken, and another very long wait for the waiter to give a brief explanation of the cakes before we could start!
All in all, an enjoyable occasion and opulent surroundings, but would not return due to the faults aforementioned.
To their credit, they did offer a complimentary glass of Champers for the inconvenience which was some recognition of their mistake.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Palpablytangible2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

the hotel was brilliant and the concierge Natalie was very helpful the room took my wife's breath away the area of the hotel was great everything was within walking distance and top it of the weather was hot in the high 70's we where there for the royal garden party

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Andrew H,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. It is a pleasure to read your excellent review; I am delighted you had a very enjoyable stay whilst attending the garden party! I will certainly share your kind comments with Natalie and the concierge team. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Wonderful location for all the sights, shopping, restaurants etc. Recently refurbished, the hotel is very stylish and comfortable, whilst retaining a traditional feel. Staff very helpful and efficient and the beds are really comfortable.
The only downside is that breakfast is not included in the price and an expensive extra cost so we went elsewhere as there are lits of reasonable options nearby.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms only look over an inside courtyard but are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear gill H
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. I am glad to hear you had an excellent stay and found the hotel in a convenient location for exploring the city. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very nice hotel-our room had a view of the castle, lovely view. However, I felt that the hotel did not live up to the service I expected. These are very small things- we were not ever offered water during our stay and I find these odd when staying at a luxury hotel. After travel, I appreciate the offer of a cold bottle of water when checking in. Or ever. Our refrigerator was not working in-room and this was not fixed (after numerous inquiries) until our 3rd day. Again, a small thing, but not what I expected as far as service.
Beds were ok, firm mattresses. Rooms had large bathrooms with heated towel racks- very enjoyable with the cool weather.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Clownface918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear clownface918
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. I am pleased you felt the hotel was lovely overall, however it is clear there were some service issues experienced during your stay. Please rest assured I will certainly address this with the In Room dining department to ensure attention to detail and high standards are met in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,884 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,889 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £151 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing