We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So not worth extortionate amount of money charged”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My partner and I booked into this hotel as a special treat at the beginning of our holiday, thinking we would be surrounded by luxury..how wrong we were! The hotel is distinctly average - the bathroom was bigger than our bedroom, everything in the room was rather shabby and tired, and the sound of the air conditioning unit outside our room was constant throughout our stay. There are no frills - which for the astronomical cost of our room is ridiculous-and they even charged us to park in their car park! All in all - you will get much better quality and value for money by booking into a lovely boutique bed and breakfast and forget chain hotels!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank woosiesoosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear woosieoosie,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian. It is disappointing to read you found your room and the decor tired and shabby following our major refurbishment in 2012. As the hotel is located in the city centre we feel our car parking charges are in line with many of the other luxury hotels in Edinburgh.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,573 - 2,579 of 3,798 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just had a one night "romantic" stay with the missus. I usually stay with friends in Edinburgh so I know the city...and this hotel is a perfect location to explore from..and is easily walkable from the major sights...and Waverley station.
It is an older building (it used to be a railway station) so don't expect some North American soulless skyscraper type feel to it. Our room felt a little tight because of a lower ceiling..but it isn't anything to get worked up about. The room itself was well stocked and the bathroom was clean with an excellent shower.
We had drinks and breakfast in the hotel...both were excellent...breakfast being the usual excellent Hilton brand choice but with a bit of extra polish and quality. I would love to know what some people consider an acceptable breakfast?? Maybe the haggis being served can be a bit off putting for some?
Staff were friendly...check in was smooth and efficient for us. The only minor problem which stopped the review receiving 5 stars was checkout. There was only one receptionist behind the desk at 930am which meant a lengthy line of people looking to check out (not everyone wants to use express checkout). It took a couple of stares towards the concierge to get someone else out to take care of the line...and there were quite afew "I am very sorrys" from the staff when the line started moving. Not really expected from a Waldorf hotel.
All in all though...if you like your hotels to have some history, appreciate great location and also having the basics (room and food) being WELL above the norm..then this is the perfect place for you.
BTW Pricewise....it is a Waldorf Astoria....you ain't getting cheap deals here....not until they put "by express" after the brand. I wouldn't book here and then complain about the price afterwards...understand where it is you are staying and the history behind it....you aren't getting this in a cookie cutter hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the castle. Lower ceiling in our room due to the design..but I am 6ft 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Bruce D,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. It is a pleasure to read your extensive positive review of ‘The Caley’. I am delighted you very much enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the Waldorf Astoria experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ again soon!
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed two nights before boarding The Royal Scotsman. Why did I chose this hotel instead of The Balmoral recommended by Belmond? Because after reading TA reviews I thought it was better located besides my husband being a HHonors member. The family agreed afterwards. We arrived at 2pm and our room was not ready - check-in is at 3pm -, but the receptionist (Mr. Hoffmann) was very forthcoming, asked us to wait in the Peacock Alley where we had a bite to eat. As at 3pm the room still was not available he came to our table excused himself for the delay and offered to take care of the bill. Ten minutes afterwards our twin deluxe room with view was ready. The room was comfortable, good beds, enough space and spectacular view of the castle. The bathroom was a little small, but had everything you need and ample space for toiletries. Breakfast was very good.and dinner at Pompadour restaurant was excellent. The only negative would be the lady in the bar. We did not realize it was not 12pm yet so tried the door, she answered it in a very aggressive way, asking us what we wanted!!, We waited outside for 10 minutes and returned, as her attitude continued to being surly, we decided to have our draft beer in the Alley where the staff was always forthcoming. As another reviewer says, one individual can't taint the entire hotel experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GranmaAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear GranmaAlma,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. It is a pleasure to read your excellent review, I am delighted you had an excellent breakfast in our Brasserie and dinner in Pompadour, I am disappointed service was not as you would have expected in our Caley Bar so this will certainly be addressed with the team member involved.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ again soon!
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and weren't overly wowed, especially given the price. The room was ok but I think the hotel are tight with certain things like having about three tv channels, no wifi, paying for newspapers etc. breakfast was not nice either. All in all I would not stay again - there are much nicer places for much less.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Kelly S,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am extremely sorry to read you were not impressed with your stay at ‘The Caley’ and you feel the hotel is lacking on certain service aspects. I appreciate your constructive feedback and will share these with the management team.
Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room overlooking the castle. The amenities were very nice making for a very comfortable stay. Swimming and spa area was fantastic, it was a nice afternoon to unwind. Excellent location for walking and sightseeing. The only negative would have to be the very surly attitude of the male server in the brasserie restaurant. One individual can taint the entire hotel experience. He was one of the worst. Too many other options in the neighborhood to tolerate this.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank flyingbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear flyingbiz,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am extremely pleased you found your room comfortable with a magnificent view of the castle and with excellent in room amenities. I will certainly share your comments with our Brasserie De Luxe Manager who will certainly address service standards with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ again soon!
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Some would say stately, I would say old and tired.
We made it to the hotel last night. The very pleasant cabbie went inside to see if we could get help with our luggage since my foot was injured. We waited five minutes before my companion and I carried our luggage inside ourselves. Someone did ultimately come to help while we were checking in. I understand that it was after 10:30 but it was not quite the service level I would expect from a hotel flying the Waldorf flag. Neither was the threadbare carpet in the hall, nor the creaky floor and the even more creaky bed.

All that said however pales compared to being asked to pay 7.50 to borrow a power adapter. Mind you, I've just come from the Andaz in Amsterdam where the adapter was built into the wall but a second was provided cheerfully. As it was at my previous hotel at the Andaz in London.

I was gratified to have letter from the front office supervisor, Mr Robb, explaining to me how very important I am to you as a diamond member and how much you appreciate my continued loyalty. This was the first time I have received a letter from a front office supervisor; in the past I've usually had the same form letter signed by the GM.

Extremely disappointed...

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear MarcNmelony,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am extremely sorry to hear as a valued Diamond member your stay has not lived up to your expectations. I understand you have spoken with our Guest Relations Manager and Director of Operations during your stay. Please accept my apologies once again for the inconvenience this has caused to your trip.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great location, very central just off Princes street. Hotel seemed a bit stuffy. Paid £170 for room only, no breakfast included. Service in bar was really poor, took 15 mins to get a drink brought over to table and it wasn't even busy, not what you would expect from a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Ci_D12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear ciaran_duffy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am pleased you feel the hotel is situated in a convenient location, however I am sorry to read you feel service is lacking across the hotel particularly in the Caley Bar. I will address these issues with our Bar Manager to ensure the high standards are met at all times.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,956 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,944 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £108 - £584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing