We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #62 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Very warmly met by all staff members, everyone is extremely helpful .
Location is excellent, walk everywhere , HOHO sightseeing busses stop right outside. Very close to wonderful restaurants.
Easy walk to castle with kids. Don't miss the Saturday farmers market nearby! Groceries easily available from Tesco, Sainsbury almost on doorstep- made it very easy with kids. Breakfast buffet was excellent to start day of sightseeing :)
Pool, gym and steam sauna little hard to find, but very nice!
Room service fare was ok.
Kids enjoyed the pizza - very generous servings, easy for evenings when their poor legs can't carry them anymore :)
We requested a 2 queen bed room for the kids, room on second floor was very spacious! Beds were extremely comfy, room has tassimo machine with plenty of tea coffee and milk! Nice sized bathroom with large tub, bath toys for kids were a nice touch :)
One lunch at peacock alley - very good, but food choices are plentiful outside too.
Thanks for the excellent stay- highly recommended !

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank mehendi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear mehendi D,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh! It is a pleasure to read your five star review, I am glad to read you had an enjoyable stay and found all staff extremely helpful. I will share you kind comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,670 - 2,676 of 3,924 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Wonderful old hotel located in the heart of the city. Wonderful views of the castle and gardens. In walking distance of all shopping and restaurants. We were upgraded when we checked in and it turned out to be a huge room with even a walk in closet. Great view of the castle from our room. We only had breakfast in the hotel once and it was the typical buffet breakfast with everything. Quite good but not cheap if it isn't included in the price of your room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear SeashoreBKK,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh! I am pleased to read you had an excellent stay with us and found the hotel in a convenient location for shopping and restaurants.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had an amazing room with a direct view of the castle. We would lay in bed at night, leave the curtains open and look up at the castle all light up at night. The front clerk Rhona was a terrific help, we went to a restaurant (Angels and Bagpipes) which was an amazing meal. We had complementary breakfast each morning which was nice. The guys at the concierge were very accommodating and friendly. They helped me locate. Shortbread cookie mould, I was told it was one request that had them all stumped! But they found one for me. The only negative would be the tiny no room bathroom, and a lack of dresser to put away clothes, not sure why? So other than hanging up our clothes, we had to use the suitcases as our dresser.

Room Tip: Upgrade to room with castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GibbyToronto_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear gibbytoronto_ON ,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed the magnificent view of Edinburgh Castle from your bedroom. I will be pleased to share your comments with Rhona and the rest of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful old building in Central Edinburgh, tastefully decorated and spacious but for me it just didn't have the wow factor.
We booked a queen size room and were told we had been upgraded to a castle view - this turned out to be a twin room - two doubles I grant them but not the queen I booked - and yes I could see the castle but it's Edinburgh - it was foggy - I'm glad I didn't pay the 176.00 upgrade or I wouldn't have been happy at all.
Beds were comfy, hot water, nice facilities - breakfast is probably the best hotel breakfast I've ever had but then on check in we were told it wasn't included then when we went down to pay for it we were told it was - seems to be a slight crossover and everyone is a little unsure of what they are saying.
All in all an enjoyable stay but we uses Hilton honours points to pay for the stay and I'm glad we did : if I'd paid cash at their prices I'd have felt robbed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KTandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Kt051083 ,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am glad to hear overall you had an enjoyable stay with us, however I am sorry to read the hotel did not give you the wow factor you were expecting. I will share your feedback regarding the room category with our reservations department to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. The weather can be unpredictable in Edinburgh at times; I am disappointed to hear this had a negative effect on your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent service. Beautiful Hotel. Magnificent Room with a Castle view. An Anniversary to remember thanks to the staff and the plate with chocolates wishing us a Happy Anniversary. We thoroughly recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank hectorc661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear hectorc661 ,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh! I am delighted to read you very much enjoyed your stay and the excellent service provided. I am pleased your special occasion was enjoyable and memorable at ‘The Caley’!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. What a great hotel in central Edinburgh! The concierge and the rest of the staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. On our departure, we needed a 5:30 am taxi to the airport and the concierge arranged this with no problem for us. The hotel has a nice blend of classical elegance and modern features. The breakfast buffet was excellent with lots of choices and the staff was friendly and professional. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed, a clean modern bathroom and ample storage. Our view wasn't great, but we really weren't there for the view (if you want a room with a good view, you should mention this when you book). More importantly, the staff was great, the food was good, and the stay was relaxing. The location is excellent and very convenient. Edinburgh Castle sits on the hill right outside of the hotel. Shopping, restaurants and pubs in the old city and along Princes Street are a short (one mile or less) walk away. When we arrived in Edinburgh, we dropped off our rental car at Waverly Station and walked to our hotel. Overall, this was a most enjoyable stay for us and I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Steve C ,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh! It is a pleasure to read your amazing review, I am pleased the concierge team were able to share their knowledge of the city with their professional service throughout your stay!
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at this historic hotel in Edinburgh. Although not right in the heart in the Old Town or New Town, it was less than a 5 minute walk to major attractions.

As a Diamond Member, we were upgraded to a castle view room which was spectacular. The room was well appointed and was large for a European historic hotel. As our flight from Canada arrived at 7am, we were also given early check-in which gave us an opportunity to relax before we started exploring the city that day. Daily continental breakfast was provided which was wonderful. 3 out of 4 days there was freshly squeezed orange juice which was very good. We also experienced afternoon tea as well and enjoyed the experience.

The housekeeping was a little inconsistent, small details as locations of rugs and what amenities would be replenished were some of the issues we noted.

Although we were on the 2nd floor, the room itself was quiet, no street noise as the curtains kept the noise out. The curtains also kept the room dark which was wonderful.

The front desk staff, concierge and the restaurant staff were all very helpful.

Overall a great experience, would definitely stay here again and recommend friends and family to stay here as well.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank GizYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear GizYYC ,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh! I am extremely pleased as a valued Diamond Member you very much enjoyed your stay and the complimentary upgrade we were able to provide! I will share your additional feedback regarding housekeeping with our Executive housekeeper to ensure standards are met at all times.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,044 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,004 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,094 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £105 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing