We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything was perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Me and my colleagues recently stayed here a few days throughout a short trip in Scotland. The hotel itself captures the essence of the city through its unique location and architecture - warm and welcoming staff especially at breakfast cause as far as I remember Athena and Dimitris were always above us ready to help our needs . We loved the spacious rooms. I only wish we could have stayed longer and we hope to return. I am so glad that we chose The Caledonian. I will definitely recommend the hotel to my friends.

Regards
KASTANAKIS KONSTANTINOS

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kostas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Kostas K,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to read your business trip was a success at ‘The Caley’ and you had a very enjoyable stay!
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,541 - 2,547 of 3,791 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and from entering the hotel the staff, on the whole, very pleasant and efficient. The room was excellent, a little background noise was evident but not a big deal. The slight negative was the staff in the Caley Bar. The manager had no personable at tributes, obviously well qualified but no people skills. This apart, a very good stay and certainly will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank cuban_golds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Cuban_golds,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. It is a pleasure to read your comments regarding our helpful and attentive staff members and the warm welcome you recieved on arrival. I will personally address your comments regarding our Caley Bar with our management team directly to ensure all staff members provide the excellent luxury service we are proud of as a Waldorf Astoria Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in room 516 and had the most astonishing view of Edinburgh Castle. Staff were courteous and helpful. The Restaurant could stand a bit more ambience but the food was delicious. I am glad that we stayed there and would stay again. Fantastic!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 341sharonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Sharon R,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay in particular the amazing view of Edinburgh Castle from your bedroom.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ again soon!
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Sorry for the duplicate review, but reposting from my old profile with some new points
Took tram from airport, beautiful ride to hotel and then less than 5 mins walk. OK if you have a suitcase and are travelling light.
Very warmly met by all staff members, everyone is extremely helpful .
Location is excellent, walk everywhere , HOHO sightseeing busses stop right outside. Very close to wonderful restaurants.
Easy walk to castle with kids. Don't miss the Saturday farmers market nearby! Groceries easily available from Tesco, Sainsbury almost on doorstep- made it very easy with kids. Breakfast buffet was excellent to start day of sightseeing :)
Pool, gym and steam sauna little hard to find, but very nice!
Room service fare was ok.
Kids enjoyed the pizza - very generous servings, easy for evenings when their poor legs can't carry them anymore :)
We requested a 2 queen bed room for the kids, room on second floor was very spacious! Beds were extremely comfy, room has tassimo machine with plenty of tea coffee and milk! Nice sized bathroom with large tub, bath toys for kids were a nice touch :)
One lunch at peacock alley - very good, but food choices are plentiful outside too.
Thanks for the excellent stay- highly recommended !

Room Tip: I emailed and requested large room with two queen beds because we were travelling with two boys. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank midas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Midas,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am extremely pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay in Edinburgh and experienced many of the hotels facilities! I am glad you were able to relax in your comfortable, well appointed bedroom after a day out exploring the city.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ again soon!
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

In Edinburgh for Tom Jones concert at the Castle. This hotel was perfectly placed for our weekend. The staff are exceptional, so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The bedrooms are so comfortable although in our room the mirror is not low enough to be able to sit and dry your hair or put your make up on. Everything else was perfect and we would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Pat W,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh! I am delighted you very much enjoyed your stay at the hotel and your first visit to Edinburgh! I am pleased the staff provided excellent luxury service throughout your stay. I will be glad to share your positive comments with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed on the 20th July was advised by staff they would text me when room was ready which from reading literature was supposed to be available from 3pm at 4 30pm had been walking around in rather hot temperatures & heard nothing went to hotel staff did apologise & we were given two vouchers for a drink each which unfortunately we couldn't use as had prior arrangements as we were getting changed to go out a member of staff tried to enter room for what reason I don't know as we had lock on I opened door & just saw the back of staff right down corridor. Maybe I being petty but quilt cover was inside out also had large torn bit down seam but as it was a 5* hotel I was disappointed sorry

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Lynn B,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh! I am extremely sorry to read you left the hotel feeling disappointed with your stay. I will share your comments regarding the text message with our Front Office team to ensure expectations are exceeded in the future. Please accept my apologies for the staff member attempting to enter your room; this will be addressed with the relevant department to ensure procedures are followed at all times.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Very warmly met by all staff members, everyone is extremely helpful .
Location is excellent, walk everywhere , HOHO sightseeing busses stop right outside. Very close to wonderful restaurants.
Easy walk to castle with kids. Don't miss the Saturday farmers market nearby! Groceries easily available from Tesco, Sainsbury almost on doorstep- made it very easy with kids. Breakfast buffet was excellent to start day of sightseeing :)
Pool, gym and steam sauna little hard to find, but very nice!
Room service fare was ok.
Kids enjoyed the pizza - very generous servings, easy for evenings when their poor legs can't carry them anymore :)
We requested a 2 queen bed room for the kids, room on second floor was very spacious! Beds were extremely comfy, room has tassimo machine with plenty of tea coffee and milk! Nice sized bathroom with large tub, bath toys for kids were a nice touch :)
One lunch at peacock alley - very good, but food choices are plentiful outside too.
Thanks for the excellent stay- highly recommended !

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank mehendi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear mehendi D,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh! It is a pleasure to read your five star review, I am glad to read you had an enjoyable stay and found all staff extremely helpful. I will share you kind comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,952 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,943 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £133 - £590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing