We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a bit worn down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location but a bit worn down”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Perhaps due to the heritage of the hotel the hotel seems a little worn down. We booked two rooms of the same rate but the sizes were totally different. There was no complementary water perhaps because people just drink out of the tap but they were available upon calling housekeeping. Having said that, the concierge was informative and the service was good. We can walk to almost everywhere including the castle and the shopping district.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeHYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Bee HYW
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am pleased to read you had a pleasant stay, however I am sorry to read you feel the two rooms you booked differed in size, due to the age and nature of the building all our rooms differ slightly, although we feel this adds character to the hotel. I will certainly address the lack of complimentary water with our In Room dining department to ensure our brand standards are met at all times.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,942
    847
    405
    166
    75
See reviews for
719
1,691
100
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The luxury starts and ends with this historic building structure.
The Waldorf Astoria links it's brand with Lamborghini and Rolex but the service is more Travel Lodge! Sorry Travel Lodge!
The evidence is cost cutting in service and frills. Nowhere is this more evident than at breakfast.
So much wrong here from lack of basics: A teapot, butter dish, toast, sugar, tables prepared consistently. It's such a shame the brand is allowing such a devaluation.
So many examples than I can list. It's simply not worth any premium at all. Look elsewhere or your only memories will be of discussions with management about compensation for a disappointing stay at this most expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 502Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear 502peter,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. It is disappointing to read you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at ‘The Caley’, I understand our Director of Operations spoke with you during your stay regarding your breakfast experience. Once again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ later this year.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

After arriving in Edinburg I changed to this hotel from the Hilton Grovenor because that hotel was disgusting. This hotel, on the other hand, was absolutely fantastic. The lobby, the restaurant, the bars, and the rooms were wonderful. The support staff were very nice. The room had a nespresso machine which was a nice touch. The bathrooms were very modern and the rooms were very clean. The included breakfast was also very nice. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Todd P
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at ‘The Caley’, in particular the outlets within the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had the pleasure of staying 2 nights at this beautiful hotel! The room was huge and well appointed! The location of the hotel was perfect with most everything within walking distance!
The hotel staff were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Missy HA,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am delighted to read you very much enjoyed your stay with us and found your room larger than expected and well appointed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the presidential suite for 2 nights after hunting in Aberdeen, the room is old and they had no spa, service is good and love the afternoon tea. The location is at walking distance to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kabudhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear kabudhabi
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am pleased overall you had a pleasant stay with us. We feel the decor throughout the hotel represents the history and character of the building, I am sorry if you feel the room is outdated, the hotel underwent a major renovation in 2012. Our spa is located on the first floor of the hotel, our team members would have been more than happy to show you the facilities, should you not have been able to locate them.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive Branch, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We spent 7 nights in July at The Caledonian and found the service impeccable. We had a room that had a beautiful view of the castle. Our twenty year old son travelled with us and the third bed brought in was super comfortable and did not overcrowd our room. The beds were so comfortable. From the front desk, concierge, bellman, breakfast servers,, manager (Claire ) were so helpful and all went the extra mile to make our stay perfect. Loved having Internet included as our hotel in London wanted 20 pounds per night for wifi. The location is ideal with tons of restaurants so close. We would recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear LCD
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am thrilled to read the team members delivered outstanding luxury service during your stay at ‘The Caley’, I am pleased a few individuals went the extra mile to ensure your stay was memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As we found out after the first night!! Rooms that are even seem to be on the front of the hotel (with a very nice view) those on the back, not so. However, our room 351, looking west and no particular view was NOT on the street frontage. We had a wonderfully quiet nights sleep - I'm afraid our friends who were in even numbered rooms - heard all the goings-on in Edinburgh overnight!!!!
Excellent quality food and very friendly staff throughout the hotel - well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Go odd numbered rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dine4Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear dine4two
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am pleased to read overall you had a very enjoyable stay. Many of our rooms differ due to age and nature of the hotel, as the hotel holds a city centre location, some level of noise is expected in particular with rooms which have a castle view, however I am pleased you found your room quiet and well appointed.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,725 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,767 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing