We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL, GREAT LOCATION.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #54 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Recently I stayed with my family at this marvelous hotel. We booked a Double double deluxe room for 2 adults and 2 kids. Our room at the second floor (No 206), very spacious, with a great view of the Edinburgh Castle. Great interior and furniture made our stay more luxurious. We paid £179 for the room, but every penny worth in this hotel stay! We took some room service food, bit of expensive but delicious (£60). Breakfast also great, every staff friendly and helpful. Over all one of the best stay ever!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Prem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Prem K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you and your family had a wonderful experience with, and that your room was to your satisfaction with the fantastic view to the castle!
Moreover, I also appreciate your feedback on the design of the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the ‘Caley’ in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,479 - 2,485 of 3,789 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Staff helpful but paid extra for room with view which was very noisy with lots of road junctions and traffic. Breakfast serving restaurant very cold with drinks served directly into mugs resulting in contents going cold very quickly,instead of teapots or coffee pots.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Jacqueline ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. With regards to the noise issue experienced, as a city centre hotel in the middle of the famous Edinburgh festival period, this is unfortunately unavoidable. However, should you wish to return again in the future, please e-mail me directly and I shall ensure a quiet room is allocated for your comfort.
I am also disappointed with your feedback on our breakfast offering, rest assured I shall personally address this with our Food & Beverage Director, and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Spent two nights here, on a short break to Edinburgh. Arrived at the hotel at 2.50pm (check in 3pm) and was told that the room was ready, but just needed a final check, which would take approximately 15 minutes. Half an hour later, when I again presented myself at reception, the staff rang to find out what was happening, and told me that the housekeeper had been "waylaid" and that the room still hadn't been checked. Forty-five minutes after checking into the hotel, my husband and I finally gained access to our room.
We decided to treat ourselves to supper in The Pompadour Restaurant, where we were offered pre-dinner drinks. Imagine my disappointment, when my glass of champagne was as flat as a pancake. It was immediately replaced, but really shouldn't have been served in the first place. When we were led to our table, I was told that the remains of my champagne would be brought to the table for me. Unfortunately, it was forgotten, and I had to ask for it, as I didn't want another glass of flat champagne! We had tried to book our table for 6pm, but had been told that they could only fit us in at 5.30pm (which made things rather a rush, as we had waited so long to gain access to our room). When we arrived at the restaurant, ourselves and the Thursday Evening Champagne Club, a group of approximately 16, were the only people in there and so it remained until we had almost finished our meal, when we were joined by another couple. On a more positive note, the food and our waiter in the Restaurant were both excellent, a very enjoyable experience.
The hotel is very stylishly decorated, the rooms are quiet and the beds comfortable. We also ate in both the brasserie, where the food was also good, but just warm. The slow service was acknowledged by the staff without our having to mention it, and the service charge had been removed when we were given the bill.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on Lothian Road, which has magnificent view of the Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank patsy1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear patsy1212,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Although you have titled your review “Disappointing”, the issues which you have mentioned are certainly minimal and easily fixed on our side. Never-the-less, I would certainly like to thank you for drawing these details to my attention, and I can ensure you that our team shall certainly be focussing on the communication lapses which I feel are integral to a successful stay for or valued guests.

Moreover, I do hope that these minor problems do not deter you from returning to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed one night and got tickets for the last night of the tattoo courtesy of the best concierge ever!! The hotel had a refit since our last visit.

Service excellent but 20 minutes for a sausage at breakfast come on guys!!!

Also soundproofing not good could hear the TV next door

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GordonGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Gordongold,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. It is a pleasure to read your excellent review and I am pleased our concierge team were able to source Edinburgh Tattoo tickets for you on the last night! I will personally share your additional comments with our Food and Beverage Manager who will investigate your comments further.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just stayed one night at this hotel during the fringe, I got a very good rate for a deluxe room from the Hotels website. When we arrived early our room wasn't ready, although we didn't expect it to be, we checked in anyway and stored our bags and the receptionist told us they would text me when our room was ready, by 430pm we still hadn't received a text but headed back to the hotel anyway turned out our room was ready so please don't rely on getting a text. We were allocated room 406, the room was huge with two double beds and a brilliant view of the castle from the room and the bathroom even though we hadn't paid for one. We ate at the Hotel Brasserie for dinner and I would definitely recommend it, although I seen people with deals from Itson and 5pm.com so worth a look on there if you are going to eat there. The hotel is in a superb location, at the end of Princess St so walking distance to most things. The only negatives about the hotel were, our TV wasn't working I phoned down reception they said they would send an engineer up, over an hour later I phoned back as no one had came and within minutes there was a knock at the door, the window was quite small and in the corner of the room but that can't be helped it's the design of an old building, also it wasn't double glazed so there was quite a lot of street noise at night which you should expect from a busy city. All in all though it's a beautiful hotel and the next time I'm in Edinburgh I'll be staying there again.


Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Eve19_74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear ev19_74_13,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay with us whilst enjoying the tattoo and festival shows. I am extremely sorry you were not notified once the room was prepared for you. I will certainly share your feedback with our Front Desk team as I understand excellent communication is a vital part of the luxury service we deliver.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The room was quite cramped, bathroom had nice sink but shower head over bath which was rubbish - would NOT recommend to American friends!
The restaurant had run out of afternoon tea and we waited 25 minutes for a pot of tea to even arrive, the spa was closed all day for training - during the festival!!! Why not train half in the morning and half in the afternoon? Totally unacceptable for a prestige hotel.
Breakfast was delicious and the concierge coped bravely, friends had to wait an extra hour before their room was ready with no compensation and little apology.
Won't be staying here again, even though I had wanted to visit this hotel for many years.

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom with a proper shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GymrunMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear gymrunmum

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. It is unfortunate to read you were not entirely satisfied with your overall stay and in particular the layout of your bathroom. I appreciate your additional feedback regarding our food and beverage outlets and the disappointing wait for your friend’s bedroom. Please rest assured I will address these issues with the individual managers and departments concerned.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Spent 9 days in Edinburgh in the middle of August
I really like this hotel excellent West of Prince's Street Location
Lots of shopping, the Church across the street had an excellent Art Fair for the
Festival.
The staff was very very helpful courteous lots of great hints about things to see and do
concierge was excellent.
We choose the breakfast package Please do not miss that when you go
Excellent will i go again YES

Room Tip: Book early if you would like a good room August is busy Festival Time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1210tgho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRMCaleyWA, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear 2010tgho,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh- The Caledonian. I am extremely pleased to read you very much enjoyed your stay with us and the convenient location of the hotel for festival shows and local attractions. I am delighted to read you were impressed with the knowledge and professionalism of our concierge team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘The Caley’ in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dale MacPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,949 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,941 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £135 - £586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing