We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No match of expectation”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #12 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No match of expectation”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I travelled to Edinburgh with very optimistic expectations regarding the hotel - sounded as a good in shape hotel with special sevices - but unfortunaltely I could not find it; Just the fact that one has to wait for at least 10 minutes at the entrance without anyone taking care and notice and helping at the check-in is very frustrating; that at the later check in and check out the guest is standing while the host is sitting is a bit diversed split of role, but is very significant for the "service". If you finally get service, the staff is friendly.
The rooms are not really state of the art - I had to change the room due to heavy street noise - fine service, I could change - but as such I had two rooms for instance and both without a personal safe; the TVs programm are very poor and the quality of the TV either. It all is more old-fashioned than being up with the time. I am sorry - despite the good location in the city I will probably not come back;

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    121
    40
    28
    14
See reviews for
104
450
36
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

No heating,poor fitting windows,slightly shabby.
Service disjointed and slow.
Staff friendly.
Poor value for money and doesn't live up to their website descriptions.
Very disappointed indeed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malsury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I visited the hotel with a dear friend of mine in April of 2009 when we took a girls' trip to Scotland. Everything about our stay was impeccable. The hotel and staff were kind, welcoming and our amazing butler Fernando felt like a friend by the time we left. I have never felt so doted on my entire life and it will be hard to forget returning to the Howard to his smile and his delivery of tea and treats to my room after a day of walking throughout the city. We had the pleasure of experiencing several of the hotel's rooms and were beyond delighted with each of them. I dream of returning to the Howard one day, of getting news of how Willy and Fernando are, of staying in this beautiful and charming inn once again.

Room Tip: Do ask for an upstairs room to enjoy the views a bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pushkincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uddingston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at The Howard Hotel on 7th Sept for 1 night, in the Trinity Suite. From check-in we found staff to be extremely helpful, friendly & professional and the suite exceeded all expectations in terms of comfort, space & facilities, including a lovely big bathroom. Service & food at breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, just wish we could've stayed longer. Thanks to everyone at The Howard, especially Caroline!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at The Howard for 3 nights from the 3rd September 2011 to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We found the staff welcoming, very efficient & helpful. They went out of their way to make the weekend special for us. The hotel was very comfortable & clean & lived up to its 5 star reputation. We had dinner on 2 of the nights which was excellent, good quality ingredients,well flavoured with excellent service & good value. We didn't choose to have dinner on the third night as the only other main course was fish which we did not want. We found the choice a little restrictive if you were staying more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

What they pretend is greater than what they are. Rooms are variable but OK. Staff is mixed, sometimes knowledgeable and sometimes way off. They claimed to know the city, but they sent us some places that were not very good. In several instances, they were far less helpful than they could have been. Often the front office people were not available for questions. All of this occurs within the pretense of a butler-assisted experience and is supposed to be quite homey, but I found it, inconsistent and not very pleasant. Some of the butlers lacked knowledge and experience. I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Explorers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

For our special night at the Tattoo, we booked into the very expensive £460 per night Trinity Suite, in the basement!
The furniture is old and broken, the drawer handles are missing, the dust is everywhere. and the room smells dusty and dirty, which it is. No hairdryer, but while searching for it, came across an old curler which a previous occupant had left. The was still faeces on the toilet seat anchor point. the bathroom floor is tiled and they have glass and china holders for drinking and toiletries. we dropped a glass on the floor and there is nothing to secure the glasses, other than a small coaster, it broke into many parts. The hotel butler can and cleared it up with a brush and shovel, then got out the vacuum cleaner and tried to ensure all the glass was picked up. It was not and even worse, the smell from the vacuum cleaner exhaust almost choked us and we had to open the outside door and windows. Finally my dear wife woke up in the morning with a rip roaring eye infection and not surprising, the pillow under the pillow case was brown, not white and had old blood stains on it. The management of this hotel must be very poor as this is a reflection on them and their standards. As for the public rooms, dirty too and smelly. The breakfast is poor and they cannot bring or cook what is requested. All in all it must be our worst trip to Edinburgh and I would urge anyone going there to check it out before registering, as you too could be disappointed. We went for a special treat and it was a major disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
I am really disappointed that this guest had a less than perfect experience in The Howard and I will be addressing the points raised directly with him. Obviously, as is clear from every one of our other reviews on this forum, quality of service is our raison d'être, and we pride ourselves on offering a very unique product and a highly distinctive, intimate style of service. It would appear that in this case The Howard and guest were not well matched and it is with great regret that a customer has left us with anything but the most positive of opinions. The Howard has only recently entered our portfolio of hotels and we are working tirelessly to ensure that the hotel maintains its wonderful reputation for quality of service, as well as investing heavily in the product having recently purchased large flatscreen TVs and iPod docking stations for all rooms, as well as purchasing new furniture for the bedrooms and public areas. We appear in such a consistently prominent position within the Tripadvisor listings as a direct result of praise from our guests based on an overwhelmingly positive experience, and this is something we will never become complacent with - service at The Howard is everything; and our wonderful boutique product will always strive to stand apart from the more corporate, impersonal stylings of other five star establishments.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
965 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing