We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #14 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My Husband took me back to my favourite hotel for my birthday treat, again, I couldn't fault it.

The Howard really is a little gem in the heart of Edinburgh. The butler service is second to none and the food is superb. I love the fact that it's not a huge hotel with a crowded dining room and sitting in the drawing room is just so peaceful and elegant.

I have already told my Hubby, I better be returning next year!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    123
    41
    30
    14
See reviews for
108
457
37
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Had an excellent two night stay - very attentive staff and lovely room. My only comment would be that service was very slow at times - just need more staff at key times. Have stayed before and I wonder if the change of ownership in December is having an impact?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My partner and myself stayed at The Howard for two nights and were made to feel very special. The rooms are luxurious and the service is faultless. We have never stayed at a hotel that provides this high level of service. The Butler is attentive to your every need but also not over bearing. We didn't want to go home and are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Howard for one night and after some pre-arrival nerves about the Butler service concept we quickly found ourselves to be totally relaxed in the elegant surroundings.
The Butler service was an extremely professional, hassle free, seamless experience which really helped us enjoy all that the Howard has to offer. They parked our car, brought us tea and coffee at a moments notice (there is no tea tray in the rooms) at any time with no additional charge, showed us to our room and showed us where everything was and how everything worked. The whole tipping thing which I am never all that comfy with was easily managed as no tip is expected but is taken discreetly with a minimum of fuss when offered.

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the Trinity (terrace) suite which had a door onto a courtyard connected to the street as well as another door into the hotel, this direct connection with the outside world made the room feel like our own private luxury pied a terre.
The room was huge with many seating options, a large TV and excellent sounding iPod dock.
The room was tastefully decorated with the furniture in keeping with the age of the buildings architecture.
The bed was extremely big and extremely comfortable as you would expect of a 5* hotel.
The bathroom was clean and well equipped with a deep 2 person bath and a powerful multi-point shower.

The food in the hotel was fresh , tasty, well presented and reasonably priced.

The only slight issue we had was the WiFi in the public areas which was unreliable and a bit frustrating but no big deal.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in recommending the Howard to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatladad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Me and my wife were recently married and decided to come and stay at the Howard for a night shortly after our wedding once all of our family had travelled home. We wanted relaxation and some time alone. We stayed here for a weekend in 2010 for a Valentines treat and had a great experience so it has good memories for us!

From the minute we pulled into the car park we were looked after in every way and we were offered the Cockburn room, a Junior suite, despite having only booked a superior double. The staff were attentive, knowledgable, polite and friendly but never intrusive.

Our room was absolutely stunning with an excellent iPod dock, huge TV, separate dressing room, roll top bath with twin sinks and a separate shower. It was immaculately clean and well presented, with instant and endless hot water for a bath you could swim in...even at 6'4"! Tea and coffee whenever it was needed, fresh loose tea (camomile or peppermint were great during both our stays here) with nice cocktails too! We had eggs benedict at breakfast which was fresh and superbly done.

I cannot praise this hotel highly enough and we have both stayed in some nice hotels, including a number of the Edinburgh 5 star usual suspects- Missoni, Balmoral etc. I would choose the Howard every time. Charm, comfort and a personal touch are the order of the day and although it isn't as contemporary as some of the others, to my mind that only adds to it's appeal.

We have decided that this will be our anniversary destination hotel. This is what value really should mean; great memories, proper service without being pretentious and walking out feeling like you can't wait to come back! Well done The Howard.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan79reed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineMcIntosh, Hotel Manager - Zsolt Jakri at The Howard, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Howard - do let us know when you are returning for your anniversary and we shall arrange a complimentary bottle of bubbly for you to help celebrate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee,Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I didn't stay here but had the pleasure of experiencing the wonderful afternoon tea. The service was excellent. The food was delicious with ample choice. It was a very comfortable and relaxing treat. All staff were extremely helpful. My only slight complaint is it takes a little while for someone to answer the door.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Mari08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineMcIntosh, Hotel Manager - Zsolt Jakri at The Howard, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea at The Howard. If you return (which we hope you do) then please ask us for details of our Afternoon Tea Club with lots of extra benefits and events for you to attend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I travelled to Edinburgh with very optimistic expectations regarding the hotel - sounded as a good in shape hotel with special sevices - but unfortunaltely I could not find it; Just the fact that one has to wait for at least 10 minutes at the entrance without anyone taking care and notice and helping at the check-in is very frustrating; that at the later check in and check out the guest is standing while the host is sitting is a bit diversed split of role, but is very significant for the "service". If you finally get service, the staff is friendly.
The rooms are not really state of the art - I had to change the room due to heavy street noise - fine service, I could change - but as such I had two rooms for instance and both without a personal safe; the TVs programm are very poor and the quality of the TV either. It all is more old-fashioned than being up with the time. I am sorry - despite the good location in the city I will probably not come back;

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,805 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing