We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Howard
Nearby Hotels
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$843
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$678
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
606
129
43
31
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
606
129
43
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicedrawing roomhead butlertrinity suiteterrace suitepersonal butlersmall hotelhuge bathroomtea and coffeestar serviceboutique hotellovely hotelupgraded to a suitebeautiful roombreakfast was deliciousstayed for nightsfull scottish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

For the price which you pay i expected a little more.
The welcome was amzing, and the room so much more than was expected. BUT
coming down for breakfast on my second morning i was greeted by an attentive member of staff who offered me juice, but i then sat there for 25 minutes with no menu, no service nothing. I almost walked out.
There were notes in the room which talked about bath bulters, but no menu's as to what was available.
During the second night of my 3 night stay part of my bed gave way (2 singles pushed together), which left a 'cliff' in the middle of the bed. I mentioned this to the receptionist twice, but nothing was done.
On the whole a good stay but i doubt i will return

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lathama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

we stayed for three nights for our honeymoon and had such a lovely time. the staff were all so friendly and really attentive without being in your face and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The hotel looks elegant and the atmosphere is quiet and refined but despite appearances it is quite relaxed and not at all stuffy - we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was a good size, very clean and well furnished. Absolutely fantastic service from the butlers too - as an example we struggled to work the TV (due to a loose wire connection) and had to get a butler to come and fix it. He sorted it in less than 2 minutes but still gave us a free bottle of wine because he felt we'd been inconvenienced. Love the fact that you can get trays of (proper) tea and coffee with homemade shortbread - at any time of the day or night. We are already planning to come back for our first anniversary and we can't wait.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonsgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Howard for the first leg of our honeymoon and it couldn't have started better. The staff was extremely attentive the whole time we were there. Any time we required something it was never too much and someone was at our door within a minute of hanging up the phone. We were also upgraded to the Abercromby sweet which was our favorite room during the whole trip. The bed was extremely comfortable, minimal street noise even though we faced the front of the hotel, and very well appointed. Breakfast each morning was also superb and plenty to get you going for a day of sight-seeing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zelgaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Fantastic customer service, very attentive. Food was great. Room ever so slightly shabby, curtains needed replacing and the shower base was a bit grubby and the water did not go down very quickly. I would stay here again at the discounted price I paid but not at ful price, and i would recommend it at the discounted proce 50% discount/

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beddoej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We returned exactly a year for our anniversary and had the same room. Most of the Staff had changed as had the owners. The welcome is still excellent as you would expect. The room hadn't changed at all apart from the thick dust on the furniture in the changing room, and the huge cobwebs in the bathroom around the curtains and on the ceiling. The staff were polite, helpful and attentive. We dined in one night, and the food was fabulous and reasonably priced although we noticed a big increase in the drink prices from last year. On leaving my wife went to settle the bill which was £ 762.00 She gave them £ 800 cash and was asked... If she wanted any change back !!!!! That was goodbye to any tips Im afraid, Thought it was highly rude to ask such a question.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scallys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews