We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #22 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

At the moment we arrived at the hotel three butlers took our luggage and placed it in our room, and offered to bring us coffee and tea even before we stepped into our room. the room was huge, the mattress was comfortable, the bed covers were soft. finally an hotel where the soap, liquid shampoo and conditioner are actually real and not just colored differently. oh yeah, and they smelled wonderfully. the staff very nice and helpful. morning tea and coffee was a very nice touch, breakfast was fantastic, the three course dinner was spot on, excellent risotto, the fillet meat was cooked to perfection every time. the butler who served us dinner at our room was really nice and very accommodating, at some point after he saw that i proposed to my girlfriend, and surprised us with complimentary champagne (fantastic service). before we left i asked the hotel for help getting the rental car from Waverly station to the hotel, the head butler (Andrew) escorted us to the train station, paid for our taxi, waited with us for a long while until we got the car, drove us to the hotel and on the way he explained about local traffic signs and how to drive on the right side of the car and on the left side of the road. his help made my trip a whole lot easier. Andrew you rock!

There are a couple of little things that could be fine tuned: on arrival there were some hairs inside the bath which were not ours. when we had a private dinner inside the room there were long delays between courses considering we just landed after a long flight, at one point when the butler brought us one of the dishes he smelt of cigarette smoke, which is a rather not nice when dining especially since the hotel is non smoking. However we were there to have fun and certainly did, and these things were not big issues for us.

I highly recommend trying The Howard. dont miss it :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ori c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

I have shared this review with Andrew, Head Butler, and he wishes to join in me in thanking this guest for such thoughtful and kind words. Our toiletries are often remarked upon and are supplied by Penhaligon's of London who only supply to a few carefully selected establishments.My apologies for any issues that may have marred this gues's stay but I do note that they strongly recommend The Howard and for this I am truly grateful..
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in June(2012)and enjoyed every minute. The hotel is nicely located and is top-drawer without being stuffy. The butler concept I found a bit gimmicky but there was service available, almost instantly, for whatever you needed. Our room and bath(which had been recently renovated I think)were quite large and comfortable. There was plenty of drawer and closet space. The only negatives were the lack of ventilation in the room(a large window would only open about 5 inches)and an upholstered chair which badly needed re-doing. The dining room was lovely and our dinner there extremely creative and delicious. We were traveling with a small university group and they opted to serve us a breakfast buffet in a private room. The breakfast was certainly adequate but not the caliber of the dinner. I don't know if it was the same type of breakfast for the patrons who were not part a group. We would definitely choose to stay here again on any return trip to Edinburgh. We felt that we only scratched the surface of this charming city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstuart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

I am deeply gratified to read more resoundingly positive feedback on The Howard and I would like to take this opportunity to thank this guest for that. Our Butler service has never been considered as a gimmick, merely the very best way to serve our guests' every need as testified to by this traveller, and allow us to offer a more comprehensivem and personal, service than many of our competitiors. A type, and quality, of service that is at home in an intimate environment like The Howard.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We arrived after a last minute booking to hotel staff who knew our name and we were immediately made to feel welcome with an offer of help with luggage from the car, which was promptly parked in the hotel car park for us. We settled in to the Trinity room very quickly, it was lovely and spacious even with a rather large travel cot for our little one. We were a little worried as we had read a previous review stating that the room was dark and tired looking but when we arrived we could not find fault and it definitely didn't feel dark.
We loved that room service was readily available for all meals, as having a newborn baby we weren't keen on either having him in the dining room or leaving him with a sitter. We had a fantastic breakfast and our evening meal on the second night was superb! (A special mention to our butler Steven is definitely needed here, he was lovely and the service was outstanding! Nothing was too much trouble and we wanted for nothing)
We had originally planned to say for 1 night but extended our stay as we had such a lovely time!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank REMac90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

A glorious review and the perfect critique of The Howard. I was thrilled with the many positive comments regarding the hotel and my ever so dedicated team - and will be sure to pass the special mention onto Trainee Butler Steven. Really look forward to welcoming this family again to Edinburgh, and to The Howard
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

we stayed in here on a recent visit to Edinburgh and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, from the moment you walk in the staff can't do enough for you but without being overly intrusive. We had a cheaper end of their market room I think as we had booked a 'deal' that said it was lovely, no fault to find with the room or the bathroom which was beautifully appointed. Also it was just round the corner from the bar/sitting room, excellent!
We eat in the restaurant first night and enjoyed our meal though I actually can't remember what we had. We also had breakfast each day which was good as was the service. I did see people having afternoon tea and it looked great but all those calories and we were heading out to dinner otherwise........

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Booked for an afternoon tea using one of the voucher offers, for a friend's birthday. I requested an additional bottle of prosecco along with the afternoon tea.
Wasn't disappointed, it was lovely, although a bit expensive for the prosecco (£28).
The afternoon tea had a brilliant selection of sandwiches; plus a small piece of quiche; scones with clotted cream and jam; madeira cake; plus small cakes - rhubarb cheesecake; chocolate brownie; lemon tart; turkish delight and a pomegranate mouse. All beautiful and fresh.
Would definitely recommend visiting for a quiet peaceful afternoon tea in very sumptuous old worldy surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Footiewidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My Husband and I had a marvelous afternoon tea at the Howard last Friday. When I booked I was most impressed to find that they remembered that we had visited previously. The butler service is a real treat and nothing is too much trouble. When I enquired if they still had the lemon curd for the clotted cream scones the butler insisted that he fetch me some although we already had a selection of 3 home made jams which would have been perfectly adequate.
Excellent selection of leaf teas to choose from which included 'first flush' varieties which really complemented the experience.
Imaginative sandwich fillings and light and fluffy scones to die for. After doing the circuit of 'afternoon teas' on offer at similar 5 star establishments The Howard is in a class of its own.
We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a lovely table at the window facing the front of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JWLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed at the Howard for 1 night and couldn't have been more pleased with the staff - they were helpful and very pleasant. We had a very comfortable room and the butler service was fantastic. breakfast was delicious. This hotel is a very different from the normal chain hotels and does appear worn in places but this seems to be in keeping with historic nature of the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happydaysscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

What kind words from this guest- I am gratified that they enjoyed their stay at The Howard enough to share their experience with the wider travelling community. Look forward to welcoming them again soon...
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,042 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
690 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £433 - £613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing