We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mismatch” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #11 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A mismatch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Unwelcoming reception staff who didn't even acknowledge me as I waited to be checked in. A single glazed window facing the stone covered street with incessant cars driving by. Irritatingly noisy. What did they do? They closed the curtain and that's that. The hotel is full is all the answer I got. If you like the oppressive burgundy red interior and don't mind the noise, go for it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank takakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    117
    38
    27
    14
See reviews for
98
432
36
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
181 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

It was some time ago that we stayed at The Howard on one of our many visits to Edinburgh for my husbands birthday. Although it was some time ago, we have such fond memories that I felt I must write a review.
The staff were exceptional in their care, from check in to check out. There are many nice touches that others have covered that start when you arrive and your car is parked for you. We stayed in a terrace suite, that has it's own entrance from the street. I had ordered a birthday cake and champagne for my husband's birthday, see photo of beautiful presentation. We had a really lovely meal in the restaurant one of the nights, which was quite exceptional. During the meal, we commented to the waiter that it would be lovely to have coffee on the terrace outside our room. Between courses, we saw the waiter passing by outside first carrying a table, then the chairs, then the candles and the coffee! We were so tickled by this, especially when he told us our coffee was waiting on the terrace - see photo. Unfortunately my photo is only of the table after we had cleared it, but it was quite magical. Thank you to all at The Howard for a memorable stay.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelling18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Not just a wonderful review but rather touching as well – many, many thanks for sharing such a fabulous experience. I am thrilled to read how one of our Butlers was able to manufacture such a memorable occasion and I am really grateful to learn that these precious memories will be with you always – until next time…
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

If we visit Edinburgh in future this is the only hotel my wife and I will stay in. Our recent visit was perfect in every respect from the time we arrived to the time we checked out. The staff were superb, the room spacious and extremely comfortable and the food exceptional. In fact breakfast for £5 per person was the best value for money we have ever had. Also book yourself in for dinner each evening as the attention to detail and the quality of the food are excellent. The Howard provides affordable luxury in a central Edinburgh location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTOPHER s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Another super review and once again it is fantastic to read about one of our guests leaving The Howard with such a positive impression. I must just clarify, however, the special breakfast rate of £5.00 per person is only available when you book on line on our own website and order this in advance.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I selected this hotel based on the reviews and definitely made the right choice. The staff was more than helpful from the moment we walked in the door, carrying our luggage to our room, offering us refreshments, and seeing if we needed anything as we settled in.
The hotel is a older hotel which has lots of character. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. The bathrooms are modern and also large. It was very relaxing soaking in a tub full of bubbles one evening.
The breakfast was wonderful. The tea was my favorite part of breakfast, it tasted so good I could drink more than pot if I did not have leave the hotel.
The staff catered to every one of our needs from switching the water in our room to water with no bubbles, showing us their favorite places to shop for tea, and sending up glasses so we could our own whiskey tasting in the room. They made us feel welcome and nothing was a problem or a inconvience to them.
We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruizrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Glad to hear we can expect this guest back again on their next trip to Edinburgh and my thanks to them for sharing such kind words with potential visitors. Although I am thrilled to read that they are a big fan of our tea, I am sorry to say that it can only be sourced at The Howard as it is an exclusive blend made especially for us - however, if they contact me directly I would be more than happy to send some on to keep them going until they can join us again..
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

From the time we checked in, everything about the hotel was wonderful. As soon as we arrived, the butlers did everything from parking the car, taking our luggage to the room, giving us a "tour" of the hotel, and giving us directions to the local festival. Breakfast was good and the staff was very attentive. They made sure that your time at the hotel and in the city was worry free and enjoyable. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit this beautiful city.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
And a wonderful review - many, many thanks!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Wow! My only regret is that I only stayed here one night!

About Me: Fortune Global 500 corporate executive that travels extensively both for personal and professional reasons. Originally from Chicago but now living in London. Have worked or lived in 42 countries in Europe, North and South America, Africa and Asia Pacific.

This hotel is truly amazing with service. From the second you arrive through your departure, they take care if every detail. The butlers are fantastic and do not stand around waiting for tips. They seem genuinely interested in providing you a great experience. Helping with restaurant bookings, luggage, breakfast, even mailing postcards for which we had no stamps.

When we arrived, our room was not available so they helped us with luggage, then led us to breakfast, which was quite nice. When we later returned to the hotel, our bags were in our rooms but they wanted us to relax and settle in first. So they led us to the living room area and brought us tea, coffee, and biscuits. Fantastic.

The rooms are gorgeous, spacious, and classy. Beds are comfortable and the bathrooms well appointed. Best of all, the hotel is small and boutique so each room is unique. I felt like I was staying in one of the rooms at the Holyroodhouse Palace!

Location was superb as we were able to easily walk to shopping, tourist attractions, and restaurants from the restaurant but also able to quickly get a taxi if needed.

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel for anyone staying in Edinburgh. Value for money, service, food, and accommodations are all well above average and thus this place is now amongst the top of my list of hotels of the world.

Room Tip: I stayed in Cockburn with my partner while my mom stayed down the hall in Fettes. both were quite ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alswharton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Having stayed at this little gem of a hotel, for 2 nights, I am at a loss to understand how anyone could find fault with it, and reading the reviews I think it speaks for itself, the place itself is pure elegance the staff are an absolute delight, impeccable manners, caring, and helpful without being intrusive. The breakfast is to die for, and yes it is a small hotel full of character from a bygone age that has been brought into the present day beautifully, with lovely curtains bedding, and all the interior was superb, plus it has a car park ! give me this hotel anytime instead of the souless larger ones. Well done all at the Howard well deserved 5 star in my opinion you deserve a 6. P.S. I am a hotelier also so know a bit about the trade.

Room Tip: south side maybe but you are in the centre of a large city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammy078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing