We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up and down”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #19 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

For the amount of money we paid we expected more however there were many good points. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Roy who whisked our bags inside and directed us to Avis just down the road to return the car. On return to the Howard we ordered off the drinks menu - however were told after 15 mins they had run out of Tio Pepe a dry sherry so would I like a Bristol cream sherry - obviously not as they are completely different drinks so I ordered a sauv blanc and rec'd a chardonnay!!
Any way back to the good points - the room a terrace suite was a good size and we could come and go through our own front door. The room was at basement level and the outside terrace had a lot of street rubbish that had blown in and a deadish plant. Because of security the windows only open a wee bit and with the drapes drawn against the light there is very little ventilation.
The room furnishings may be tired and the carpet needs a clean but the bathroom was well fitted out with excellent water pressure and amenities. Our sleep whilst on a comfy bed was disjointed as we had to get up and open the door for half an hour to get some fresh air.
We really enjoyed having a post dinner drink in the garden which was quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Beware that a terrace room is a basement room - not a terrace room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 914Swanny914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

I am deeply sorry to read that this guest has left us with anything but the most positive of impressions but we will endeavor to correct most of the issues detailed.

After review and investigating all the points we found that we had not run out of Tio Pepe nor had we run out of Sauvignon Blanc, I have addressed these matters with our butlers and I am confident the negative points are addressed.

As you may be aware the guest stayed during Scotland’s unseasonably hot week! Although it is unfeasible for us to get air conditioning into the listed building we do offer extra fans in all our rooms if requested.

At the same time I greatly appreciate your positive comments about some aspects of the quality of service that you received throughout your stay.

Mr Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I visited this place last year and i will always remember it. very grand, our bathroom was amazing just to my wifes taste with a free standing bath. the staff cant do enough for you.

We had a great time, worth every penny

thank you

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandChristine_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thanks again for posting your comments; it’s great to see another positive review.
We at The Howard Hotel strive for excellence and it’s always good to hear that we meet our guest’s high expectations.
We offer something quite unique at The Howard and our team of Butlers will always try to make your experience as comfortable as possible. It’s a difficult service issue for the butlers to discreet yet is there at the point you require them and in my opinion they do it very well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at the Howard in February this year for a birthday celebration weekend and The Howard was an amazing experience. Our entire stay at the hotel was perfect from the moment we checked in until we left. The hotel is traditional with a luxurious homely feel with great attention to detail and superior customer service. The butler services means you want for nothing and as first time visitors to Edinburgh our butler went out of his way to recommend restaurants and places to visit. We have nothing bad to say about The Howard other than be mindful it is a long walk up some very steep hills to get to the city centre, not a problem for us, but it would be for someone not keen on walking. We highly recommend the Abercrombie suite. Thank you The Howard, we had an outstanding weekend!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks again for posting your comments, its great to see another possitive review.
We at The Howard Hotel strive for excellence and it’s always good to hear that not only did we meet our guest’s expectations but exceeded them.
We offer something quite unique at The Howard and our team of Butlers will always try to make your experience as comfortable as possible. The butlers main aim to make this small hotel as comfortable and relaxing as possible, making it a ‘home-from-home'. I agree with the review that our Abercrombie suite is exceptional.
I hope to see you again next year for your birthday.

Mr Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

WE stayed at The Howard for 5 days in July. The room was spacious and lovely. The bed was comfortable and the chairs were perfect for sitting and reading. The bathroom was very spacious but lacked adequate water pressure at times. Overall we were very comfortable and felt like we were staying in someone's cosy home rather than a hotel. The staff were exceptional. As soon as we arrived, our butler asked if we wanted tea and brought it promptly. They were very attentive and we never had to wait for anything we asked for. They also provided very helpful advice for restaurants, getting around Edinburgh, and even for our next stop in Glasgow. We were so comfortable that we hated to leave. We doubt that we will find this level of service and comfort elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are said to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Another great review for the Howard Hotel, thanks again for posting your comments.
We at The Howard Hotel strive for excellence and it’s always good to hear that not only did we meet our guest’s expectations but exceeded them.
We offer something quite unique at The Howard and our team of Butlers will always try to make your experience as comfortable as possible. It is for that reason that we are particularly happy with the comment that 'the hotel felt more like someone’s comfortable home'.


Mr. Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Howard's furniture may be a little faded and tattered, but the rooms and service were excellent. Very comfortable accommodations - terrific bed, recently refurbished bathroom, and clean, large room. The service was outstanding and the food was delicious. It is well situated, just a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CA_Traveler_1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for your review and for pointing out that we exceeded in your expectations both in service and our rooms.

Mr Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed last weekend, part business, part pleasure. The room (a four poster feature room) looked lovely and was very spacious, although we later found dusty, uncleaned carpet under the radiators (if I noticed it sooner I would have asked for a re-clean.....).
We ordered some tea upon arrival in our room but the order was forgotten and we had to ring down after half an hour to remind them. As we were eating out that night we also asked them to book a taxi but this was forgotten too. Alarm bells starting to ring........
On Saturday we also mentioned that we'd be dining in the hotel on the Sunday night and were told they were never over booked on a Sunday and so there would be plenty of room. However upon returning from our day out on Sunday we found out that the restaurant was in fact fully booked for the evening as they'd had a rush of bookings in the day! Not overly happy but we then said we'd avail ourselves of the 'in-room dining served by your very own butler'. Can't do that said the young lady as they already had 3 couples dining in their rooms..............the best they could do was sandwiches/snacks!! At this point we asked to see the Manager who informed us that they would 'squeeze' us in to the restaurant. By this time it was 18.45 and we had a booking elsewhere for 19.00. I'm afraid I took exception to being 'squeezed' in anywhere!! - especially as we were paying in the region of £300 per night (room only!!) to stay in this hotel - so we declined. To add insult to injury upon our return to the hotel (at around 20.30) we were somewhat surprised to find only one couple dining in the restaurant and 5 empty tables!!
Off to complain again but the shine had gone from our weekend. Regrettably we were offered no gesture of apology from the management apart from 2 complimentary liqueur coffees - too little, too late I'm afraid.
On the plus side we had a very nice lunch on our day of arrival and I also had a lovely breakfast served in my room on Monday morning before I had to go off on business.
As a comment the 'butlers' that they obviously promote as a unique point are in fact the normal hotel staff but they are just called butlers!
I could only suggest that the problems we suffered were due to a serious lack of training - so Managers take note. At the prices you are charging you need to up your game considerably - we could stay at The Ritz in London for this price and save on the airfares....

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel until their staff training improves.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silverstriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

I am deeply perturbed to read that this guest has left us with anything but the most positive of impressions. Myself and the management team will endeavor to correct each point where we failed to meet expectations and reply to the guest in person- I am confident that I can address most of the issues detailed and correct them as a matter of urgency.
I do feel that the guest was a little ‘unfair’ mentioning that the butlers were just ordinary hotel staff. Our small team of butlers go through extensive and traditional butler training to provide the service that is mentioned in so many reviews. We have modernised it slightly making it less formal and stuffy but feel this is a positive step and not a step backwards.
The traditional middle aged men in tail coats are still visible but are helped by a team of younger (and older!) boys and girls to create a modern and friendly service.

Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel in July 2013 for 2 days and it was just great. We wanted then to extend our stay but unfortunately it was fully booked. Rooms are very nice and they have a cosy sitting room/ bar.They offer a wonderful, very well prepared breakfast.The personal is helpful and provide with suggestions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Another great review for the Howard Hotel, thanks again for posting your comments.

The Howard Hotel is a small hotel with only 18 on suite bedrooms and with our unique service and traditional settings we are often fully booked. My recommendation is to book early to avoid disappointment.

We were extremely pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their stay so much that they wished to extend it, but can only apologies that we were unable to do so on this occasion.

Mr Andrew Smith
Head Butler/Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,003 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £109 - £609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing