We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Great Service, nice location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #11 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Service, nice location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

I stayed for just one night...but it was NICE. For 100 pounds, I got a single room including a full cooked breakfast. I arrived really early, but they were able to get me in my room within 20 minutes (they provided tea and brownies while I waited). More attention than I'm used to getting at hotels. The porter took my bags and the butler showed me the room and its features. My room was elegant and the bathroom was really wonderful (giant dinner-plate size shower head and really good toiletries along with slippers and a robe).

The room faced the front street and it was noisy (the street is cobble stone, so that made car noise even worse, but it did quiet down by bedtime).

I checked out and left my luggage while I explored. When I returned, my friends let me know they were arriving late, so the hotel provided me with another pot of tea and cookies while I waited in the "drawing room" for them to arrive.

I recommend staying here (when I got in the taxi at the train station, the driver responded "aren't you posh?" when I gave him the name of the hotel. It was nice to be pampered just a bit after a budget stay in London the week previous.

  • Liked — Really attentive service
  • Disliked — No deadbolt on the door. Cleaning staff out in hall started early and were noisy.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank slc_singer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    118
    40
    27
    14
See reviews for
100
442
36
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

I stayed in the Abercrombie suite with my wife for one night because we were attending a concert in the city.This is a very good,friendly hotel.Idon't agree with a previous reviewer's opinion that the hotel is pretentious. The hotel is smart and well appointed. The staff are well presented,friendly and informative.Everything we asked for in terms of service was delivered.The room was also smart and well-appointed although I have to say the bed was short (and I am of medium height). Yes,the hotel is expensive, but I didn't pass any other accommodation at which I would have preferred to stay. Unfortunately,I wasn't impressed with the city.It's a little too grey and reserved for my liking.If I had come to visit the city itself rather than to attend a concert I would have been disappointed.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the bed was too short
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acontributor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2008

Genuinely disappointing experience. for the same price you could have a master suite in a 4 star and that hotel wouldn't be too pretentious.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank Dontstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

We have just returned from a night at The Howard which I planned to celebrate my husbands birthday. This hotel, although slightly off the beaten track is in a lovely street in Edinburgh, about 10 minutes walk from Princes Street. On arrival, we were offered a glass of champagne, as they were aware it was my husbands birthday, this was a lovely touch. We were upgraded to a Garden Terrace Suite which was absolutaly amazing - so stylish and spacious. The bed was so comfortable with lovely linen. The bath and shower were to die for ! We had dinner at The Witchery which was expensive, but a great experience and one not to miss - but you must book in advance. Breakfast in The Howard was really enjoyable, with a vast array of options.
All in all I cannot praise this fantastic hotel enough, it is 5 Star Luxury at its best.

  • Liked — The fantastic room
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jannewcastleupontyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

We stayed at the Howard for two nights, and I wish it could have been longer. The room was wonderful - beautiful furnishings, comfortable sitting area, amazing bathroom. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Dinner at the restaurant was wonderful. Highly recommended, can't wait to go back some day.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank AZflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2008

Pure Luxury and indulgence. We booked to stay at the Howard for our wedding anniversary 29/5/08 and we stayed on their romantic package.

The discrete in room check in and the champagne on arrival was a lovely touch. The butler Fernando was excellent, he unpacked our bags and even found out some historical information we had tried in vain to find out ourselves, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant the Atholl was also rather good with my husband preferring his meal at the Atholl to our meal at the Witchery on the previous evening.

The Witchery restaurant in Edinburgh is well worth a visit and the seafood platter worthy of mention here.

The best thing about the Howard, was the discrete intimate feel like a home away from home , and the sumptuous rooms.

If anything could be improved I would say that a nice improvement would be to offer guests complimentary tea, coffee and water in the room.

A hotel worthy of a visit and we will be going back

Mrs Friend


We stayed in the Abercromby and it was everything and more than the hotels website photos can do justice.

  • Liked — Butler Service in the Suites
  • Disliked — Lift was a bit small but its an old property and the stairs are charming
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kidsintow_placestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of a 10 day trip all over Scotland. What a treat--the service is spectacular and the hotel itself is beautiful and charming.

When we checked in, we were given a room with a queen-sized bed, but they immediately were able to switch us to a king room, even though technically it was our mistake in the reservation. The room itself was very nice and the bathroom was huge.

We had afternoon tea, which was wonderful. And the hotel had e-mailed me weeks before our trip about special requests, and made dinner reservations for us, which they still had note of on our arrival.

Highly recommend.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunalinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing