We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #11 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

A lovely hotel, very Scottish and impeccable hospitality.The service levels were very good. Pricey but worth it. the rooms are nice. It was a special occasion but was worth it.Has an old world charm to the property. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil14167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to express many thanks for your remarkable review of our boutique hotel. I am glad to see that you mentioned our 'old world charm' and that you were very satisfied with the service that our exquisite team of butlers provides. We look forward to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    117
    38
    27
    14
See reviews for
99
433
36
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, South Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights when attending a wedding in Edinburgh.On arrival we were a little early but made to feel very welcome with tea (real tea leaves including peppermint!) in the drawing room. This room has a faded type of elegance but that just added to its warm welcoming feel.
Our room was wonderful- top floor at the back of hotel- huge bathroom with roll top bath, large comfy bed and sitting area.
What made this hotel so special though was its staff. Nothing was too much trouble and when we had our niece and her 3 year old daughter for dinner, they were treated like VIP's also, even down to straining the bits out of an orange juice for her!
The food was first class both breakfast (highly recommend the Abroth smokie!) and dinner- cannot fault it with impeccable service.
If you are looking for a relaxing stay and all your needs looked after, without being intrusive, then this is the place!

Room Tip: Top floor giving views over the rooftops of Edinburgh and beyond and at the back of hotel as this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking time in writing this magnificent review of our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that our guests have great experience when staying with us and that we could contribute to your visit. I am extremely glad that you compliment our butler service as we strive to be better than excellent in the hospitality sector. Thank you for all your kind words and we are looking forward to welcome you on your future trip to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter booked this for me for my birthday choosing The Howard for location as near bridal shop she had an appointment with first.
What a great choice. We were a party of four, myself, my daughter, daughter-in-law and my four month old grandson.
We were given a lovely welcome, shown into the lounge where we had a huge comfy sofa and big armchairs round our table which was beautifully set. The range of teas on offer was fantastic and we each got a large pot of the different teas of our choice. The food was beautifully served and the very attentive waiter explained all that was on the tea stands. They did really well catering for one of us who required dairy free. All in all we had a very relaxing and enjoyable afternoon tea served to us by very friendly and attentive waiters. Highly recommended. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your marvellous review of our famous speciality - afternoon tea. We are delighted to hear that you have chosen The Howard for your afternoon of celebrations and that we have met your high standards. Thank you for complimenting our range of teas and our serving staff; please be sure that I will pass on your comments to our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful classic room and a perfect location. The breakfast was included and was great. They also have Tea time. The service was unmatched. Our room was on the ground floor and had its own door to the outside. Just two things to be mindful of if you should go when it's warm....private exit is mossy so watch your step and there is no air conditioning, but they will put a fan in your room. I plan on coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice review on Trip Advisor. We do hope you have enjoyed your stay and are pleased to see that our rooms and facilities could contribute to your visit. We hope to see you soon at our hotel!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a late deal at The Howard to celebrate our anniversary and it was an excellent choice. The service was first class but with a personal touch ie. Not service robots! The room was lovely, very spacious and I loved the bathroom and roll - top bath. The hotel has quite a traditional style and is perhaps slightly dated but I felt that added a Scottish charm to it. Breakfast was excellent and all in all this was a lovely hotel. I may have struggled to pay full price however as I know of other more modern and 5 star service hotels in Edinburgh but it depends on your preference!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LCAPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to express many thanks for your favourable review and high rating. I am very glad that you have chosen The Howard to celebrate your anniversary and that we have met your high expectations during your stay. I am not sure if you were aware of our 'Romantic Break' package that was created for such specific occasions, but maybe you can keep that in mind for your next celebrations! Thank you also for complimenting our breakfast and pointing out the traditional style of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a week at the Howard to visit Edinburgh and planed a few day trips from the city. Opted for the bed/breakfast rate. The breakfast is top notch. Excellent selection of choices and they will accommodate you with anything you desire not on the menu.

The staff here were extremely friendly and helpful. Always asking if we needed anything or could be of assistance. Special thanks to Charlie and Jimmy!!

The room was really nice. It's a very small hotel and as others have mentioned, the decor is a bit worn but it's got a very family type feel.

We liked the fact that it's not located where all the others are located and in a residential area. Very quiet.

I recommend out if looking for a nice place to stay with personal attention.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ralfo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our boutique hotel. I really appreciate your comments about our butlers; please be sure that I will share your feedback with the rest of our team, especially Charlie and Jimmy. I really enjoyed your mention about our personal service and 'family type' as this is what we strive for - excellent service personalised to each visitor to The Howard.
Thank you once again for finding our hotel recommendation worthy and hopefully we will welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

On arrival met by a manager who parked the car at the rear and organised our luggage to the room. Junior suite was very comfortable and well appointed.
Light lunch in the drawing room was lovely. Cocktails prior to dinner took a while, but dinner was very good, wines not too ridiculous in price.
Our room looked over the front of the hotel, and because it was hot weather, the windows were open. The street outside is cobbled, so traffic can be noisy.
I would agree with other reviewers that the hotel needs a refurb to return it to luxury level.

Room Tip: Possibly a room facing the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing