We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and ambience”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #12 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and ambience”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Howard in December last year (just realised I havent written a review)
We booked one of the superior rooms which looked out on to the back of the hotel.
We had a huge roll top bath and a king sized bed which I believe is the same standard in all rooms.
The staff were friendly and attentive from the moment we arrived until we left.

Everywhere was clean,dustfree and decorated to a high standard.

Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice and evening drinks in the lounge area were fair priced.

Overall I would highly reccomend The Howard, A small hotel with personal touches, good value for money and just a short walk from the city centre so you are able to escape the hustle and bustle.

I will definately be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Howard. I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at The Howard and that you wanted to share your opinion about our hotel after a long time since your visit! I do appreciate your positive comments and that you found our hotel recommendation worthy. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    120
    40
    28
    14
See reviews for
100
449
36
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked Afternoon Tea here as a treat for a family member and could not fault the quality of the food or the service. Firstly one of our family has specific allergies and the high tea food was prepared to fully accommodate their requirements but at the same time gave all of us a wide range of choices.
The selection of teas is amazing and your butler explains the details and background to help you make your choice.
Although we tried our best we could not eat all the cakes and scones and the staff kindly gave us containers to take the remaining treats away home for later.
A great way to spend a couple of hours in Edinburgh.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering-Gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your high rating of our famous afternoon tea. I am very glad that you have chosen The Howard for your Birthday Treat and that you found our high tea up to your high standards. We do take pride in our tea selection and like you have noticed our knowledgeable staff can tell you everything about their origin. I very much appreciate your feedback and I do hope we will welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Although The Howard was a bit more staid than we had imagined, the rooms were certainly comfortable! A bar was located in one of the common rooms on the first floor, though the scotch, especially, was quite expensive, though the selections were plentiful.
It was nice to not be in the center of all the city activity, and the neighborhood in which the hotel was located was easily accessible to many activities and restaurants.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LeslieB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Leslie,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our boutique hotel. It is great to hear that you were fond of our bedrooms and especially location, which makes our hotel very intimate and quiet and only 10 min walk from the busy city centre. I do apologise if the prices seemed a bit expensive but they are the standard prices for quality whisky; I hope it did not cause much inconvenience.
Thank you once again for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here last night and it's a dream property.

Friendly staff, butler service, free wifi & telephone calls.

An absolute gem situated in the new town area of Edinburgh.

Special mention & thank you to Leon Kiteley, General Manager, who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Just book The Garden Mews - a lovely cottage, with 21st century facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gambi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Hugh,

Thank you for your high rating of our new addition to The Howard, The Garden Mews. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind words about our property. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It was a rough landing, sort of speak into Edinburgh ... I didn't know much other than my travel guides and massive amount of reviews I printed. The Howard .... you are talking a smaller, definitive, unique spot. This rest stop is not in the ordinary Scottish regime. It's almost a house, with a couple floors, that houses international travelers who need that R & R, private premium style. It's on a residence style street, simple but decadent facade, but so much more underneath. Each hotel room is a style beyond itself, you melt into each room and it's view, location and pure wonderful colorful theme. It's not cheap to stay here, but your overall space, style and bedding are pure 101% Scottish dreams, nite nite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Jeff,

I would like to thank you for this marvellous review of our Georgian hotel. I think you have captured the essence of The Howard perfectly in your review and I do hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing us as your host in Edinburgh and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed two nights at The Howard in July. The streets surrounding the hotel are Georgian with elegant town houses and are surprisingly quiet for being so close to the city centre which is a short walk uphill from the hotel. The staff will park your car at the back of the hotel for £15 per night. Don't chance parking on the street without a valid ticket as I have never seen as many parking wardens as I did during this stay in Edinburgh!

The service here is exceptional! The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful; nothing was too much trouble. There was a good choice at breakfast and the food was lovely. We had dinner in the hotel both evenings. The dining room and the service were both excellent. We were disappointed with the food the first evening but the second night it was very good.

The rooms are decorated in an authentic Georgian style. Our room was spacious and contained everything we needed. There are no tea/coffee making facilities but if you call reception they will deliver complimentary tea/coffee to your room or the drawing room very swiftly. There is no ironing board or trouser press as they offer a complimentary ironing service! The large bed was comfortable and we slept well. The daily room and turn down services were performed discreetly while we were outdoors or in the restaurant.

This is a great place to stay if you like older hotels and you want to be spoiled for a few days. I would certainly return but probably on a B&B basis next time.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and stayed in 'Hanover'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durham_Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your brilliant review of our hotel. It is great to see that our guests enjoy what The Howard has to offer, especially the butler team who are ready to polish your shoes, draw you a bath or serve you dinner in your private room!
I would like to apologise if your dinner on the first night was not satisfactory; if you would like to tell us in more detail why you were left unhappy please email: reception@thehoward.com. I can assure you that everything we serve at The Howard is locally produced, fresh and supervised by one of Edinburgh's top chefs.
I would like express many thank for your comments about our décor, rooms and quiet location, as well as the fact that you find our hotel recommendation worthy.
Thank you for choosing The Howard and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A lovely hotel, very Scottish and impeccable hospitality.The service levels were very good. Pricey but worth it. the rooms are nice. It was a special occasion but was worth it.Has an old world charm to the property. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil14167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to express many thanks for your remarkable review of our boutique hotel. I am glad to see that you mentioned our 'old world charm' and that you were very satisfied with the service that our exquisite team of butlers provides. We look forward to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing