We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a touch of class”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #12 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a touch of class”
Reviewed 29 March 2009

booked the abercromby suite for my wife's birthday and it was superb. based in the new town, the hotel is near the heart of edinburgh but it's location is very discreet and quiet. the features of the hotel & rooms transport you back to another era and the service is excellent. well worth splashing out that little bit extra for a special occasion - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasgowbhoy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    121
    40
    28
    14
See reviews for
104
450
36
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Although they call it a hotel, The Howard is much more like a B&B. The style is antiquated, not modern, and feels a bit like you’re a guest in someone’s home. That said, it’s not at all depressing, as many UK B&Bs can be.

Single travelers will want to note that the considerable difference in price between a single room and a double is because single rooms (there are only two) are tiny, just slightly larger than the twin bed inside. I switched to a more comfortable double room (for a reasonable fee).

I must disagree with the prevailing opinion here that the location is great. It’s residential, and while not a long walk to the more central areas—10-15 minutes by foot—this probably isn’t the best choice if you’re someone who prefers to have the city center at your doorstep. And at night, the immediate area is quite dead.

The staff is young but well-trained, and service is one of the things at which The Howard truly excels. Breakfast represents the epitome of that, at The Howard has possibly the best hotel breakfast I’ve ever had, both outstanding and gourmet. It goes far beyond the clichéd buffet-service that even five-star hotels provide pass off as fine dining.

My conclusion is that while I quite liked The Howard and especially its staff, I would prefer to stay more centrally next time I am in Edinburgh.

  • Liked — Breakfast is outstanding!
  • Disliked — The location is a bit out of the way.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

The Howard Hotel is fabulous! I have enjoyed visiting there a number of times. While in Edinburgh, I cannot imagine staying at another hotel. It is small and DISCREET. While staying, a private butler is available to see to all your needs. The rooms/suites are all named for various clans/families. The hotel is quite close to the city center, a short cab drive away. The rooms that I have enjoyed through the years have all been large and each special in its own way. The food is wonderful and the staff are always ready to be of help. This very quiet hotel has been visited by Pierce Brosnon and Prince Albert of Monaco. They wished anonymity and needless to say, it was provided.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — It was all perfect in every way
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ukpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We had our wedding at The Howard in October 2008. We had been double booked by our first venue, and ended up at The Howard based on a recommendation from another hotel. We ended up being so pleased that we had been double booked as our experience at the Howard was absolutely phenomenal! The staff were so attentive (especially Fernando!), and nothing seemed like too much trouble for them.
The rooms were beautifully decorated and luxurious, not to mention absolutely spotless. The food at the hotel was some of the best we've had.
I can't say enough about how special the staff at the hotel made us feel, and they certainly contributed a great deal towards making our wedding the most special weekend not only for us, but for our guests who stayed at the hotel as well.
We definitely look forward to staying at The Howard for a few nights each year when we go back to Scotland.

  • Liked — The service and excellend food!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 78review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Wow! We were blown away at the amazing service provided by the staff of The Howard in Edinburgh. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the complementary breakfast tasty, but the staff went above and beyond our expectations. Francisco, the extremely knowledgeable concierge, offered us tea and shortbread cookies upon arrival and gave us a 20 minute overview of the city, sights, and restaurants. All of his recommendations were spot on. What really blew our minds was this: we asked him to recommend a restaurant for a special dinner in honor of my brother and sister-in-law's anniversary. Not only did he recommend an awesome restaurant and handle the reservation, but the day of their actual anniversary he bought them a card and slipped it under the door of their room that morning. Amazing.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uofabecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We stayed 2 nights at The Howard as part of our honeymoon. We hoped that the hotel would be as wonderful as when we last stayed about 5 years ago, and we were not disappointed. The rooms are luxurious; the staff extremely friendly and helpful; the food in the restaurant is first-class. The Howard gets it right! An amazing experience of luxury and relaxation. The location is also ideal; only one small point is that it is a fairly steep walk up into Princes Street, which could prove difficult for less able visitors. We would also recommend Abstract restaurant, which is fairly close to the hotel and serves an amazing lunch. There are also some wonderful art shops lining the walk up from the hotel to Princes Street. We will definitely return!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davidchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We started the first 2 nights of our week long stay in Scotland at The Howard - and what a wonderful way to begin. The location is perfect, in a quiet block, but a close enough walk (10 minutes) to the amazing Edinburgh castle, shopping on Prince St. and the Royal Mile.
The shared lounge where we were greeted, could use some paint and plaster as there is a rather large crack on the ceiling, however our room was lovely, clean and relatively well maintained. The bathroom was huge, and a large and romantic claw-foot tub took center stage.
Having our own butler was a unique touch, but we really didn't utilize his services of unpacking for us or drawing a bath - we'd rather do those things for ourselves.
The included breakfast was served in a beautiful small dining room, with plenty of choices from their menu, and was delicious.
The staff was always warm and friendly and had a genuine desire to make sure our every need was met. However, other then 2 wonderful dinner recommendations (both within walking distance; "Urban Angel" and "A Room in the Town"- had wonderful fresh takes on Scottish fare) our other requests went unfulfilled.
Though they advertised in-room internet access, after a few attempts and the staff doing some routine troubleshooting, we were never able to connect. Not critical, and they did offer us access to their computer if needed.
Upon arriving we noticed our room was rather chilly, and after a few attempts to get the furnace working, they brought a portable heater. It heated the room fine, but when we went to move it during the night, one of the legs completely fell off and the other buckled. Obviously this was rather disconcerting as it could have caused injury or a fire.
Lastly, as we readied our departure from The Howard, we inquired if we needed a reservation for the ferry to Skye (our next stop) The person we asked didn't know, but said she would find out before we checked out. Fifteen minutes later, upon checking out, she said none of the other staff knew for sure, but they didn't think one was needed. This seemed like something that could have been checked online. Luckily we discovered after a 5 hour drive to Mallaig, traveling off season, one was not needed.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and if we returned to Edinburgh, we would certainly consider The Howard.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff and beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — We had a few minor problems, but the staff's eagerness to please, allowed us to overlook them.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MaxxandKoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#16 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing