We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Stay”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #13 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2009

The Howard Hotel was by far one of the classiest hotels we've stayed at worldwide and the best so far we've stayed at in the United Kingdom. I don't even know where to start.

We stayed in the Lauriston Suite which was very elaborately decorated without being too gawdy. The bed was a king size bed which was very comfortable. The living room area had a large couch and some chairs with a small television. This gave us plenty of space to unwind, have room service, unpack/pack, and served as a good reading area. The bathroom was tremendous and had a large clawfoot tub and seperate shower. The heated floors and towel rack were a godsend.

The butler service was incredible without being overbearing. They arranged reservations, served drinks, delivered room service, and even provided laundry/press service for our clothing. They also served afternoon tea in the drawing room which was a very nice touch with all of the finger sandwiches, pastries, and champange.

We also had breakfast and dinner at the The Atholl which is a small dining area/restaurant within The Howard. Breakfast was very good and provided us with all the energy we needed to walk around town . I recommend the Scottish Breakfast, Eggs and Smoked Salmon, or the Banana Crepe's. Dinner was also excellent and the wine list was extensive. The Beef Fillet and Lamb was incredible, as well as the potato dumpling appetizer. My wife and I also enjoyed a bottle of the Gevrey Burgundy....twice... :)

Overall our stay was incredible and the City of Edinburgh left a warm spot in our hearts for The Howard, City of Edinburgh, and it's people. The Scottish people were very friendly and very curious about America even though we have a lot in common and are a very young country compared to Scotland. This was by far one of our best overseas trips we've taken and The Howard was the cherry on top.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captben31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2009

We stayed at the Howard for three nights after a similar stay at Loch Lomond. We were expecting great things and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were well looked after by the friendly and efficient staff who parked our car and whisked our luggage up to the room, while we enjoyed tea and homemade shortbread in the elegant drawing room.
We had booked a junior suite which was stunning - four poster bed, comfortable sitting area, superb bathroom. We dined in all three nights. Unfortunately the menu only changes monthly but the chef did offer to prepare something specially for us if we wanted more choice over our stay. This was not necessary as we found the food delicious and quite varied enough. The breakfasts were outstanding, no buffet here. All freshly prepared and brought to your table. The dining room is quite small and guest numbers varied between just the two of us on our first night to slightly cramped for our last breakfast.
We felt the location was fine, an uphill walk of 5-10 mins to Princes Street but downhill on the way back! There are a number of small art galleries and cafes nearby and the Howard is situated in what appears to be a largely residential street. We felt like we were staying with friends in their lovely Georgian home.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsFoodieBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

just back from a great weekend at the Howard. This hotel is 5 star without a pool, gym etc but its easy to see where the stars come from. The hotel is the nicest i have ever stayed in and the room (suite actually - they upgraded us without out our even asking!) was out of this world. No tea/coffee making facilities in room - not to worry - just phone down and a butler will appear with freshly brewed pot (included in hotel price). Breakfast in your room - no problem and no extra charge. The staff in the hotel could not have been better - so friendly and they seemed to work very long hours but always willing to help and offer advice on what to do/where to go (hope they get well paid if the hotel owner reads this as they nearly make this a 6 star hotel!) The hotel is located in the new town area of edinburgh so its a good 5/10 minute walk to shopping areas and further to castle (we got a taxi to castle and its only about £5) but there are buses all the time too. its hard to fault this hotel but my only problem was the dinner. its very formal and only room for 14 or so in the dining room and i felt it was overpriced for what you got. second night we got a take away from a lovely little italian place just up the road which was fantastic and a fraction of the price. breakfast was very nice in the hotel and there was plenty to choose from. give this place a go.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandaferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

What a wonderful hotel. I traveled with my American partner who was in Scotland to do some fishing. He had, until this trip, an opinion that many small UK hotels were dark and uncomfortable. He is now this hotel's biggest fan....next to me.
The staff could not have been nicer and more accommodating; the room we had was superbly comfortable (great for recovering from jet lag); the bathroom was the nicest hotel bathroom I have ever been in (and I travel alot for work); the location was superb, and the overall service second to none. There was one dreadful guest who seemed hell bent on complaining about her light bulb in her room (!!) but the staff were magnificent in handling her - they certainly weren't treated well and I was impressed at their professionalism.
We plan on returning to this hotel and can't wait!! What a lovely place.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank britgirlinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

A superb small hotel, probably the best I have ever stayed in. Totally personal service, wonderful rooms, beautiful house. Butler service is just that, anything you want they can get for you (within reason) can't wait to go back. It feels like home almsot instatntly, and I want to go back and back and back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essbeepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We had a fantastic weekend at the hotel, every aspect of the stay was commendable. In particular we need to highlight Fernando (head butler) who organised and helped with our extended family occasion dealing with children to Great grandmothers without fuss and getting praise from all.
Great location,service and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

My husband and I were celebrating our tenth wedding anniversary, so after checking out the reviews we decided that The Howard was the hotel for us. We were not disappointed. This was a fabulous hotel From the moment we arrived we were treated to excellent service from having our bags collected and our car driven to the car park. We were also upgraded to a suite, because we celebrating a special occasion. The room was amazing and had a separate door that led onto the street (Lauriston Suite). The service was excellent and the 24 hr service from the butlers was fantastic. No sooner had we ordered tea for two for the room and a butler would appear....I wish I could have taken one home :-) All in all if you want a little oasis of tranquility and charm, mixed witha touch of luxury, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rache1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,918 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,416 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,029 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £117 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing