We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Howard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Howard
Ranked #12 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We have just spent an amazing weekend at The Howard and can't wait to go back. The bedroom was beautifully furnished and the roll top bath was a wonderful way to recover from all that retail therapy! The service was very unobtrusive and nothing was too much trouble. Check in was one of the most pleasant that I have experienced - so quick, you hardly noticed. I would definitely recommend The Howard as an antidote to large, anonymous hotels. It really does become a home from home very quickly and one that I can't wait to return to!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    122
    40
    29
    14
See reviews for
108
454
37
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We've just returned from four nights at the Howard and thought that the hotel was nice and different to most other five star hotels. It's situated about 10 minutes walk, up a fairly steep hill from Princes street and has valet parking. The parking is free, which is unusual for Edinburgh.

Our arrival and check in was performed very well, the staff were expecting us and had shortbread and champagne waiting for us. We were offered offered hot drinks and our luggage was dispatched quickly and efficiently. Our room was spacious and bright , as was our bathroom and was generally well kept. There were a few minor niggles, like the tv remote being a little tempramental, a forgotten wake up call and bedding and mattress protectors that were just too small for the very large bed but frankly the good more than outweighed the bad.

When you needed a drink or something to eat the staff were there very quickly indeed, always polite and corteous. Coffee and tea was brought to your room whenever it was required and is complimentry, although a real treat was to have breakfast served in our bedroom from a very extensive (and well cooked ) menu. Again this was done very nicely by friendly staff and always at the time that you'd requested and was included within the room rate. We felt that overall the Howard offered good value for money as quite a lot was included in the nightly rate, which other hotels charge extra for.

The Howard deserves to do well.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ytshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

The Howard Hotel was by far one of the classiest hotels we've stayed at worldwide and the best so far we've stayed at in the United Kingdom. I don't even know where to start.

We stayed in the Lauriston Suite which was very elaborately decorated without being too gawdy. The bed was a king size bed which was very comfortable. The living room area had a large couch and some chairs with a small television. This gave us plenty of space to unwind, have room service, unpack/pack, and served as a good reading area. The bathroom was tremendous and had a large clawfoot tub and seperate shower. The heated floors and towel rack were a godsend.

The butler service was incredible without being overbearing. They arranged reservations, served drinks, delivered room service, and even provided laundry/press service for our clothing. They also served afternoon tea in the drawing room which was a very nice touch with all of the finger sandwiches, pastries, and champange.

We also had breakfast and dinner at the The Atholl which is a small dining area/restaurant within The Howard. Breakfast was very good and provided us with all the energy we needed to walk around town . I recommend the Scottish Breakfast, Eggs and Smoked Salmon, or the Banana Crepe's. Dinner was also excellent and the wine list was extensive. The Beef Fillet and Lamb was incredible, as well as the potato dumpling appetizer. My wife and I also enjoyed a bottle of the Gevrey Burgundy....twice... :)

Overall our stay was incredible and the City of Edinburgh left a warm spot in our hearts for The Howard, City of Edinburgh, and it's people. The Scottish people were very friendly and very curious about America even though we have a lot in common and are a very young country compared to Scotland. This was by far one of our best overseas trips we've taken and The Howard was the cherry on top.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Captben31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We stayed at the Howard for three nights after a similar stay at Loch Lomond. We were expecting great things and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were well looked after by the friendly and efficient staff who parked our car and whisked our luggage up to the room, while we enjoyed tea and homemade shortbread in the elegant drawing room.
We had booked a junior suite which was stunning - four poster bed, comfortable sitting area, superb bathroom. We dined in all three nights. Unfortunately the menu only changes monthly but the chef did offer to prepare something specially for us if we wanted more choice over our stay. This was not necessary as we found the food delicious and quite varied enough. The breakfasts were outstanding, no buffet here. All freshly prepared and brought to your table. The dining room is quite small and guest numbers varied between just the two of us on our first night to slightly cramped for our last breakfast.
We felt the location was fine, an uphill walk of 5-10 mins to Princes Street but downhill on the way back! There are a number of small art galleries and cafes nearby and the Howard is situated in what appears to be a largely residential street. We felt like we were staying with friends in their lovely Georgian home.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFoodieBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrickfergus
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

just back from a great weekend at the Howard. This hotel is 5 star without a pool, gym etc but its easy to see where the stars come from. The hotel is the nicest i have ever stayed in and the room (suite actually - they upgraded us without out our even asking!) was out of this world. No tea/coffee making facilities in room - not to worry - just phone down and a butler will appear with freshly brewed pot (included in hotel price). Breakfast in your room - no problem and no extra charge. The staff in the hotel could not have been better - so friendly and they seemed to work very long hours but always willing to help and offer advice on what to do/where to go (hope they get well paid if the hotel owner reads this as they nearly make this a 6 star hotel!) The hotel is located in the new town area of edinburgh so its a good 5/10 minute walk to shopping areas and further to castle (we got a taxi to castle and its only about £5) but there are buses all the time too. its hard to fault this hotel but my only problem was the dinner. its very formal and only room for 14 or so in the dining room and i felt it was overpriced for what you got. second night we got a take away from a lovely little italian place just up the road which was fantastic and a fraction of the price. breakfast was very nice in the hotel and there was plenty to choose from. give this place a go.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandaferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2009

What a wonderful hotel. I traveled with my American partner who was in Scotland to do some fishing. He had, until this trip, an opinion that many small UK hotels were dark and uncomfortable. He is now this hotel's biggest fan....next to me.
The staff could not have been nicer and more accommodating; the room we had was superbly comfortable (great for recovering from jet lag); the bathroom was the nicest hotel bathroom I have ever been in (and I travel alot for work); the location was superb, and the overall service second to none. There was one dreadful guest who seemed hell bent on complaining about her light bulb in her room (!!) but the staff were magnificent in handling her - they certainly weren't treated well and I was impressed at their professionalism.
We plan on returning to this hotel and can't wait!! What a lovely place.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank britgirlinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

A superb small hotel, probably the best I have ever stayed in. Totally personal service, wonderful rooms, beautiful house. Butler service is just that, anything you want they can get for you (within reason) can't wait to go back. It feels like home almsot instatntly, and I want to go back and back and back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essbeepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,082 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#17 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing