We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, attentive service, good food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Howard

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Howard
Ranked #11 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, attentive service, good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

The butler service is attentive and friendly, but never obsequious. The superior room was vast, as was the very well appointed bathroom. The arm chairs were a little worn, but overall the decoration was excellent. The public rooms were comfortable, the dining room is small. We ate there on both nights of our stay, and found the evening meal to be of very high quality, with well sourced ingredients and good presentation. The hotel really expects guests to dine out in one of the many local restaurants, and therefore the menu only changes infrequently, so a third night might have been a bit repetitive. Breakfast was generous and there was a good choice, although we found the full fried breakfast a little disappointing, with less than inspiring sausage and black pudding (maybe our English tastes), however there was an excellent kipper on offer and very tasty scrambled egg with smoked salmon among the alternatives.
Overall we would consider this one of the best hotels in which we have stayed, and plan to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank odaglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    117
    38
    27
    14
See reviews for
99
433
36
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

I can really recommend Georgian gem The Howard in Edinburgh´s beautiful New Town for those who like small and personal hotels with free inclusions such as shoe polishing, your own choices for breakfast served to your room every morning, turndown service together with next day´s weather report and the breakfast menu for your free choice by next morning as well as coffee/tea delivered to you at any time of the day or night by butlers.

October is a also a great month to get a good deal as well at the hotel. When I visited Edinburgh by my own last year I stayed in the smallest room, Abercromby, but with all the above mentioned free inclusions and super service. This year I was travelling with friends and handled all the other´s reservations and was surprised by a very much appreciated upgrade to on the two Junior Suites, the Charlotte which almost turned my friends green with envy;-)

The only downside compared to last year was the room service food which wasn´t quite so good compared to last year. However might´ve been because I this time also splurged on the Taster menu at the Balmoral. Everything would fade in comparison with that.

Will upload lovely photos soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kungsholmen11222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

This hotel represents what hospitality is all about. From the moment we were greeted in the entrance, to the paying of the bill, we received intelligent and warm service from all the staff. Our bedroom was spacious and well presented, the dining of a high standard and the position of the hotel perfect for exploring the city while being able to return to a peaceful base. A rare find in a world of either bland or pretentious smaller hotels.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cirrus33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldwaverley, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Many,many thanks to this guest for such a wonderfull review. Their kind words have been passed onto the staff who woulld also like to express their gratitude. Service is at the very heart of everything we do at the Howard and it is gratifying to hear that this traveller enjoyed a very positive experience.
We look forward to welcoming them again soon!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Discreet , even the Car park is a surprising size right in the City Centre. We had an Afternoon Tea for our extended family and were delighted with the catering and the ambiance . Beautiful Georgian room . Happy to recommend .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nialls93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Superb. Attention to detail and world class service. The food was exquisit and the rooms were decadently luxurious. The butler service was tops. This hotel cannot do enough for you; gluten free bread, suits pressed, shoes polished, complimentary tea, restaurant reservations, beds turned down. Couldn't have been more relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrCraik-Collins74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

ive just spent a great great weekend in Edinburgh, i always research the hotel before
I stay, The Howard did not disapoint, the staff made you feel like you were the only people who mattered, I have to admit I was a little unsure about how I felt about a butler service, as im miss independent, but it turned out this is what makes it a 5 star, nothing was too much trouble, the room was large clean and in keeping with the building, the breakfast was just what you needed to start the day, about a five minute walk into the city centre, my only disapointment was having to leave and go back to reality, if someone said to me heres £300 either spend it on shoes or go back the howard, back to The Howard I go, and i never thought i would ever say that.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellerbrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

My wife and I are in the same camp as the reviewers who loved this hotel. We loved our stay there, and the staff made us feel completely looked after and at ease. There is nothing jumping out at you, nothing in your face, nothing to distract one from the pleasure of staying there. Some reviewers have commented that the decor isn't brand new anymore and it's true that you can hear a little street noise through the lovely old sash windows, but this is part of the character and charm of the place. The Howard is personal and it's special. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diddley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard

Property: The Howard
Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing