We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old town Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Edinburgh Old Town

Edinburgh Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.06*
and up
Old Edinburgh 2-Hour Guided Tour
Ranked #5 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Edinburgh's oldest neighborhood, dating back to medieval times: these small streets are lined with wool shops, pubs and historical monuments.
san diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“old town Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Charming, medieval capital city with lots of fascinating history. Be sure to take a bus tour to learn a lot more than you can figure out on their own.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jdferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,014
    2,495
    262
    30
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean & Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

I read the negative reviews before I visited. It's a tourist destination. Of course there was a commercial element. My friend and I had a wonderful time. The architecture was stunning. There were many shops, restaurants, and sites WELL worth seeing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
280 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Old Town is Forever Young”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We walked all over Edinburgh's Old Town on our arrival yesterday, savoring the sights and sounds and smells, the shops and people, the old buildings with wondrous shapes and surrounding statues, gardens and outdoor sculptures, and the constant stream of bag-piping wafting over the street sounds. These were our first impressions of Old Town. We were fascinated by the different points of view created by the layers and levels of the streets, two and three levels at a time in some places. We walked on streets and walkways of bricks and cobblestones everywhere. From many vantage points of viewing, old churches, museums, hotels, castles and even a prison stood out. We immediately fell in love with this spirit of Edinburgh. Contrasting this with the streets and neighborhoods and districts of London, we found Edinburgh to br vastly more pleasing, compex, sinuous and appealing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank aresverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old and busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

The tattoo and festival on in August so the old town is busy . But it gives the area a really buzz. We stayed in the old town area so we walked a lot but its worth the effort . So many little gems hiding around each corner. Found a lane with view of the Castle just a classic photo.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Paradise lost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Nice structure, atmosphere with a touch of old times sake simple but glamorous with it's own identity traveling you to a different world and that is what makes Edinburgh so special!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myrpa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Old Town also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing