We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

A lovely property even if it is undergoing some renovations. Fully within walking distance of everything - Palace, Royal Mile, Main street, train station, art gallery.

A very comfortable room, with a nice bathroom -- shower and bath separated. Modelled after some of the Sheratons we had stayed with in the Pacific Northwest. Friendly professional service from the moment you enter the palacious reception area [ understand that it will be renovated in the next while]. Concierge and reception were excellent.

The club lounge was terrific and the young hostess was great. A nice way to start and end the day.

OUr room had been upgraded to one with a great view of the palace. Lovely at night! However it also has a down side if you sleep with the windows open..The many pubs empty in the early morning and are quite noisy... you may wish to sleep with the windows closed.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the palace and also a King bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamesfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,359 - 2,365 of 2,944 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed 3 nights, Aug 11. The hotel is being refurbished so the reception and concierge are in portacabins. It's a hassle getting to the rooms as you have to pass through the Spa and cross the bridge to get to the lifts. Rooms on 3rd floor really noisy coz builders are below. I'll stay at the Hilton next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnie_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The rooms are very nice by UK standards - the kind you find in an luxury hotels in Asia - very modern, comfortable and with a very efficient airconditioner. Lighting system takes a bit of getting used to. The bathrooms doors are not opaque so if you turn on the light it may wake the other person in the room. When I stayed the lobby is under renovation so had to go through a series of elevators and walkways to get to and from the room. Location is convenient to the the concert hall next door for Edinburgh Festival events. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Couple of minus points: The restaurant seemed a bit pricey so didn't eat there. Wish they gave free wifi in rooms. The current upgrading means you don't have much of a lobby but this is temporary. When this upgrade is over things will be great.
Overall: Probably the best modern choice in town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Although the hotel had just initiated a renovation, the staff was well trained, extremely courteous, and helpful. The rooms were beautiful, modern, clean and efficient. The Italian restaurant in the hotel was terrific...the food and servicewas great, and the prices were very reasonable. The hotel staff was better than any I have encountered...anywhere. Without a doubt, this is the very best Starwoods Hotel I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jspbzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We took a small break to come through from Glasgow and despite initial reaction to the renovations, the staff won us over. The Italian bar was nice and the reception staff were always willing to help. Restaurant recommendations were good and throwing caution to the wind, we wondered if we might be able to get some Tattoo tickets for the show at the Castle and the Concierge managed this somehow. All in all a great break......

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VandMPeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Guest
It gives me great pleasure to read your review, I am delighted that my colleagues took great care of you and ensured that you made the most of your time in Edinburgh, and even managed to get Tattoo tickets. I have shared your comments with them and this will encourage them to maintain the high levels of service that they give to all of our guests.
Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh in the very near future.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We come over frequently in August for the festival and have stayed the last few times at the Sheraton. This year the hotel is at the end of an extensive renovation that made the guest rooms even more beautiful and functional. The only real hint of a renovation in the hotel is the need to make a few detours while construction is completed on the new convention centre outside the hotel and while the entrances to the hotel are upgraded. However, the services within the hotel are fully in place and there is no noise evident anywhere. The breakfasts in the hotel restaurant are outstanding with a broad range of buffet items supplemented at request from the menu. The fitness center is well-equipped and well-staffed and the spa services provide every service and luxury. But, the thing that you will notice constantly is the availability of staff and their willingness to extend themselves to ensure that your stay is perfect. From the manager on down to the spa attendants, the staff are warm and friendly and helpful. It was a great visit and the location of the Sheraton, especially if you are attending events at the Traverse Theatre or at the castle, is unparalleled. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David1946109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments so quickly onto Trip Advisor. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa. I am also glad that you were able to take some time out of your schedule to relax at One Spa. I have already shared your comments with my colleagues here who are also delighted with that you enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Edinburgh in the very near future.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Got a good deal to stay here for 2 nights and wasn't disappointed, great location and car parking in the muti story right in the centre of town. The hotel is very nice, quite traditional but the rooms look like they have been recently refurbished to a 5 star standard and are very plush with modern furnishings and fittings (they even have mood lighting). Spa was very impressive although you have to pay extra to use all the facilities. Expensive place but worth it as you are in the heart of edinburgh and staying in one of the best hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for the Trip Advisor comments that I was delighted to share with my colleagues here at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa.
I am pleased that you liked our recently refurbished bedrooms and that you found time to relax at One Spa.
Thank you once again hopefully we can welcome you back to stay with us when next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,956 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,049 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £135 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing