We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under Major Construction - wait a few months to try” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Under Major Construction - wait a few months to try”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Quite disappointing. The hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment and in all honestly should have closed its doors during the construction.

There is no lobby, instead it is just a trailer (yes a trailer albeit with nice carpets). To access your room you have to navigate a labyrinth of hallways and multiple lifts (3 separate lifts!). After an long day at the festivals I was annoyed to have to walk another 10-15 minutes in the hotel to get to my room. Yes, the rooms are very plush and well furnished and the beds are comfy, however, there were quite a few things that went awry that really are not acceptable for a place that charges over 350 pounds/night for a standard room.

For instance the phone in the room was busted, the sink facet was blocked, the maids would jam up the music when they clean adjacent rooms (annoying on a early Sunday morning). Even operating the lights requires a masters degree (I could make the bathroom appear blue or purple but couldn't get them to stay on). All in, really poor showing by a starwood property. Perhaps this will change when the construction ends, but for now avoid.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
3 Thank dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor although I was very sorry to read that that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you are aware from staying in the hotel, we completed a multi million pound, full bedroom refurbishment last year and I trust you found our new rooms of a very high standard. During that time we remained open with minimal disruption to guests and in our continued enhancement of the hotel, we are currently refurbishing all public areas of the hotel and have put similar measures in place to ensure the guest experience is maintained. Even although the public areas in the hotel are closed, we have created a temporary Reception and guests are still able to access the bedroom floors due to the unique set up of our property via the One Spa building, which is also the location of Santini Restaurant where food and drinks are served throughout the day. We have also put in place dedicated hosts to look after our guests during this period and direct them to the bedroom floors. We do appreciate there is some noise from the refurbishment however we have made every effort to keep this to a minimum and only during the day. The majority of our guests have been unaffected and are happy with their stay experience. My sincere apologies that you were not aware of the full extent of our renovation works as we have done our best to communicate this information. With regards to the other points you made, I have raised these with the department heads.

Thank you once again for your taking the time to share your comments and hope we can welcome you back when next in Edinburgh.

Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,643
    715
    190
    86
    41
See reviews for
342
1,273
104
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

What a wonderful stay we had! We had a beautiful club room with breathtaking views of the castle. The room itself was large and spotless. The shower was very relaxing, and I loved that the shower head was easily adjustable. Converters were built in near the desk in the room. The tea set with yummy biscuits was a nice touch. We slept great each night in the comfy bed and there was not a sound from surrounding rooms or hallways.
Even though the property is under renovation, staff is around to led you in the right direction. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.
The club lounge was very nice. They served a great breakfast presentation and delicious snacks in the evening and had a good variety of drinks available. Katie in the club lounge was a gem.
We spent some time in the pool and it was very nice and big.
The only con was the hairdryer that was attached to the desk in the room. Not so great when my travel companion was sleeping in.
I really loved my time here and would be thrilled to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte Carlo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Currently still at the hotel. We came in from Paris(driving from london) and wow are we happy we came here. Though the hotel is under construction it is incredibly quiet and you barely even notice. Rooms are very nice and very clean. View overlooking the castle is well worth it. The facilities are amongst the best I have ever seen and the gym here is the best I have ever seen at a hotel. Rebecca helped us check in and has been very helpful throughout our stay. She deserves a raise. Would definitely say here anytime we come back to edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very often when you arrive at a hotel that is undergoing refurbishments you can't help but feel disappointed... At the Sheraton however this feeling very quickly disapears as the staff go out of their way to make your feel welcome. Every effort is made to insure that your stay is as amazing as possible (despite the fact that they can't control the weather).

The hotel is perfectly situated to get quick access to the fringe festival while still being far away from the noise that you can retreat for a good night's sleep.

Life rearly goes acording to plan but at the Sheraton the staff make sure that despite the refurbishment, your stay is as wonderful as you would expect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mvanderspuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax ns
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Did not expect so much style at a Sheraton! I really enjoyed the uber-modern room (with five colours of bathroom lighting....for when your mood changes from indigo to orange...), and really innovative storage/use of space. Wonderful desk staff - chatty, helpful, like having an instant friend in a foreign city! Buffet breakfast was classy and comfortable. If you are staying here - make sure to get explicit instructions how to drive in! We were just driving into Edinburgh and circled around the hotel for what seemed like a lifetime in one way street hell, before we finally ditched the car and just walked there.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cnnHalifaxNs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time after your trip to share your comments about your stay with us whilst in Edinburgh. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our recently refurbished rooms. I have already passed on your comments to my colleagues at the Reception; they will also be pleased that their interaction with guests has such a positive impact. I’m sorry to read that you found it difficult to find us; the next time you visit us, call the hotel and we will be happy to guide you.
Thank you once again for this review, it is very much appreciated. I do hope we can welcome you back to Edinburgh and the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strontian
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We visit Edinburgh quite a lot and always enjoy a stay at the Sheraton but this time we were blown-away with their newly refurbished bedrooms.

We stayed in a castle view room which was quite simply stunning in every respect.
From the tasteful cleaver lighting to the beautiful bathroom fittings, the extremely comfortable and huge bed to the exceptional quality of the wooden fittings and furnishings. The well thought out use of glass and wood is contemporary and very stylish achieving a really modern classy look but warm and welcoming too.

We could not help noticing our porter who conveyed a palpable sense of pride for the newly appointed rooms when he delivered our luggage.

It is a stunning transformation which surpasses all we have experienced in Edinburgh or anywhere else for that matter.

Add to this a professional concierge service - Friendly, well trained staff who make you feel welcome and valued - Easy access and parking - Great little restaurant "Santini" which offers relaxed un-fussy and un-pretentious dining with an accomplished modern Italian menu and a great wine list. Not to mention the position of the Sheraton which is so perfect for shopping, theatre, sightseeing etc. I have yet to try the Spa but look forward to that next time!
Much additional work was being undertaken to re-vamp the dining room and reception areas as well. We can't wait to return to see the new developments.

Edinburgh is always a delight but The Sheraton is the icing on the cake - we have always liked it but now with these sumptuous new bedrooms, we love it!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

A lovely property even if it is undergoing some renovations. Fully within walking distance of everything - Palace, Royal Mile, Main street, train station, art gallery.

A very comfortable room, with a nice bathroom -- shower and bath separated. Modelled after some of the Sheratons we had stayed with in the Pacific Northwest. Friendly professional service from the moment you enter the palacious reception area [ understand that it will be renovated in the next while]. Concierge and reception were excellent.

The club lounge was terrific and the young hostess was great. A nice way to start and end the day.

OUr room had been upgraded to one with a great view of the palace. Lovely at night! However it also has a down side if you sleep with the windows open..The many pubs empty in the early morning and are quite noisy... you may wish to sleep with the windows closed.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the palace and also a King bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flamesfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing