We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Very comfortable, pleasant hotel. Rooms are much more modern than I expected, and very nice. The executive lounge is good, serving both breakfast and pre-dinner drinks. Stylish design. Great location, not too noisy and only a short walk to Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack_Islington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,399 - 2,405 of 3,000 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Avoid just for now - refurbishment underway. Reception is an ugly portakabin in the car park. Trip to bedroom is an odyssey of two elevators, a trip alongside the spa, a bridge with a shiny wooden sloping floor hard to navigate in heels, and two or three more corridors. It takes ages. The porters said they couldn't even get their trolley on the journey and had to do multiple trips on foot. Try to get out to the Festival Square after which the hotel is addressed - and you can add more stairs, and a passage, which at night is slightly dark and foreboding. This would all be a challenge for anyone with a disability. The staff are universally in denial about the issues (a perplexing 'what are you talking about ?' attitude) but every guest I met shared the view that this was a significant disruption. And for Sheraton to be charging full high season prices when providing a less than full service is clearly not brand-enhancing. Have stayed here loads of times and when it's working well it's great - but avoid for the moment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We really liked this hotel. As travellers from th US we never expect too much from Sheratons but this place was a truly great city hotel. Fabulous room, friendly staff, great location. We only wish we could have stayed a few more days. Should we return to Edinburgh we will definitely stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Guest
I hope you had a safe and pleasant trip home, thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with others, I truly appreciate this. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in our recently refurbished rooms. I hope that it won’t be too long before you come back to Edinburgh, where a very warm welcome awaits you.
Kind regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Apart from the refurbishing going on in the common parts of the hotel, this hotel is definitely a good choice if you appreciate quiet and comfort and yet like to be close to the center. The rooms are spacious, very clean and offer great comfort. There is no noice and the bed was simply fantastic ! Breakfast buffet was ok, traditional for the large American hotels. Staff is friendly and helpful. As said, the hotel is at a 10 minutes walk from the Castle, so very good for visiting the centre. We would certainly go back there !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller123Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear Guest
Many thanks for posting your comments with Trip Advisor. I am deilghted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree, that our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds that we have in every room are very comfortable. I do hope we can welcome you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Kind regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My wife and I have stayed here on two ocassions for the Edinburgh Festival and really love this hotel, The staff are extremely attentive and suites on the 7th floor are truly magnificant with great views of the castle. The whole place has a homely feel that you would not usually find in other large hotels. The buffet style restaurant offers a good variety of cusine and is ideal if you are on the go with much to pack in. Afternoon tea is not be missed and is worth booking as also popular with non-residents.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay last year. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us when next in Edinburgh.
Kind regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed for 1 night during the Edinburgh Festival. The hotel rooms are just lovely, and the SPA is the ultimate chill out, loved the infinity pool on the roof!. Shops restaurants etc right on your door step. In my opinion one of the best hotels in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time after your recent trip to Edinburgh to share your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that you found time to relax at One Spa. Thank you once again for these comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh and the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The Sheraton Grand Hotel and Spa offers a first rate staff and amenities. Great central location, amazing gym facilities, and exceptional service! I stayed at the hotel off and on for an extended period, and the kind and courteous staff made the difference. Although the hotel is undergoing renovations, the staff has adapted and made navigating the renovations as pleasant as possible.

Everything that the hotel offers is top notch. From the guest rooms, club lounge, gym and spa, to dining options, I was always a satisfied customer. I can’t fathom the genesis for the negative reviews that I skimmed and I can only imagine a Castle Room wasn’t available.

I will most assuredly be a return guest and recommend the property to my colleagues, friends, and family. Given the niceties available in the rooms, I am quite sure when the renovations complete, the Sheraton Grand will be the premiere hotel in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Go for a castle room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with everyone which I have passed onto all my colleagues here who will take great pleasure in hearing them. I personally am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us very much look forward to welcoming you back when next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,898 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,038 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,088 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £145 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing