We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, comfortable but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location, comfortable but small rooms”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Sheraton, Edinburgh is pretty much what you would expect from this SPG brand in it's most sought after city centres. The location is central within easy walking distance of the tourist sites, business, bars and restaurants. We were given a Club level room which felt surprisingly small. Good decor, newly refurbished, funky bathroom (albeit it felt like the room was 'wrapped around' the bathroom area).

The current construction work makes for a surprising arrival at the temporary reception, and the route to the hotel rooms was fairly convoluted, but staff were friendly and helpful, so this wasn't a problem.

I'd stay again for business, for leisure (as this trip was) I'd probably go for the Balmoral or Scotsman.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiar0scuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,749
    753
    199
    89
    44
See reviews for
373
1,347
113
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Sheraton is undergoing extensive refurbishment of the public areas but they still manage to offer great service. We had a lovely stay in a Club room, with use of the spa.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife booked this Hotel for my birthday, she booked a Club Suite and we were shown to a Classic Suite in error, this was soon sorted out and we got a Castle Suite with a lovely view.
We stayed for 3 nights as the hotel was doing an offer 3 nights for the price of two. Our suite was excellent, huge and spotlessly clean. A lovely bedroom with a king size bed, tv etc. a roomy lounge with sofa, chairs. tv dining table and chairs. Tea, coffee and biscuits, also mineral waters daily, and a lovely box of chocolates. The bathroom was superb. seperate bath and shower, toiletries, etc. Enjoyed the facilities of the Club lounge, breakfast excellent and drinks at night. Spa was very good too. Would go back any time, loved it. Staff all very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Club Room, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JORGE848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Through travelling for work, I've been lucky to stay at a couple of Sheraton hotels. This one is no different in that it is of high quality.

The staff were friendly, rooms were large and clean and breakfast/room service was good.

Location is reasonably central and you're about a 10/15 minute walk from the main sightseeing bits.

Didn't use the spa so can't comment on that but very good and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamthephantom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

What a lovely hotel with fantastic staff. The renovations had no impact on our stay at all so don't be totally put off by these other reviews. Paid £75 extra to upgrade room to club class, well worth it as this gave us both free acess to thermal spa (saving £60) free breakfast (saving £34) and free canapes, snacks and drinks(hot and alcoholic) in the club lounge which were deliciously tasty. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was a bother, suitcases just appeared in the right places and the spa was a fantastic relaxing treat.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a chill out weekend. My only negative comment would be there are no views, but in damp January that really wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: Club rooms on 7th floor well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamacaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed for one night with a girlfriend to use the spa facilities.

The spa was FANTASTIC!

The hotel though was very disappointing. We were not told about the extensive refurbishment works they are undergoing, it made getting from our room to the spa / outside / restaurant very time-consuming & inconvenient. The reception area felt like a building site.

On the plus side we were upgraded to a castle-view room with spectacular views of Edinburgh Castle. On the negative side, we were put in an adjoining room with the only other couple in the entire hotel (WHY??) and they blasted their TV until the early hours despite various calls to the front desk.

Breakfast buffet was delicious, and as I said before the spa facilities are amazing. Huge swimming pool, outside infinity pool, two saunas and at least 4 steam rooms with different themes to each.

Hotel reception staff were unbelievably friendly, making up for some of the issues about the appearance of the hotel.

Great location, excellent sized rooms. Beds are very comfortable.

Room Tip: make sure you dont get an adjoining room ask for a castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolecostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This will be a really nice hotel. When they're finished.
At the moment, it is confusing, noisy, untidy and disorganised. Nothing feels finished, there are noises all night, you walk a long way to get to your room. Because the restaurant is closed, the breakfast is a limited menu and disappointing.
Saying that, the staff are really nice & friendly, and the room is really well finished, with some lovely touches. Unfortunately, placing a hotel of this standard in the middle of a building site and expecting it to keep up performance is always going to end up being a failure.
When finished, I expect the Sheraton will be superb; but until then, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPhillips76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,123 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing