We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A winner in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A winner in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Recently refurbished rooms are great for business or pleasure staff . Fantastic looking and comfortable hotel throughout .

Tip top staff with great little attention to detail that is often missed in the big chains .

The One spa is in a league of its own , must be the best in Scotland .Beautiful ambience facilities and treatment .It seems very popular with hen weekends so best avoided then if you want the real tranquility this place can offer .

Greatly enjoyed a night here recently ,cant recommend it enough .

Room Tip: Club rooms worth considering due spa access and lounge usage for evening drinks and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 320man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club rooms and made use of the facilities on offer (access to One Spa Thermal Suite and our Club Lounge).
Thank you once again and we hope it's not too long before we can welcome you back.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,644
    715
    191
    87
    41
See reviews for
342
1,273
106
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed at the sheraton and the rooms are much improved on the old rooms however i felt it was a sort of cheap makeover. I could everyone walking along the corridor the doors were very poor at soundproofing indeed.

Breakfast I thought was adequate at best, don't get me wrong it was ok compared to a Hilton but for the price I would have expected better.

Overall I would stay here only if i couldn't get into the Balmoral which is still the best hotel in Edinburgh by a very long way

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJB1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us recently. I am sorry to read that you were not impressed by our refurbishment and have shared your comments with my colleagues. Thank you once again and hope we can welcome you back when next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Immaculate rooms and great common area ambiance. Concierge helpful. Spa was nearing completion - hopefully access will be more obvious/easy. The location is great - a 10 minute (uphill) walk to the castle and famous mile. A definite high recommendation for both business and personal travel. Interesting contrast in it's modernity vs. the city as a whole.

Room Tip: I had a small but very comfortable room right next to elevator bank which made me nervous about nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa when next in Edinburgh.
Best regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

The Shearton Grand in Edinburgh is one of the nicest "chain" hotels in the city. The food and restaurants are good, there is parking (although at extra cost) and I've yet to have slept in anything other than a lovely room

My only criticism is that it had far more charm before they recently revamped its interiror and I don't enjoy going there for just a drink or lunch anymore as the atmosphere has been lost.

Having said that, for business people and functions this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathousefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent visit to the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington,Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel is in a very good location, and it has obviously recently been renovated, giving it a terrific ambience, in the "modern, trendy" category. The staff was very helpful. We found it an excellent value, and would stay here again without hesitation. (We were on the "Starwoods" floor, which is their loyalty program, so strictly speaking I don't know if the decor and service would be exactly the same in the rest of the hotel, but I have no reason to doubt it.)

While we were there, Edinburgh had a brief but torrential downpour, and the hotel roof or drainage system failed. Water poured into the commmon areas downstairs. This was hardly anything they could have planned on, but they dealt with the situation with energy, imagination, and good cheer.

Room Tip: we were on the "SPG" floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review after your stay with us recently. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and like our recently refurbished rooms and public areas.

I am sorry that you witnessed the flood that we had due to the torrential rain we have all been experiencing however I am pleased that you commented that something that could have spiralled out of control was dealt with professionally and efficiently with the team here. I will certainly share your kind words with them.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

A superb business hotel. I was there for a meeting/convention and it was very well run and the hotel was perfect. A superb spa (hey I love them even though they are pricey) and a real haven. As a female traveller this hotel feels very welcoming - not too masculine. I hadnt stayed here for a number of years but it is still a very good hotel in a great location opposite the castle.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us recently. I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back in the very near future.
Thank you once again.
Kind regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen Soctland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Excellent location in Edinburgh.when we arrived the reception staff were excellent and our car was quickly parked for us .the allocated rooms for both parties were excellent spotlessly clean,with plenty of towels,slippers and bath robes were provided.
We ate in the dinning room and four of our party were delighted with there choice from the menu but I was disappointed with the lamb I ordered,not the quality but the size of the portion.our guests all laughed and thought it was just as well I was on a diet.It did not put us off as we ate there the following evening.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.I should add that one of the rooms were not available due to a late check out from the previous guests and the reception staff could not have been more helpful showing us to the lounge and providing us with free refresmonts and we were only waiting a few minutes before the room was available.

Room Tip: Both the rooms were excellent and of a very high standard and both locations were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyAberdeenSoctland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review of your stay with us recently. I am truly delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and received the high levels of service that we pride ourselves on delivering.
I hope that it won't be too long before we can welcome you and your family and friends back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing