We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel poor breakfast”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel has been beautifully refurbished and is situated very close to Princess Street. The only adverse comment I have to make is about the breakfast. For a hotel of this standing and charges - not cheap - to have to make your own toast and scramble about to get your breakfast is poor. The food was good but the service was not.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mod68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear mod68
Thank youfor your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay, however disappointed that you did not have a good experience at breakfast. I have passed your comments onto our Executive Chef and his team for review.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,730
    743
    198
    88
    43
See reviews for
363
1,333
112
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Really enjoyed our two stays here -- at the beginning and end of our trip. It is in a very convenient location to explore all parts of the City. Our rooms were comfortable and quiet. Our only complaint was WiFi access was not included and was ridiculously expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for Castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Wanted to experience the restaurant after the recent refurbishment and hoped for so much more. The menu is quite pricey and the truffled eggs benedict had no discernable truffle in them at all, there was not even the distinctive smell. As I was with friends I did not want to cause a fuss. The egg was also underdone which is a health issue.
Staff training needs to be done,nobody enjoys being talked down to.
Friend had the lime posset and the presentation of that was lovely, really unusual.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here on the weekend of 17/9 for 2 nights, we arrived at the hotel around 11.15pm, when the car dropped us off there was nobody to help with luggage, the check in was smooth enough, and the duty manager passed on all the information required. We booked a castle view room, and the room was modern, with a nice bathroom, the mood lighting, and bathroom lighting are a nice touch. The shower however lacked pressure, and the tv is over complicated.
On the second night we ate in the hotel restaurant, and I personally was disappointed. The service was good, but the choice of menu is limited, and differs fom the one in the room! Scotland is home to some of the best sea food, yet there was very few of these options available. My partner can recommend the cocktails though. I found the fact that the entrance to the hotel which runs right through the heart of the restaurant a very poor design, as when your dining there is constant foot fall walking past your table.
Checking out was simple enough, but this may be that we did not charge anything to the room.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank neil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timperley
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I have stayed here five or six times when she comes up in on business and it never disappoints.Modern rooms with clean lines and the bathroom 'within' the bedroom add a difference not found elsewhere.The buffet breakfats is pricey but of a good standard and the late night bar very welcoming.
With attentive staff and central location,the Shearton is always our first choice when staying in Edinburgh

Room Tip: Castle view rooms have the best view but the noise from the square can be heard.Go for a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordofwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear lordofwaz

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us of your recent stay. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcomng you and your wife back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Best regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 6 days while I attended a conference at the conference center that is only a couple of blocks away. The Grand Sheraton is very convenient. The Castle and all the other tourist spots are within easy walking distance. The hotel fronts on Festival Square. We had a "Castle view" room. The castle view rooms also face on Festival square. While we were there the paraolympics was being shown on the giant screen tv in Festival Square. One night there was also a classical music concert in the square (associated with the end of the paraolympics). Initially, I wondered if facing festival square would result in noise problems. However--no problem at all. The windows are well sealed and noise resistant. Our room was on the Club floor. The service on the club floor was impeccable. Several times during the week we were in the room when the maid service came to clean the room, when asked to come back at a specific time they were very accommodating and returned exactly when asked. The Club lounge was staffed by very pleasant, outgoing staff who were very helpful. The hors d'oeuvres provided in the lounge in the evening were very good---not appropriate for a full dinner, but wonderful for an appetizer and drink before going out for dinner. The "continental" breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: Our room was a Castle View room on the Club level. The view of the Castle was very nice. The servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear John H
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and made use of the Club Lounge. I will certainly share your comments with the team here, especially those in the Club Lounge, as your words will indeed serve as encouragement to them to maintain the high levels of service you enjoyed.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.
Kind regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lundin Links, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our room had, infront of what we took to be the dressing table, an office chair with 5 wheels sitting upon a hardwood (or maybe plastic) floor. When attempting to sit on the chair it shot accross the floor from under me. I fell on my back and hit my head on the wall. Apart from a large "egg" on my head I am OK but feel obliged to tell other elderly ladies like me to be aware of such a highly unsuitable bedroom chair

Room Tip: no swivel chair in bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorothyjaniepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank for posting your review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear of your incident in the room with the chair, and I hope you have made a full recovery. I have noted this on your profile as we would be happy to provide a different chair if you return for a future visit. I hope it did not spoil your trip as I am aware it was a special occasion.

Thank you once again and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards

JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,823 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing