We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,059)
Filter reviews
3,059 results
Traveller rating
1,894
807
215
91
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,894
807
215
91
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungemood lightingcastle viewrooftop poolthermal suitesquare restaurantlighting systemusher halledinburgh castlemodern hotelhotel barprinces streetfantastic hotelroyal milespghydropoolconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,128 - 2,133 of 3,059 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We were visiting Edinburgh for a wedding and enquired if the hotel had any deals, and were delighted to be told 3 nights for the price of 2. Booked and decided to upgrade to Club rooms for additional £75 per night and really happy that we upgraded. Club Level allows you to use the Hydrotherapy Pool on the roof of the building and the various steam rooms and saunas that were available. Normal charge for visitors should be £30, but included in Club Class Room Rate. You also get free WIFI and 20% off the restaurant food bill. Lastly from 17:30 till 19:30 each night there are complimentary drinks and nibbles available. The hors d'oeuvres provided in the lounge in the evening were very good---not appropriate for a full dinner, but wonderful for an appetizer and drink before going out for dinner.
The staff in the Club Lounge are really very good and extremely helpful and most of all very friendly. This is one of the reasons that we stayed in this hotel as we stayed earlier in the year and found the staff were of the highest quality and the most friendly staff we have met in any hotel that we have visited and we are really happy that on this follow up visit the same still applies.
The "continental" breakfast was also very good, we were advised that if we wanted we could eat full Scottish Breakfast downstairs for an additional charge of £3, but the continental choice was so good that we did not see the need for full breakfast. On the Saturday there was bacon rolls available and on the Sunday Lorne sausage Rolls available.
We ate in the Restaurant on the Saturday night and the food was really very good.

This is an excellent hotel to stay in, well worth the money and ideally situated for the tourist sites of the city

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrandPoohbaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The Gran Spa was a delightful experience. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff from housekeeping to check in were very professional. The Concierge went out of the way to make our trip a success. Arranging tour tickets, taxis and generally informing us about everything to see and experience in Edinburgh.

This hotel has been upgraded recently and has many tech features that make it enjoyable. And it is ecologically friendly with hall lights that dim completely until someone enters the hallway. The lighting in the rooms is interesting too with very subtle night lights and lighting features that make the visit even more enjoyable.

The food options in Edinburgh are exceptional. While we love eating at pubs, we found that a conglomerate of some sort had bought up many pubs in the UK recently and now the food we had was good, but cookie cutter which was disappointing.

However one meal was simply fantastic. You must dine at the Dome on George Street. It was the most beautiful restaurant we've ever experienced. The building was a 19th century bank and the greatest feature besides the outstanding food was the dome which is majestic.

So the Sheraton Gran Spa is a winner, but so is the city of Edinburgh! Lots to see and do and friendly hotel staff that want to do whatever they can to help you along the way.

Thank you Sheraton staff!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room with a view of the Castle... and then make sure you visit it!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigduke1835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This hotel has recently been updated. The rooms are modern and clean. Request the club floor if you can as you get breakfast every morning and drinks & snacks every evening. The hotel is centrally located and in walking distance to the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the club floor. You pay a little more but it's worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellinman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here last weekend.
Hotel has just been refurbished and its stunning!.
Reception area very modern and stylish, rooms first class with mood lit bathroom.
Most comfortable bed i have ever slept in.
Had lunch in the bar which was lovely. Staff very helpful and pleasant.
Breakfast also very nice. Did not use the spa (never had time).
Good location for Princes Street and all the Edinburgh attractions.
Got WiFi in the room no problem.

Would return and definitely recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel has been beautifully refurbished and is situated very close to Princess Street. The only adverse comment I have to make is about the breakfast. For a hotel of this standing and charges - not cheap - to have to make your own toast and scramble about to get your breakfast is poor. The food was good but the service was not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mod68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear mod68
Thank youfor your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay, however disappointed that you did not have a good experience at breakfast. I have passed your comments onto our Executive Chef and his team for review.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews