We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

Hubby booked 3 nights here for my 40th birthday. Everybody here is amazing and very friendly and helpful. Brilliant location to explore Edinburgh. Definitely come back again. The spa is very relaxing and tranquil and there are a wide variety of treatments to choose from. We upgraded to a castle view cloud room and were not disappointed at all.

Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,025 - 2,031 of 2,975 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed here recently for a weekend, the room was nice although not very big (just a classic room), otherwise the hotel wasn't particularly remarkable except for the excellent spa.
We had to pay for the spa but it was still substantially cheaper than for non-residents. Normally I would not have paid the extra but my girlfriend persuaded me and I had no regrets! Lots of different saunas and an outside hot tub / hydro pool on the roof.
The hotel is located within walking distance of the main shopping areas in Edinburgh.
I paid using cash and points which I felt was decent value, however I would not have been happy to pay the cash price I saw for the room. Also I was annoyed I didn't receive an upgrade as a Starwood Gold card holder.
Perhaps paying a bit extra to get lounge access would be better value if the room is also bigger. This also includes spa access so you can recoup some money that way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here for one night and had a lovely time. We had the classic room which I assumed would be small to average size......it wasn't! It was big, lots of space and a gorgeous bedroom area. I can understand other people's comments regarding bathroom privacy, yes there are doors to the bathroom and toilet, but they're not particularly sound resistant! But the bathroom is lovely, the mood lighting is a bit confusing though.
Used the swimming pool and cleopatra baths. The swimming pool could have done with being just a few degrees warmer as it was freezing! Changing rooms were lovely and very clean.
Had drinks in the bar which is a lovely place to hang out with a good atmosphere, lots of options of seating and the bar staff were very friendly, one barman in particular (maybe Mart) made me a lovely non-alcoholic mixed drink, they were very accommodating.
Also had breakfast the next day although opted for the a la carte as the buffets were extortionate £20 for a hot buffet! I know this appears to be a bit of the norm however it is disappointing if you're not there on business and having to pay for yourself! Having said that the food we did have was gorgeous and again the service was very good.
Some reviews are misleading in terms of distance from Princes Street, it's under a 5 minute walk to the top of Princes Street (by house of fraser) and there are other restaurants and bars within minutes. Good location.
Would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hateleavinlasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Having stopped their a number of times over recent weeks, the Sheraton is now my new favourite in Edinburgh. The rooms are generally very good, quite funky, nice beds, facilities and bathrooms.

Only complaint would be the current dining room is very small as they suffered a flood in the previously refurbished dining area.

Otherwise I would recommend staying here...

Room Tip: Ask for a king room and although a castle view is nice, these can be a bit noisy if on a lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Sheraton Grand has had a refurb of about 22 million pounds and it has totally improved the look and feel of the hotel. It is now modern and classy, yet with understated Scottish tones in their decor. The rooms looking out to the Usher Hall and Edinburgh Castle are just stunning.
The bar is very much a buzzing meeting point now and features a Gin Bar (much to my delight) Prices were what you would expect in Edinburgh but certainly not over the top for a 5* hotel.
Princes Street is in walking distance so if you are looking for a superb modern hotel in an excellent city centre location, then the Sheraton is a very good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

From the excellent check-in and the wonderful customer service throughout our stay I would recommend this to anybody looking to relax in Edinburgh. The Spa is absolutely wonderful, a real pleasure to experience, our afternoon was one of the nicest we have enjoyed for ages. The restaurant was another treat for foodies, our Canadian waitress was very attentive and recommended the Fillet Steaks, absolutely great.

Room Tip: splash out and enjoy a club room or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Room very small, phone kept making a strangle bleeping noise all night and there appears to be a door short in the bathroom. Room service average...didn't bother with breakfast at a steep GBP 17 per person. There are better hotels than this for the money

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am very disappointed that you had such a bad experience and can only apologise for this. I have raised this with the teams involved here to ensure that this does not happen again.
Thank you again for bringing this unfortunate incident to our attention and I do hope you will reconsider and we can welcome you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,004 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £118 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing