We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“once again a fantastic luxury weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
east ayrshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“once again a fantastic luxury weekend break”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

my partner and I went away for the weekend to spend quality time together...quality was the key word. At the welcome desk the reception staff couldn't do enough for us and we were taken to our room by a member of the team. the reception lobby has been renovated since the last time, and although I have to say I loved the big staircase from the previous deco r, this was absolutely gorgeous.as it was two weeks before Christmas, there were scenes made out of gingerbread which looked brilliant. On the Saturday we went into the bar and had cocktails which were delicious before heading up to the club lounge for drinks and canapes. The service in there was second to none as usual and we were made to feel like royalty. the hotel is central to all emenities and has a very welcoming atmosphere throughout the hotel and bar. I have never slept in such a comfortable bed, it was like leeping on air. Breakfast in the club room was brilliant and tea and coffee with shortbread/mince pies were available all day...amazing. I would definitely recommend this hotel it is the ultimate in luxury.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanyrowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,685
    725
    196
    88
    42
See reviews for
352
1,305
107
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Checked in for a long weekend and loved it. We had a great room with a lovely view towards the castle, and Princes St was just a short work away. There was good sevice, with many complementary services provided, and a nice atmosphere around the hotel and bar. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panorama, Greece
Level Contributor
193 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

we spent 3 nights in this wonderful hotel .
the hotel is located close to everything.check-in was very professional and extremelly friendly and welcoming.the front desk employers were smiling and trying from the first moment to feel like home-a simple thank you for them is not enough-.
the lobby was extra modern and had nice corners to sit and relax.the restaurant and bar very trendy yet cosy.our room on the spg floor was very nice.it had everything the modern technology has to offer plus the different light moods you could choose it was wonderful-a unique feature-.
the bathroom had mood lightning and it was a bliss while having a shower under blue or green or red light!it was like you had your own spa lighting in your room.in fact we liked it so much that we are in the process of making somewhat like that the lighting in our bathroom at home!
there was complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and in general everything you could ask for(bathrobes, slippers, nice bathroom amenities, mini bar,large lcd t.v etc).
the spa was nice a bit like a luxurious gym and not so on the spa side in terms of decoration etc but still it was clean and large.
service was very efficient.information from the front desk was very accurate and helpful.
check-out was as good as the check-in.
i would like personally to congratulate all of the staff .they made our stay in this wonderful hotel even better.
if again in edinburgh our home away from home will be the sheraton grand hotel & spa.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alex12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Guest
Wow - thank you sincerely for this superb five star review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that your expectations were met, and equally delighted at the comments regarding my colleagues that I have shared with them as it is only through constructive feedback from our guests we are able to maintain the highest of standards.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Amazing experience
Have just spent two nights in this wonderful hotel. The room was clean and luxurious and the facilities top quality. The spa and gym were fantastic . Loved the rooftop pool and the hydropool. The gyms facilities and space were excellent. Staff very friendly and accommodating. The tretments were the best we have ever had and felt truly nurtured. This hotel was luxurious without being pretentious. Saving up to return! Oh and the cooked breakfasts should not be missed!
Rea

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed here at Christmas with adult family. Excellent all round .Staff delightful,food fantastic,location walking distance to Princess Street, Castle, Theatre,Our stay was so good we have booked already for next Christmas only this time upgraded to Club room and looking forward to the experience. Can't wait for next visit Thank you!

Room Tip: Upgrade to club room with view if pennies allow although we thoroughly enjoyed our visit with standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for this fantastic review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you have already made your reservation for next year and very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes to you and your family for 2013.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
speyside
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We took a club room again for a break as you get the spa included in the price as well as the executive lounge. The spa is soooo relaxing and well worth a visit. It is not cheap but the relaxation my husband gets in one night away here you need days to achieve on a holiday abroad! We found dinner in the restaurant well worth it and you get a discount if you are a starwood member.
Staff friendly helpful and all in all a superb experience.We plan to do this every few months. Its a cut above other hotels in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Club rooms facing the castle are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essySpeyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time once again to review your stay with us. I am pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and found time to relax and unwind at One Spa, a must after a busy day sightseeing and shopping!
Thank you once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you both back soon.
Warm regards
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed here over the new Year period in a Club room which gave us access to the spa. From the moment we arrived the experience was amazing. After a lengthy drive we arrived at 11.15am hoping to be able to leave the car at the hotel so that we could go into the city and then return to check in later in the day. However, not only were we able to park, we were also installed in our room by 11.30!
The room was of a very high standard and very comfortable. I suppose it was not as large as you might expect in a hotel of this calibre, but tthis was in no way an issue for us.
All members of staff we encountered were delightful, fully professional at all times whilst still retaining that friendliness which is so not always evident in 5* hotels.
We are planning to return later in the year and will book a spa room again as unfortunately we were so busy enjoying the Hogmanay festivities in the city that we didn't get much opportunity to make the most of the spa, apart from the pool, which was amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank max54Lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing