We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real class act”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real class act”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at The Sheraton for 3 days and everything was more than what I expected.the staff were very helpful and the room so comfortable I was hard pushed to get out of bed for breakfast which had a really good selection

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwizuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for this superb five star review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, I genuinely appreciate your very kind words and comments. I agree that our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds that are in all of our bedrooms are extremely comfortable, and glad that you enjoyed our Scottish breakfast buffet.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    729
    196
    88
    42
See reviews for
356
1,307
107
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

What a fantastic hotel! From the moment we arrived, 2 hours earlier than scheduled check in, we had amazing service. We were given rooms immediately even though they were not adjacent which did not bother us in the slightest as it mean we could drop luggage and freshen up before lunch. The facilities are incredible. You simply must take time out to indulge in the spa facilities which are first class. The outdoor spa is simply fantastic. The rooms are luxurious with mood lighting, and even the little things like ironing board and iron in each room make it so convenient. The attention to detail is awesome, and the staff could not be any more helpful. Would definitely stay again if we are ever visiting the lovely city of Edinburgh!

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are very similar, we stayed on the 6th floor which was superb, no noise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyDef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you sincerely for this fantastic five star review of your recent visit. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you recommending the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa as a place to stay when visiting Edinburgh.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Clean , modern and well equipped rooms with bathrobes, slippers, minibar,hairdrayer complementary tea and coffee, steam iron and of course the flat screen t.v. The staff are helpful polite informative and have the ability to make you feel special. We were greeted at the entrance where we were helped with our luggage, as we were checking in the receptionist quickly realised it was my husbands birthday & we immediately received an upgraded with a castle view and 2 completely drinks. This introduction was just the beginning of a gr8t 4 day stay.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Alice & Klaus
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for sharing with the Trip Advisor community. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to make it even more special when we found out it was a special occasion for your husband. I am sure you had an amazing time celebrating in our beautiful city.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were in Edinburgh for shopping and decided to give the Sheraton a go for lunch. It's been all re-furbed and does look splendid. The restaurant serves food all day, which suited our timetable but in the end we did actually call in during the lunchtime period. Unfortunately, not very good, food was cold-ish champagne (by the glass, was served without bubbles so guess the bottle was stale) and the staff were like zombies. All-in-all, a let down considering how much money has been lavished on the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, Food & Beverage Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback via Trip Advisor of your recent visit to One Square Restaurant. I am sorry to learn that you did not have a good experience and we did not live up to your expectations. It would be really helpful to us if you contact me directly at ross.clark@sheraton.com so I can investigate this further. Thank you once again for this feedback which is very much appreciated.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Best regards
Ross Clark
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed in the Sheraton Grand Hotel while on business in Edinburgh. The hotel has a great location, close to the castle and only a short walk away from many great restaurants, bars. Standard rooms are very small, but comfortable, modern and clean. There are many different colours you can lit on in the bathroom depending on your mood. Breakfast is good, I liked the selection of fresh fruit juices and smoothies.
Checking out peak time in the morning can be extremely slow. Surprisingly, there are only 2 counters operating in this large hotel. Make sure that you opt for the Express Check Out to avoid frustration.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmsdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, Executive Assistant Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you had an enjoyable time, however I am sorry to learn that the check out experience was not good. I will pass this onto our Front Office Manager for review, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you once again for chosing the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Andre Brose
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow<Scotland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Grand by name and grand by nature. This is one hotel my wife and I love to stay in. It has everything. Great food and a great pool and spa. The staff are all professional and friendly the rooms are clean large and very comfortable. We stayed on the 5th floor this time and had a view of Edinburgh Castle. fantastic.. We upgraded to the club lounge and that made the stay even better, fee access to the pool and spa as many times as you wanted. It was a wonderful experience and cant wait to go back in the near future. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel again.

Room Tip: Would recommend upgrade to club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you sincerely for your five star comments and your very kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were situated in a classic room on the fourth floor and it proved to be ideal. It was modern,spacious,comfortable and very clean. We checked in at 17:00 and the reception area was deserted so check in was speedy and efficient. Great location next to the castle. The only possible issues are: water pressure in the shower.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for this great review on Trip Advisor and glad to hear that you had a fantastic time here with us. I am sorry that you had issues with the water pressure, however I am happy to say that this has now been rectified.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Best regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing