We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I liked just about everything to do with my experience in this hotel. The service, from everyone, at all times, was excellent. It's uncommon to find uniformly excellent service across-the-board at a hotel, and I certainly did over the three days I spent there. The rooms are plush, very comfortable, quite spacious, and functional. The bathroom was big and very nice with the shower and bathtub, and "mood lights" that were a nice touch.

I was attending an event at the EICC, so very convenient in that regard - didn't have time for tourism, but seems to be generally well located as well (try the "Red Squirrel" pub close by).

While it is an expensive hotel, I wasn't "nickle-and-dimed" for small expenses that often happens in hotels - for example I wasn't charged for extra copies of a print-out I needed for a meeting, and when we hosted a meeting during breakfast, I didn't get charged for the coffee that some of the participants (besides me) had, even though they weren't staying in the hotel.

Well done, Sheraton, for an excellent, high-quality experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourismspecialist88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,624 - 1,630 of 2,892 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Very clean, good service, very good breakfast and room service, nice lighting system in the rooms, great shower and bath and big comfortable bed.
The location is also good. I would certainly reccomend it to everyone

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelenoforte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton Grand for two nights recently when attending an conference at the nearby Edinburgh International Conference Centre. The hotel is extremely well located for such events, being less than 5 mins walk from EICC.

The doorman and staff at Reception on arrival were welcoming and efficient. Our room, with a great view of the Castle, was clean, comfortable and modern. The bed was huge and gave a good night's sleep. The bathroom was functional but the shower could have been more powerful. However, it's high time that high-end chain hotels like this provided free wifi for their customers and for this, I'm deducting a star.

Breakfast could be taken from an a la carte menu or the breakfast buffet (£20pp for those on room only). The buffet offered a wide range of well prepared hot and cold dishes, with tea and coffee served direct to the table. An anomaly with the bill when we shared a table with other conference delegates was quickly sorted out.

The bar is pleasant and well-staffed.

Check out was as efficient as check-in and I would not hesitate to return on a future visit to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandsy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had a great stay and thank you for your very kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights at the Sheraton while in Edinburgh for business. The hotel is wonderful. The rooms were large and the ambiance reminded me more of a W than a Sheraton. Felt like I was in a higher end hotel.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. If you can try to get a room with a Castle view. Also, very much within walking distance of any tourist attractions. Extremely happy with my stay and I stay in many hotels.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Katieharbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The room was very nice, it was comfortable, clean and quiet. I got the impression that it had recently been refurbished. It had a bath and a separate shower, the shower had a large diameter shower head and the temperature was easy to control. The lighting in the room had different "moods", It seemed to be computer controlled and the bathroom was mostly multi-colour led strips and down lighters. The temperature of the room was difficult to control, it was supposed to be automatic and had a temperature display which didn't bear much resemblance to reality, either for the actual temperature of the room or the target temperature. Wi-fi was not free, it had to be paid for which for a hotel costing this much shouldn't be the case. I found the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. There was a pool which I used and a spa which was extra but worth it, it had an amazing hydopool on the roof in the open air with heated water with bubbles going through, very relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton Edinburgh on Sunday night, November 17, 2013. The hotel is well located, although a liitle far from the old town. The quality of the refurbished rooms is great, the service at the front desk very professional and the service in the restaurant and bar very pleasant. The quality of the food is a little disappointing. The food is traditional and heavy. Not very creative and healthy. When I have to be in Edinburgh again for business in the new town, then for sure I will stay at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at The Sheraton for 3 days and everything was more than what I expected.the staff were very helpful and the room so comfortable I was hard pushed to get out of bed for breakfast which had a really good selection

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwizuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for this superb five star review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, I genuinely appreciate your very kind words and comments. I agree that our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds that are in all of our bedrooms are extremely comfortable, and glad that you enjoyed our Scottish breakfast buffet.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,890 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £162 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing