We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern rooms - great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Modern rooms - great breakfast”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed in a lovely modern room equipped with mood lighting looking out onto the square in front of the hotel. Staff were polite and friendly. We paid extra to use the spa facilities and although very good they were very busy not quite making it feel as luxurious as it should. Stayed for a function that was run efficiently and the food excellent. Breakfast in the morning was a treat with a huge selection to choose from. Would definitely stay again. Location great for city centre attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamW00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for this great review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and managed to enjoy One Spa too.
I have passed on your very kind words to the team here and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,728
    742
    198
    88
    43
See reviews for
363
1,330
112
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had afternoon tea at the Sheraton on Jan 2nd, after the ERCU 127th Messiah at the Usher Hall. Nothing fazed the staff, not the size of the group changed from 5 to 8, not nut allergy, not one of the group disliking tea. The children were served first from their own menu. There were sample teas for us to make our choices, before ordering. The system for making the tea was one of the best I've seen. Strange, though that there was no Jasmine Tea. The food was excellent, especially the choice of scones. Four afternoon teas were plenty for six adults. The children's menu looked very good. The sight of the nut allergy sufferer enjoying his hot waffle with chocolate sauce and ice-cream made the considerable cost worth while. An experience to remember.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your Afternoon Tea experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time and we were able to accommodate your last minute changes and dietary requirements.
Thank you once again, I will take great delight in sharing your very kind words with our Executive Chef and his team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our birthdays over Hogmany and it was lovely. Room was nice and bed very comfy, and bathroom a bit snazzy with different lights.

Our shower drain was a bit smelly though which wasn't good, but they seemed to fix by the time we returned.

See my other reviews for restaurant suggestions :-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna3467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed over the New Years period. We had a classic room that was nicely furnished. Had breakfast both mornings in the Square 1 restaurant which was very good. The staff in the hotel and the restaurant were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located for the castle and other attractions. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for this great review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the recommendation.
I have passed on your very kind words to the team here and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I've reviewed this hotel before and still thoroughly recommend it .The Spa in particular is first class and easily the amongst the best in Scotland .
Couple of minor points ,

Gripe 1

The Spa could do more to make it clear what their policy is about silence /relaxation .I've had the ambience spoiled a couple of times , particularly in the Laconium room by inane/banal chatter. The staff say that the policy is silence but they are unwilling to have a word with offenders and the signage does not make this clear , how about a sign that politely says silence is expected in this room ?

Gripe 2 .

I usually stay in a club room and value the lounge access and facilities .The lounge ambience has been compromised the last two times by braying airline pilots who get the lounge access as a complimentary perk it is a bit annoying to have to listen to four guys banging on at the top of their voices about their latest flights and unashamedly "checking out" the females (my wife included) who are usually dressed for dinner ….. is this necessary Sheraton ?

Still a strong recommendation , you will not be disappointed in this hotel or the Spa

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 320man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us after your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your time here, and thank you for the recommendation to others, however I am sorry that there are a few points that spoilt your stay. Please be assured that action has been taken as both are very valid points, and I can only apologise that these compromised you and your wife's stay with us.
Thank you once again for this important feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Best regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I stayed over the Hogmanay period. We had an excellent Classic Room which was newly refurbished. The arrangements for the Club Room were altered because of increased demand over the holiday period and we were very pleased with the quality and variety of the evening refreshments and bar service. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
We had excellent food including the Hogmanay dinner and New Year’s Day buffet in Square One. The service was attentive, the staff very welcoming and everyone was professional even though this was a very busy period. We felt the atmosphere was more like a small family establishment, rather than the impersonal service one might expect at such a large hotel.
Like other guests, we were disappoint to learn about the £25 per person charge for the spa facilities, which we did not use this time. However, overall, we had a great time and would return again.

Room Tip: 6th Floor SPG room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Spa has so many facilities you will want to stay there all day. The treatments are worth every penny and it is complete luxury and indulgence! My therapist was Selista and she was kind, considerate and an expert at her job. Can not recommend highly enough if you really want to treat yourself.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plank1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,770 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing