We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Second time here at the Sheraton and it really is a fantastic luxurious hotel. Staff very good, rooms well equipped and spotless. Everything you expect from a 5 star hotel.

Stayed on the club level which included Spa access. This is where it lost a point. Both days we were there the Spa had technical issues and wasn't operating properly. Using the spa was why I choose this hotel and paying in excess of £300 a night I felt very upset the Spa rooms were all cold. Gutting. I'm sure when it's all working it's top notch but not time unfortunately. Doubt i would pay that rate again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spur365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, Executive Assistant at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Further to your recent stay at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, I would like to thank you sincerely for taking the time to email us and provided feedback about your stay. Your comments are important to us and we genuinely appreciate it.

I am sorry to learn that we fell behind your expectations with regards to the issue you encountered in the Thermal Suite at One Spa during your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have an exceptional experience and we are not proud when we fail to delight a guest, however, this was an isolated situation outwith our control that took us completely by surprise, and I am sorry that this affected your stay.

Whilst we appreciate your very kind words regarding the rest of your stay, I am disappointed that you have left us with a negative opinion. This was not our intention and I do want to put it right. Therefore please can you contact me directly at alison.sproull@sheraton.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards

Alison

Alison Sproull
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,707
    733
    198
    88
    43
See reviews for
357
1,318
108
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
east ayrshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Much needed weekend getaway. From arrival to departure we were treated very well. The big comfy beds are awesome... Could do with one at home. We were in a club room overlooking the castle. What a view to wake up to in the morning. This hotel is Everything you would expect and more. Wish I could go there once a month. Brilliant

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a club room. From half five til half seven there are drinks and canapés provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanyrowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Recently organised surprise party for my wife reaching the 'Grand' age of 50! Having told her of our planned break at the BIGGEST AND BEST Spa in Edinburgh, I was off to a great start. Arriving at reception things just got better. All staff were incredibly friendly and helpful attending to our every need. We made our way up to the 6th floor Suite which looked diagonally across to the Castle. We were greeted with a birthday card and complimentary bottle of fizz on ice. The room was stylish, contemporary and 'SUITABLY SCOTTISH' to host our event….Unbeknown to my wife we had a weekend full of surprises in store with the arrival of a further 12 family members from different countries; also guests at this SUPER COOL HOTEL. Renee in resort sales was so extremely helpful in setting up the room reservations taking care of every detail even down to the personalised birthday cake and positioning the rooms such that there were a suitable string of surprise re-unions one after another. The Club Lounge with delicious canapés and drinks, the outdoor roof top hydro-pool, rock sauna, laconium and level 2 terrace all provided perfect settings for various family members to show up unannounced. The National Gallery, Harvey Nichols and the Royal Mile were all within easy walking distance so we enjoyed dinner at the 'Angels with Bagpipes' restaurant and another historic Bistro before speeches, cake and champaign for party of fourteen in the luxurious Castle Suite back at the Sheraton Grand. Our kids swam in the large pool with their grandparents and everybody explored the tranquility of the thermal suite with bio-sauna, hamman and fragrant steam rooms. There was absolutely nothing about this SMART hotel and world class spa that was not PERFECT FOR THE OCCASION. …..cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Club Rooms ARE worth the uplift. Castle view Club rooms in middle of level 7 with extra windows are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for this amazing five star review of your recent stay. I am truly delighted that you and your family had such a great time, and I really appreciate the mention of my colleagues in our Resort Sales Team who assist you in arranging this very special occasion for your wife. What a fantastic thing to do, and we are so pleased that everyone had such an enjoyable time. Thank you once again and I will take great pleasure in sharing your very kind words with the teams here, and look forward to welcoming you and your family back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Loved this hotel from the moment we arrived. Reception staff were extremely friendly and we were checked in quickly.

We requested a room with a castle view which we received. The room was extremely clean with everything we needed. I think the bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Even though our room was at the front of the hotel you don't get disturbed by street / road noise.

We had a few drinks in the hotel bar and a meal at the restaurant - I would definately recommend eating here - it was amazing.

Never had breakfast at the hotel so can't comment - but if it's anything like their evening meal it will be excellent.

We also paid to use the spa facilities - I loved this. The outside hydropool was brilliant.

The location of the hotel is ideal as you can walk to all the local attractions quite easily.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Castle - there doesn't seem to be much to look out onto at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel on a business trip. The hotel was fantastic but the trip did not start well as my luggage did not arrive with me. Airline was awful and i could not reach them over the phones they were giving in the web... I asked from the hotel if they have the telephone of the airline agent and without even telling me after a couple of hours they found my luggage! This is what i call professionalism and hospitality. Thanks a lot to the team for the fantastic support - keep up!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Christos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for this wonderful five star review of your recent stay with us here at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and even more delighted that the team here managed to assist you in finding your lost luggage for you. I can appreciate that this would have been a stressful situation, therefore delighted that the team here were able to help.
Thank you once again for the recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Best regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Visited Feb 2014 for 3 night leisure break. Location of hotel is excellent. Princes street is 5 mins walk away, Castle is 10 mins uphill walk. Airport 100 bus (every 15 mins) stops 5 mins walk away on Princes street (approx 25 mins journey to airport and £4 single) otherwise taxi rank outside hotel.

Hotel staff were all very helpful (reception, concierge, bar staff, spa staff) and very efficient. Had a superking room on 6th floor with great view of castle. Rooms very large, comfy bed, and decent bath/shower.

Used hotel bar for drinks and food which were reasonably priced and great service. We also used the spa which was excellent. I think the £30 guest fee is reasonable considering the quality of facilities. If they did not charge a fee it would be very busy and not a relaxing experience.

We did not order breakfast at hotel as there are several options nearby.

Gym was very good with decent facilities. One negative was some excessive night noise although this was from other hotel guests.

Would definitely return to Sheraton, Edinburgh.

Tips:

> Do visit the spa, allow 3 hours
> Paying extra for a view of the castle was well worth it
> Try one of the G&Ts in hotel bar
> For a nice walk, head direct from hotel up to Castle, then continue down the Royal Mile (shops /cafes/bars etc) to Holyrood Palace/Park, climb Arthur's seat and then find a bar which will be a well deserved drink.

Room Tip: View of castle worth upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendal_Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your fantastic five star review of your recent 3 night stay with us. I am delighted to read that you had such a great time here in Edinburgh and enjoyed your stay with us. I am really pleased that you found time in your busy schedule to take advantage of the offer at One Spa for hotel guests, and enjoyed relaxing after a busy day sightseeing. I also agree with you that a climb up Arthur's Seat is a great place to go and take in the stunning Edinburgh scenery.
Thank you sincerely once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here and couldn't have been happier. Why?
We live close to Edinburgh and due to renovations in our house we decided to stay in an Edinburgh hotel for our first hotel stay ever in our own city ! We chose the Sheraton Grand purely because of its local reputation and location.

The bedroom on the 7th floor, a Clubroom is definitely worth the cost. (See our pic of the stunning sunrise over Edinburgh Castle). The hotel is set back from the road, so no traffic noise at all, which is unusual in a city centre. The room design and lighting is quite dramatic and sumptuous, making us want to linger in our room. The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in....I want to buy it for home !

The Clubroom offered us wine, good nibbles and cheese and brought us a menu to consider for their restaurant 'OneSquare' on the ground floor, which we had heard good reports about. What a relaxed way to start the evening. The Clubroom staff were chatty and telling us about dishes they knew to be particularly special.
On the way to the restaurant we saw a couple having a 'gin tasting experience' which looked great fun (note for my next visit !).

The dinner in OneSquare was an experience. Try and get a window table for 2 overlooking the beautiful Usher Hall and Castle. The menu had a broad choice. I had Scottish smoked salmon followed by slow cooked beef cheek, my wife had a potted duck starter and fillet steak. Every course was sublime and the wine tips were helpful. The staff were so professional and friendly.

Next morning my wife visited the Spa while I went to a business meeting and she had a 'heavenly time' ! There is a hot tub the size of a small swimming pool on the roof.

From the minute we arrived the staff were outstanding. The standard of genuinely helpful staff and relaxed chic decor made us feel quite spoiled. We'll be back again for a special occasion without needing the excuse of building chaos at home !

Room Tip: Go for the Club bedroom on the top floors with easy access to the Clubroom to lounge in ! Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am truly delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and I am delighted that you also found time to experience One Spa. I have shared your comments with the team here who are equally pleased at your very kind words, and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the very near future.
Thank you once again, it is very much appreciated.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,729 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing