We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive Hotel in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Attractive Hotel in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights in May at this hotel. We had 2 Club rooms which had beautiful views of the castle, were well appointed and quite spacious. The breakfast and drinks in the club room where generally of a good standard, although the snacks in the evening were some nights disappointing. The service was good and the staff friendly.The hotel is situated a bit out of the bustle of the city which we enjoyed. My husband had a spa treatment which he rated very good. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a club room the little extras make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMSKJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,728
    742
    198
    88
    43
See reviews for
363
1,330
112
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Had a club room with castle view which was lovely and spacious. Drinks/canapes in the club room very good, spa fantastic and the overall service really good. 6 ladies (mixed ages) celebrating my 30th birthday and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. Our deal included hot buffet breakfast which was good with plenty of choice. Looking forward to returning!!!

Room Tip: Club room with castle view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for this superb five star review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh. I am delighted that you and your friends all enjoyed your stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you all back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Thank you once again.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalgety bay
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What an excellent hotel. I've stayed here 3 times now and each time has been impossible to criticise.

The staff make you feel like you're the most important person there and the spa is just the most relaxing place I've ever been. We alway go for the club rooms which give free entry into the spa, plus 2 hrs of free drinks and canapes from 17:30-19:30 and a free continental breakfast in the morning. Spend about 4 hours each day bobbing around in the spa or soaking up the heat treatments.

The beds are massive and the pillows so comfortable my wife dismantled them to see who made them so we could buy some! For what it's worth, they're made for the Sheraton!! Gah! The club room bathrooms are so big they have a door at each end!

WELL worth the premium to stay there, without question.

Room Tip: choose a club room or upgrade to one to get the benefit of the club lounge (free drinks and canapes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for this fantastic five star review and thank you for your continued loyalty to the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa. I am delighted that you and your wife had such a good stay with us once again and you enjoyed all of the benefits of a Club Room including the Club Lounge and unlimited use of Escape at One.
I agree with you that the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds are seriously comfortable, and I am delighted to share with you that you can purchase these and the accessories online at http://www.sheraton-hotelsathome.com
Thank you once again for this superb review and we look forward to welcoming you both back for your next trip to Edinburgh.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Had the club room with drinks in the executive lounge and spa access; room was a bit small but not really an issue if there for one night, drinks in the lounge could be improved if they had decent gin, charged extra for the cooked breakfast downstairs which is a bit needless as it is a fiver wonder why they bother really. Spa was fab. Need to get the room with softer closing doors as you can hear other rooms coming in and out. Bit annoying for this price of room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Spent an afternoon in the Spa and night in the hotel as a birthday treat and using a voucher for spa.

Hotel is a high standard and service very good, but not outstanding. Rooms nice, modern but again nothing outstanding, bed very good as was mood lighting but lack of separate light in toilet a bit of a pain. Some nice seating areas. Breakfast very good, although had to send back overcooked eggs benedict.

Spa is very good, but pricey especially as you need to pay to use it even if a guest at already fairly high rates. Also "rooftop" very disappointing. There are many outstanding roof top views in Edinburgh this is not one of them,

Five star for me means faultless, this is four an a half.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your reviewing your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that overall we did not live up to your expectations and that you were disappointed with the view from the hydropool at One Spa.
I have passed on your comments to the team here for review and thank you once again for highlighting these points to us.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back when you are next in Edinburgh.
Warm regards
Tristan Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, Aberdeenshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My friend and I wanted to treat ourselves to a night away in a plush hotel as a belated 50th birthday treat. Having stayed at the Sheraton before and been very impressed, I had no hesitation in booking us a twin bedded room here for our celebrations. However, the hotel made an error with our booking and we were given a room with a king size bed. When I rang reception, the best they could offer was a bottle of champagne and two single duvets. I suggested they also give us dinner in the hotel restaurant which they did. The staff were very apologetic but I do find it difficult to accept that a hotel of the size and calibre of the Sheraton could not find another room with a bed that could be made into two! I shouldn't complain about a free meal but my first course looked so unappealing when it arrived, I couldn't bring myself to eat it - presentation is everything guys! And having requested French mustard, the young waitress eventually returned with what was definitely English mustard. I did ask her to check but she assured me it was French. Sorry - but there is a difference! Little gripes perhaps, but not what one would expect from an upmarket hotel like this. My friend and I ended up having a laugh about our sleeping arrangements - thank goodness we know each other well - but I do wonder what the hotel would have done if our sharing had been out of the question or we had been two business colleagues.. Would I stay here again? Only if I could be guaranteed that the room arrangement I ask for is definitely available.Oh, and one more thing. Mood lighting in one's room is all well and good but jolly confusing! Less can most certainly be more!

Room Tip: Make double sure you get the room type you have requested!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, Executive Assistant at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your views of your recent stay with us. I have emailed you directly as suggested to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced and I look forward to hearing back from you.
Warm regards
Alison Sproull
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

HI me and my sisters have just came back from visiting you're hotel. We loved it. The staff are so friendly. The staff in the club lounge are soo kind and always ready to help. There was a young man by the name of joan we would like to thank you for you're amazing service we recieved from you for our 3 day stay. The spa was very clean and friendly. The only thing I would say could be improved was the menu for gluten free clients, as there was only bread, and you had to ask for it. Would definitely go back to this hotel, and will be recommending it to everybody I talk to thats visiting SCOTLAND. Thank you. Mrs Davis. 25th to 28th april 2014.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the 7th floor as you get access to the club lounge, and can use the spa facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaranD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,082 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing