We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing spa facilities!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2008

Having stayed at this hotel on our wedding night, my wife and I decided to book another night as we were so impressed with our stay in July,

We phoned in advance and booked our spa visit as the main reason for the stay was the 6* spa which is just the most fantastic relaxing experience! Upon arrival we were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite, even though we had booked a classic room....rarely have I ever stayed at a hotel in the UK where staff offer you an upgrade gratis without request, most other chains look at you as though you're an alien if you ask even dare to ask for upgrade. The Radisson Stansted is one example, they have no idea about service!

Upon checking into our suite we had an amazing stay, received a complimentary bottle of wine from the hotel manager who recalled our previous wedding night stay, and we adored the spa facilties. The outdoor hydropool is simply amazing!

The only criticism we have is the condition of the rooms, which is average. The bathrooms require refurbishment, particularly for a 5* hotel....I suspect once the hotel take the decision to invest in the refurb they will be fully booked back to back. It is a shame they are milking it a little as the main hotel is in dire need.

Overall this hotel is simply amazing if only for the spa and amazing service. I am quite happy to pay for both of these and consider the Sheraton reasonably priced at £150 B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sherman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,580 - 2,586 of 2,920 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2008

Spent 3 nights here before Christmas while visiting family in Edinburgh and Glasgow.
On arrival we received a free upgrade to a Club Room which set the scene for our entire visit. The use of the Club Lounge an added bonus with free breakfast and late afternnon drinks and canapes.
The castle view was lovely - despite the crane in front of The Usher Hall. The king size bed was very comfortable and the room was well furnished. Some of the furniture has seen better days - chipped and scratched table in our room - the TV cabinet was also very bulky and dated. These are observations only and did not detract from our overall experience.
Dined in The Terrace and had afternoon tea in The Exchange Bar - both to be recommended. Also made use of the One Spa facilities - very relaxing way to prepare for Christmas stresses!
All staff were courteous and friendly and made our stay thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duck1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

Spent two days in hotel with family and had some super individual service from staff in the hotel. Reception and concierge very welcoming and helpful.
Originally had problems with booking, being offered a price and then having a supplement added. After many emails hotel honoured original quote. Website needs to be clearer for family bookings.
Booked into a room on 7th floor. Room was spacious but very tired, chipped furniture, old TV and remote with a tiny dated bathroom circa 1990. Double bed super comfy, Child fold down sofa bed very uncomfortable, springs visible through sheets. Kept awake all night with wind whistling through faulty double glazed window. Reported fault in window to reception in the morning and was promptly offered a club room of considerably superior quality with ample bathroom and a deep and comfortable roll away child bed. Second night everyone slept well! Visited Spa and had two lovely treatments. Lovely staff!
Enjoyed lunch at Spa restaurant too. Main pool a bit chilly though all guests commented on this.
If visiting with children, Good luck on establishing a room rate on line. If visiting for a special occasion request an upgraded room as the standard rooms need a make over! Can't fault the staff though, they made the break a success for us!
Stewart family Scotland.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ScotlandCrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

We were in Edinburgh for a rugby game and stayed on for a couple more nights to see some of the city.

The Sheraton was well placed for Murreyfield and also the sights, we found some incredible restaurants which I would really recommend; La Bruschetta @ Haymarket, Roti @ Morrison Street - just acorss the road from the hotel & The Shore in Leith - you won't be disappointed by any of them - oh yes and don't forget afternoon tea at the Balmoral.

Now back to the hotel, the staff are an asset to the organisation, very helpful at all times. The bedroom was an excellant size, although furnisings a bit out of date - TV in a cupboard, cupboard a bit battered, dresing table the same, however the bed made up for it - enormous and comfortable. Bathroom was small and a bit pokey, shower average, plenty of hot water but not a power shower.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel , sensible hours, they serve until 11:00am at weekends and there are tea & coffee facilities in the room. A bit of a queue to get a table on Sunday, everyone seemed to turn up at 10:30am, but plenty of choice & tasty enough.

Tried out the spa one afternoon - well worth a trip, unfortunatley ran out of time to give it a real test, but I'm sure it's excellent.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank stushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Booked the hotel direct with their website, seemed like a good deal based on the details.

Check in was very slow, seemed to have about 3 room changes before we got room passes, and not 100% sure we received the room type we booked.

First issue was the "city view" is basically anything else other than a castle view, in our case "city view" meant "office block view", bit misleading I thought.

Room was a good size, but bathroom a bit small. As for cleanliness of room, that wasn't too great :-
Toilet had hairs (not ours) on the floor
Seat in room had hairs all over it (again not ours)
Bathroom grouting was cracked in a number of places
Bathrrom a/c and areas round bathroom had "fluff/mould" Took some photos, but may or may not write to Sheraton (little point as don't intend to stay there again)

Meal in "the terrace" was excellent, a good buffet.

Location is great for getting about, although car parking was a bit of a problem, and even with hotel discount was £8/day

Would I stay here again? probably not, as for the price and 5 star rating is a bit high in my view!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alanatabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2008

Dear Guest

I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and that we did not live up to your expectations in some areas.

Myself and the team would be happy to talk to you about any issues you had and explain the room catagories in relation to what you had booked.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards.

JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

After finding the hotel, which was difficult, but our own mistake, we didn't ask for directions, but did it all ourselves, we checked in at a normal room. Kind of small for a 5* hotel, but with great views on the square infront of the hotel and the Edinburgh castle.
Than we went for a swim in the pool, which was great. A kind of massage bath was there, really nice. We had a great time and went out for diner near the Royal Mile.
After a good night sleep, we woke up with views on the castle! Which is just the best of our stay.
We went for the breakfast which was nice, we didn't like the coffee, that is probably a personal taste.
Overal a good stay, but do ask for a room with a view on the castle.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MaxZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Although the hotel looks relatively recent, there is a foundation stone by the entrance indicating that it was built in 1993.

To me this does still seem fairly recent, but it just goes to show how much work is needed to keep up and how much things have changed and standards improved over the past fifteen years, and the management of the Sheraton now has some ork to do.

The lobbies and hallways are quite impressive and befitting of a hotel of this rating. If you come in from the Lothian Road / Fountain Court side you may however have some difficulty in finding the reception, as (strangely) this is actually the back door. Reception is at the other side and down one level.

The rooms are OK - I think mine was an executive room, on level 6. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. Furnishings were much as one would expect for this type of large American chain and reasonably tasteful. In keeping with the general theme of "time for a refresh" some of the woodwork was a bit worn.

The bathroom, however, was well overdue for refurbishment. It was much smaller than one would expect (unnecessary when the rest of the room was quite large) and tired. A decent hotel bathroom should make you want one like it at home, whilst this one would have been top of the list to replace if you were moving house and made me grateful for mine back home (which is also 15+ years old and nothing special).

The bath was small. The basin was one of those all-in-one moulded composite efforts. Tiles were a rather unfashionable grey and white design and past their best in condition. Toiletries were OK but nothing special.

Breakfast was excellent with a huge selection. No sparkling wine for the hedonists, though, unlike at the Caledonian.

All in all, good hotel in need of some refurbishment. Its American heritage is very apparent and many guests will probably be getting just what they expect.

As your assessment of these things always depends on what you pay (or should do, if you are being fair):

Fair price to pay for a double: £100-120 excl breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ringraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,927 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £150 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing