We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Not 5 Star But Not Awful Either” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Definitely Not 5 Star But Not Awful Either”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

Our family of 4 (mom, dad, 13yr old and 5yr old) stayed here for Easter weeked using Starwood Points. If we hadn't been using points, I wouldn't have stayed here just to earn points as there are better values to be had in this town. Our executive room was quite spacious (king+ bed, desk & chair, sofa/chair/ coffee table seating area, TV/Bar cabinet) and easily handled the addition of a twin bed for our teen. We never felt cramped. I arrived expecting Sheraton's "Sweet Sleeper" bed. I thought they'd been rolled out to all locations and was quite disappointed to discover they had not. The bed was ok but nowhere near as comfortable as it could have been. Because I foolishly forgot that points didn't cover breakfast, we ate breakfast at the hotel 3 mornings in a row. The selection was outstanding although the cooked food was a bit "hit and miss". While we enjoyed our breakfasts, I certainly would never have chosen to pay 25GBP/person for cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastry and coffee! We did not use the spa as the hotel makes it abundantly clear it's not meant for children. Technically, kids are allowed to use the pool a few hours a day....but those hours are ridiculous. Mon to Friday: 15.00 – 17.00. Saturday & Sunday: 08.30 – 09.30 & 15.00 – 17.00. I don't know about you, but I'm not going to cut short sightseeing just to race back to the hotel so the kids can swim and then get cleaned up again for dinner. Later, say 17:00-20:00, would be far better...of course, that's when the spa is full of spa clients paying mega bucks for kid free quiet. Would I stay here again...maybe.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoStoppinUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,644
    715
    191
    87
    41
See reviews for
342
1,273
106
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

The main reason we stayed at the Sheraton was that there was a special deal, which is a good job as I don't think this hotel is worth its usual asking price. I has high expectations as I had spent the previous 2 weeks at the Sheraton in Amman (which I would highly recommend) - this hotel sadly didn't achieve a favourable comparison.
The hotel is OK, but the rooms are a bit dated, especially the bathrooms. Our rate didn't include breakfast - this would have set us back a staggering £30 per person if we had booking including this), so I can't comment on the restaurant. Worth noting that if you do book here on a room only basis, the All Bar One literally just outside does a very good breakfast for under a tenner - even if the staff are a bit grumpy.
Staff were generally friendly and helpful, and the hotel was reasonable, just maybe not what you would expect from one of the top hotels in a prime location in the UK. Shouldn't they be trying to achieve the same standards in the UK as they do in the Middle East??? Not bad, just not outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keef74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

Weekend break booked through Lastminute.com, got it for a good price considering it was a 5* hotel, however, it was not what we would call 5*.

The hotel in general was very nice but dated, the staff were all very friendly even when you meet them in the lifts or hallways.

The room was not as we expected, it was a disabled room which wasnt a problem apart from the sink and mirrors were low so my v.tall boyfriend found it difficult to shave, the flooring was not clean and seemed unfinished.

We just felt that we got a half decent room (other rooms on different floors looked much better) in a nice hotel purely because we went through a "cheaper" company, I definately would not pay the £293 per night for what we got. I would say to stay here if you can get a good price, the location is great and the spa is very good

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

My husband and I visit Edinburgh several times a year to see family. We nearly always stay at the Sheraton, and they nearly always have good price deals at weekends. This weekend we paid £100 per night for 2 nights.

There are 2 reasons why we nearly always go back - the beds are huge and extremely comfortable so we always get a good night's sleep - and the spa is very nice, although we only use the pool, which is included. The only reason we go elsewhere is if we can't get in for a reasonable price. But the rooms are beginning to date eg slightly tired decor, no flat screen TVs, etc.

We usually have room service breakfast, which is always good, but over-priced. The service can also be variable - we've learnt to always ask for anything we want eg honey to go with croissants etc. But we've experienced similar variable service at other expensive hotels across the (western) world.

We've enjoyed the Terrace restaurant many times, but be aware it's essentially a self-service carvery. This is great if you want a relaxed meal where no one hassles you, but not if you want something more formal, and Edinburgh offers plenty of other choice.

The bar area is great for lunch (at a price) and for the malt list. Personally I find the pianist quite annoying, but that's just personal taste.

Finally, the hotel is well located for the House of Fraser end of Princes Street.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TizzieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

This is my second stay at the hotel. Service was mixed. Gentleman on reception was cool while he changed our dinner reservation to the time we requested as this was incorrect. The buffet meal was fine for carnivores but I was offered a pasta dish as a vegetarian. It wasn't good .I was offered something else but declined. I was told I wouldn't be charged for the dish but our meal was included in our package. On arrival in the restaurant we were seated at a table without overhead lighting I couldn't see the wine list. I ponted this out and instead of reseating us the waiter offered to read the list to me!! Patronising in the extreme. I assured him I wished to read it myself and a man appeared with a ladder and redirected a light from another area. I was angry with this treatment . Breakfast was good although staff dour and mostly unsmiling. I stay in Edinburgh a lot . Much prefer the quality hotels The George. Glasshouse, Radisson and a few others less well starred. The room was adequate but not 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annebryceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

A party of 4 (Two young coulpes) spent New Year at the Grand! Grand isnt really how i would describe it. The rooms are of fairly basic furnishing & fairly small. The Exchange Bar is loevly & won Whisky hotel of the year 2008...so if you like your Whisky & Cogniac then this place is ideal for you, however be sure to read the drinks price list as i ordered 2 double whisky's on ice & needed a mortgage to pay for it (believe it or not you can pay almost £150 per double)!!!!!!

The spa isnt all it's made up to be, first of all its above a multi storey car park & secondly only the main standard pool & jet baths are free. The spa pool will cost you £20 to enter every time regardless how long you stay in it!!

The location is a bit seedy ie; strippers etc but that didnt bother me too much :-).

Overall 6/10

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevotoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

This hotel is what you would expect from any large chain - clean comfortable rooms, not overly spacious but well decorated. Great shower! However, it is expensive (£150 ish per room per night, room only) and not worth this money. It's well presented but once you're inside the hotel, and particularly the rooms, you could be in any chain hotel, anywhere in the world. There is no character or wow factor, and I have stayed in many almost identical rooms for about half the cost. The only main thing going for this is the location - it is about a minute's walk from Princes Street so you're right in the heart of everything. The other thing worth mentioning is the Spa - it's got a nice pool and exceptional changing rooms - but despite the complex being within the hotel, it is very much designed for non-residents, with hotel residents having access to very limited facilities (think just the pool only but could be wrong!). You can pay to upgrade and use the jacuzzi, sauna etc, but this is about £30 each - another indication of the lack of value-for-money nature of the hotel. There is parking onsite which is charged at about £9 per day.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teamsmugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing