We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Execellent spa - no biscuits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Execellent spa - no biscuits”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2005

Traditional hotel, starting to date but has a fantastic spa, for a five star hotel you would expect complimentary biscuits with the tea making facility in your room. We had to pay £1.75 for 2 busicuits which we felt was over the top. The service in the hotel was not great. (took 3 hrs to have a look at our broken T.V)

Helpful?
3 Thank gypsylady2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,666
    721
    194
    87
    42
See reviews for
350
1,294
106
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2005

This is not a 5 star hotel. Even though the room had a nice castle view, it was cramped (and we had an upgrade!) and had a very uncomfortable bed. The bathroom is tiny although the shower was powerful. Room decor is very bland, reminiscent of a Holiday Inn. The Exchange bar is nice with great service and drinks. The staff, especially the bellhops, are pleasant. The public areas are fine but the rooms are not luxurious. Fortunately, I booked it on Priceline.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2005

The reception staff was far from friendly. The room was big and with Castle view, but the shower did barely work and bathroom needed a new paint job. Location is great right in the city center and concierge is friendly and very helpfull. Breakfast is definetely over priced don´t go for it unless is included in your room rate.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danda1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2005

I was very surprised to read some of the poor reviews. I stayed here for my 21st birthday weekend in 2001(and I was proposed to, as well!) I know this has put a biased slant on things, but I had an amazing time. Unless someone else had told them what a special weekend it was for me they upgraded us to the Lindsey suite for no reason! It was great- the bed is about 6ft wide and soooo comfy! It has two huge televisions and a massive dining table and sofas. We had a view of the castle and we ate in the hotel restaurant both nights as it was brilliant (The Grill I think). The breakfast was nice (and there was loads of it). The only negative thing was the staff at were reception looked bored to be there. Although the other staff were great- when I was proposed to, we recieved free champagne and chocolates. I didn't get to see the spa as I looked around the town instead- I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaPaulandOl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2005

My husband & I stayed here while he was on a business trip to Edinburgh. The proximity to his company's Edinburgh office made it very convenient for him. It is also a good locale for sightseeing & some interesting shopping (it is just outside of Oldtown & very close to the castle). The hotel interior is lovely, room decor is in a Scottish theme (tartan), I never got to the spa as I spent any free time exploring the city. Staff was helpful, didn't have the king bed room available when we checked in, but readily moved us when one came open the second day (we packed & they moved our stuff while we were out). A plumbing problem left us with no hot water our last night, something was really wrong as a plumber in the hallway asked me if I had hotwater the next morning (which we did). This hotel is expensive but the co. travel office got a great rate there (150 pounds), If we'ld been paying the 350pounds that I've seen others quote I would have made sure that I used the complimentary spa offerings (great gym, pool) for guests. Skip breakfast unless it's included in your rate (very expensive), if you must have coffee first thing pop out to Starbucks just up Lothian Rd (1/2 block) before going off for the day.

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2005

My sister and I visited the hotel and spa only a few days ago and we could not fault any part of our visit. We were greeted in the early afternoon by staff who were only to happy to help and to make us feel at home.
Our main reason for visiting the hotel was to use the spa facilities and the staff at One Spa were, if possible, even more friendly. The receptionist happily took us on a tour of the building to make sure that we were comfortable and also to make sure that we had everything we needed to make our day as special as possible. The Spa itself is fantastic, exceeding our expectations tenfold. The highlight of the visit was sitting in the rooftop hydropool at eight o' clock in the evening looking up at the stars.
Every member of staff that we passed in the corridor had a smile and a greeting. The restaurant, bar and cafes were all of a high standard and the location of the hotel could not be better.
I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2005

My girlfriend and I stayed here courtesy of British Airways who had stranded us in Edinburgh at 1am on a Monday night. The room was spacious with good-quality fittings, but there was nothing remotely memorable or special about it. I cannot comment on the spa, as we didn't have time to use it. The location is good if you want to be central.

Overall, there's no chance I'd come back here unless someone else was paying again.

Stayed August 2004
Helpful?
3 Thank iandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing