We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but Costly Steam Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but Costly Steam Room”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

The hotel is really lovely inside, much much more attractive than the exterior. Our rooms were great, very comfortable and well equiped. However, I was sadly dissappointed that I was having to pay an extra £30 to use the steam room. I felt it was a bit of a con actually. The steam room is part of the overall Spa but I thought hotel guests could at least use some of the facilities. We had got a good deal and I was looking forward to a steam having just had the usual winter cold... Turns out we would have been cheaper to stay at the Balmoral if we included the £30 spa fee.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments on the Trip Advisor website. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying in our newly refurbished rooms.
With regards to One Spa, we offer guests complimentary use of the Fitness Studio, 19m Swimming Pool and the Cleopatra Baths. All other treatments are charged separately which include the Thermal Suite and rooftop Hydropool area - a series of heat and cooling experiences known as Escape at One. For optimum benefits we recommend that you allow up to 3 hours for the full experience. Normally this charge is £70 per person but as a hotel guest the charge is £30 per person. I apologise if this was not communicated at the time.
Thank you once again for your valued feedback and hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,705
    733
    198
    88
    43
See reviews for
357
1,318
108
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We ended up at this hotel after our first hotel for our long weekend was deemed unacceptable. The reservation specialist we spoke with was a complete gem and so helpful with our last minute room request. She even helped us to get an early check in, considering the circumstances. On arrival, the check in staff and concierge were both so nice and happy to great us and answer all of our questions - great service here! Everyone we encountered greeted us, asked if there was anything they could do to help us, and to please let them know if we needed anything.

The rooms were very nice with a great view of the castle, for the most part the rooms were quiet - with the exception of a few sirens on the streets and the bell that chimes in festival square. We did hear the person above us walking some but it was nothing too disturbing. Only things missing from the room were a bedside alarm clock or ipod docking station and more toiletry items in the bathroom.

Club level was very nice, we enjoyed that access. Breakfasts and Hogmanay special buffet were also great and the restaurant team was also excellent - greeting and remembering us and offering to help with whatever we needed!

Fabulous hotel and team!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PackLitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Dear Guests
Thank you for sharing the memories of your recent stay with us here at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa with the Trip Advisor community. We strive to “get it right” from the initial point of booking and throughout your stay, and it appears that we delivered, which I am delighted to hear. Regarding your comments about the bedside alarm clock and the docking station, our new Sensiq TV system and Media Hub does all what you would have required and more. I am sorry that this was not pointed out to you upon check in or at any time during your stay, and I have shared this feedback with the team. It is also great to hear that you took advantage of the Club Level access and enjoyed its benefits.
Thank you once again for sharing your comments and best wishes to you and your family for 2011.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Wonderful relaxing stay with beautiful spa then dinner. Best sleep in ahotle bed!!! great

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us on the Trip Advisor website. It’s great to hear that you also used One Spa and had dinner. I do agree that our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds are very comfortable and you had a great night’s sleep.
Thank you once again and I hope it won’t be too long before we are able to welcome you and your family back to the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, where a warm welcome awaits you.
Kind regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2010

went with my family for Christmas lunch, we were greeted at the front door and was told where the buffet was. it was of the high standard of service and food that were expected and the fact that it was not too noisy. there was a lot food on offer including: antipasti, fish, soup and meats. overall it was a pleasant lunch.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 455bishbosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback of your Christmas Day lunch spent here at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed the experience and have relayed this important feedback to the Executive Chef and his team.
Thank you once again and I do hope it’s not too long before we can welcome you back.
Kind regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Fantastic food, gracious and attentive staff, wonderful accommodation and the kids loved it!
Our Christmas day family celebrations were fabulous!
Keep us a table, we are booking for next year!
The Voy family!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time during the festive period to share your experiences with us here at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa with the Trip Advisor community. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the Christmas Day Lunch. It’s great to hear such feedback and I shall certainly pass this onto my colleagues here and they too will be delighted to hear this.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2011, hopefully before Christmas.
Kind regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We stayed for three nights ( was supposed to be two, but snow put paid to that ) and through the whole thing we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The spa is ... phenomenal. The ability to swim outside onto a roof terrace in a heated pool while it was snowing is something that I will never forget.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S1_812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments on the Trip Advisor website regarding your recent stay with us here at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa. I’m sorry that you were snowed in, but glad to read that you made good use of the extra time here and used the facilities at One Spa. I agree our rooftop Hydropool is rather special and glad that my colleagues here made you feel welcome.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa in the very near future.
Kind regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

The Sheraton Grand in Edinburgh is a place where have stayed in the past because of the quality and professionalism of the staff.

After a $25m refurbishment and some of the highest tech gadgetry on the planted this hotel is now king of the castle in Edinburgh. Room design is clever and well thought out - taking in account how people actually use rooms for both business and pleasure. The the hotel is now a first class environment - that goes hand in hand with first class staff.

This time my stay was for almost six weeks. Over the course of six weeks it is easy for a hotel to let standards slip - even if just a little. This was an exceptional stay at the toughest time of year (The Fringe Festival - among other festivals) and I had invited various guest over that time to visit us in our two bedroom suite. Our guest were amazed at the every detail of their stay and how comfortable all their stays were over different times in the six week period. Everyone had different expectations and demands for shows and times and restaurants and cars and drivers and all was coordinated flawless. When in Edinburgh I suggest you stay here whether for business or pleasure. It will almost certainly make your stay in this wonderful city and even better one.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VPVonHoehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 December 2010
Dear Guest
WOW, what a great review to receive, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write this and share it with the Trip Advisor community.
I am delighted to read that the service from our associates met your expectations. I have passed these comments onto the team here who were thrilled to hear your kind words that serve as encouragement to them.
We are of course very proud of our new bedroom product and all the new technology that comes with it. Every room has a Media Hub, plasma TV with the new Sensiq TV system.
Thank you once again and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa in the very near future, where a very warm welcome will be waiting for you.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,725 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,801 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,028 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing