We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel bur beware of credit card pre-authorisations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Eire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel bur beware of credit card pre-authorisations”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Stayed at the Sheraton for 3 nights for a post christmas break. Beautiful hotel, lovely rooms and the spa is amazing. But.............on check-in the hotel took £50 pre-authorisation from my account for any room charges, damages etc. Its now 12 days and 4 phone calls since i checked out and the hotel still have yet to release the £50 back in to my account, even though i paid cash for all items. Its taken the nice gloss of what was a fantastic trip but i might be looking towards the Balmoral or Scotsman for my next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHolsEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments onto Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you overall you enjoyed your stay, however am sorry that you have had this situation with the pre-authorization with your card.
Allow me to clarify for you, as a standard procedure within most properties they will need to obtain some form of credit in way of a pre authorization from all guests. This pre-authorization is merely holding the funds and after your departure it is your bank or credit card company that can take a number of days to release the funds back to your account.
I am very sorry that this shadowed what sounded a good weekend, and we would love to be able to welcome you back the next time you are in Edinburgh.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,685
    725
    195
    88
    42
See reviews for
352
1,304
107
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Overall a lovely hotel with excellent facilities and in a great Location.

We stayed for one night in a king room, the bedroom itself was lovely although we did have some concerns.
The water pressure was extremely poor, this made it quite difficult to run a bath and as there was no bath salts or bubble bath this made it even more difficult.
Entertainment system within the room is quite slow and the radio kept cutting out, never had to pay 95p for the use of a radio before.
Overnight parking was £9 despite being told it was free of charge at the time of booking.

Apart from these minor issues the hotel is lovely and i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyBoy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The Sheraton Grand Hotel was fantastic. We stayed there for 2 nights in December having stayed their on many occasions previously it was great to see the new room's which look fabulous. Service was attentive and charming throughout the hotel with a fantastic Concierge team who could not do enough to help.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart_swan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments that you have shared with all Trip Advisor viewers. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and like our new room product. It’s always heartwarming to receive comments about the service and associates, and I will of course pass this onto the team here.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh very soon.
Kind regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Booked for wedding anniversary in middle of snow and freezing conditions. The Club room was well worth it as you got the free access to the One Spa and access to the Club Lounge. The Spa was fantastic and so relaxing . All the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us especially Pikwan? in the club lounge. Really glad we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hesla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your fantastic comments. It is great to learn the snow did not upset your travel plans and I am equally delighted to read that you choose the hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary.
We are very proud of our new rooms and indeed the Club Rooms are a great addition to the variety of rooms we now have at the hotel. As you mentioned, Club Room guests benefit from access to our new Club Lounge that offers continental breakfast, snacks throughout the day, evening canapés, drinks and ‘Escape at One’ access at One Spa. So I do agree it is well worth it.
Of course all our great facilities would be nothing without the team. As with all my team, Pikwa does an excellent job and she will be delighted to learn of this great feedback – thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor.
I hope it won’t be too long before you return to Edinburgh, we’d love to see you again.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Spent 3 weeks in Scotland and the Sheraton in Edinburgh was by far the best hotel I stayed in. Extremely clean, comfortable, and stylish room. The Exchange Bar provided a great atmosphere for drinks before going out on the town, and reasonable prices. The Terrace Restaurant buffet was also quality with great service. I'd come back to this Sheraton location. Staff was prompt and incredibly helpful. You really can't ask, or get, more from a hotel & it's staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExiledWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Dear Guest
I am delighted to read the comments you have posted with the Trip Advisor community. I am truly thankful you found the time to do this and share your experiences. This is great feedback for all aspects of our business; the rooms, the outlets and the staff. I have indeed passed these invaluable comments onto my team.
Thank you once again and I hope we are able to welcome you back to Edinburgh and the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa soon.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

The hotel is really lovely inside, much much more attractive than the exterior. Our rooms were great, very comfortable and well equiped. However, I was sadly dissappointed that I was having to pay an extra £30 to use the steam room. I felt it was a bit of a con actually. The steam room is part of the overall Spa but I thought hotel guests could at least use some of the facilities. We had got a good deal and I was looking forward to a steam having just had the usual winter cold... Turns out we would have been cheaper to stay at the Balmoral if we included the £30 spa fee.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments on the Trip Advisor website. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying in our newly refurbished rooms.
With regards to One Spa, we offer guests complimentary use of the Fitness Studio, 19m Swimming Pool and the Cleopatra Baths. All other treatments are charged separately which include the Thermal Suite and rooftop Hydropool area - a series of heat and cooling experiences known as Escape at One. For optimum benefits we recommend that you allow up to 3 hours for the full experience. Normally this charge is £70 per person but as a hotel guest the charge is £30 per person. I apologise if this was not communicated at the time.
Thank you once again for your valued feedback and hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We ended up at this hotel after our first hotel for our long weekend was deemed unacceptable. The reservation specialist we spoke with was a complete gem and so helpful with our last minute room request. She even helped us to get an early check in, considering the circumstances. On arrival, the check in staff and concierge were both so nice and happy to great us and answer all of our questions - great service here! Everyone we encountered greeted us, asked if there was anything they could do to help us, and to please let them know if we needed anything.

The rooms were very nice with a great view of the castle, for the most part the rooms were quiet - with the exception of a few sirens on the streets and the bell that chimes in festival square. We did hear the person above us walking some but it was nothing too disturbing. Only things missing from the room were a bedside alarm clock or ipod docking station and more toiletry items in the bathroom.

Club level was very nice, we enjoyed that access. Breakfasts and Hogmanay special buffet were also great and the restaurant team was also excellent - greeting and remembering us and offering to help with whatever we needed!

Fabulous hotel and team!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PackLitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Dear Guests
Thank you for sharing the memories of your recent stay with us here at the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa with the Trip Advisor community. We strive to “get it right” from the initial point of booking and throughout your stay, and it appears that we delivered, which I am delighted to hear. Regarding your comments about the bedside alarm clock and the docking station, our new Sensiq TV system and Media Hub does all what you would have required and more. I am sorry that this was not pointed out to you upon check in or at any time during your stay, and I have shared this feedback with the team. It is also great to hear that you took advantage of the Club Level access and enjoyed its benefits.
Thank you once again for sharing your comments and best wishes to you and your family for 2011.
Warm regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing