We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambience and a sale!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jenners

Jenners
Ranked #98 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Attraction details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
392 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Ambience and a sale!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

It is a shame that Jenner's is now part of House of Fraser but it is still a wonderful ambience and an small imitation of Les galleries Lafayette. Good shopping and there was a sale on so some one came out with a bag full.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rogerrobert98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    65
    41
    24
    28
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

second time I ve been and second time I ve found it disappointing. ..nothing special nothing to distinguish it from any other shop except it's history. perhaps the owners are so disconnected from its connection to the Scottish culture they aren't interested in making more of the opportunities

Helpful?
1 Thank sushikim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Rainy Day Escape!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

The Friday we arrived in Edinburgh was cold and rainy. After riding the tour bus twice, our guide recommended we visit there oldest department store, Jenners. What a great way to spend a rainy afternoon, especially the floor that contained every Scottish food you could possibly want to try - fantastic! The Scottish shortbread cookies are to die for!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marfishbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maghera northern ireland uk
2 reviews
“giorgio armani cosmetics fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We went to giorgio armani cosmetics counter and we were treated like royality.Excellent services and great make over.Highly recommend a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A little dull an uninspiring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were told to go to Jenner's for afternoon tea by a local Scot and as were are visitors to Edinburgh we took her advice. Not a big mistake but a disappointment. It was just like any other cafe. It was nothing special and a very limited menu on a Sunday at 2 pm. There were about 6 other people in there, which is a shame as the store itself is quite lovely.
It is a real warren and the staff were friendly. In fact the best bit about the whole thing is probably the lovely old rackety lifts.
Not worth it I am afraid.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CrispinBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jenners also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Jenners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing