We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food nice but very expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Witchery by the Castle
Ranked #29 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We had a meal here after visiting camera obscura. We chose the lunch menu deal- about £15 each. The food was very nice but it was overpriced as the portions were very small to be honest. Service was quick and efficient and staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank DevonAngel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Food was very good but service could certainly have been better and quicker. Drinks order was taken but not all of it arrived. More bread was offered but when more butter was asked for it failed to arrive. Water was ordered for two guest but poured for all three regardless of being reminded it was for two. Disappointing from a restaurant that apparently places a high value on quality of staff and customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ALE1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for our 2nd wedding anniversary and it was an amazing choice. The location was perfect, the welcome by Roxy was wonderful and the stay was exquisite. We stayed in the library room, and the bath in there was the icing on the cake! The breakfast was yummy, such a lovely touch. Once again, the hospitality from Roxy was wonderful, a fabulous character. Well worth the money and would love to stay again. I'm sure we will

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Okay - the place is expensive, but the location is exceptional and must have cost a fortune to buy - let alone convert. We stayed in the Guardroom suite - 5 distinct rooms, bedroom, bathroom, lounge, reception room and a hidden kitchen. The suite was quiet and quirky, and pretty comfortable.
The buffet breakfast was very good and it was a treat not to have to rush on a Sunday morning to have breakfast in a dining room-probably a healthier option too.
One of the chairs was a bit "creaky" and probably best not sat on and the TV reception was inconsistent - but I didn't plan on watching much TV. The bose radio was more to my liking.
The underfloor heating in the bathroom was brilliant.
Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jimmytabuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in the Old Rectory suite at the Witchery for one night as a birthday celebration. The room itself was magnificent. The decorations were incredible and the atmosphere breathtaking. This particular room was chosen because of the 2 person bath and it was well worth it. I would definitely recommend this for a romantic getaway (maybe not as a base in Edinburgh as you'll want to spend all of your time in the room!) We also ate at the Witchery and it was fabulous too. Staff were incredibly helpful and the breakfast (we stuck to the continental) was lovely and perfect the next morning for just relaxing and taking our time. The check out of 12 noon is also great for a relaxed stay. Would definitely do it again! The only negatives, which are slight, is that the bed, although an unbelievable feature bed, isn't the most comfortable and it can be noisy but that is to be expected as you are right on the Royal Mile.

Room Tip: Old Rectory has an amazing bathroom and very Gothic and religious themes. The stairs are quite chall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishScot112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Visited the Witchery for a couple of nights for my wife's birthday treat, and stayed in 'The Armoury' suite. Firstly, a couple of small adverse comments - a) some of the wooden wall panelling was coming away, and needs a little bit of TLC, and b) the shower unit above the old fashioned bath just did not do the job. It was so enclosed that the shower curtain attacked us due to the vacuum created by the flowing water. Nuff said, the bath was totally sufficient.
I have to admit that the suite itself was quite awesome, with wooden panelling and red and gold brocade all around, especially the four-poster bed. Another super touch was the large TV at the foot of the bed, which rose up out from an innocent looking ottoman. Our room steward, Roxy, was so polite, and couldn't have been more helpful - full marks. The continental breakfast in the room was plentiful, although I do feel that at the price, a full English could have been included.
We also had dinner in the main dining room one of the evenings, and although not a huge choice, there was sufficient to satisfy us (my wife being a vegetarian), and the quality and service were excellent.
Value for money? Well, the whole experience was quite pricey, but the uniqueness and the wow factor means that there are few comparatives, and we have decided that sometime in the future we shall return and try one of the other suites (I believe there are nine or ten in all).
A most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, good food and best service you could wish for but it's very expensive and not sure if the food lives up to the price tag, obviously paying for the name an experience, fantastic building and location.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank monkeyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
351 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,878 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Witchery by the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Witchery by the Castle

Address: The Royal Mile 352 Castlehill | Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £317 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Witchery by the Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Witchery by the Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Witchery By The Castle Hotel Edinburgh
Witchery Edinburgh
Edinburgh Witchery
Witchery Hotel Edinburgh
The Witchery By The Castle Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing