We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally lived up to its reputation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Witchery by the Castle
Ranked #30 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Totally lived up to its reputation!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This was a real treat as a great eating experience, from the unique environment through the wonderful food and wine, to the great service. It isnt cheap, but as a venue for a special celebration its well worthwhile.
We booked in the Secret Garden, and the welcome on arrival was warm and friendly. The menu is varied, although quite meat orientated (worth checking out the menus online). I had an individual haggis for starter (excellent), and for main we shared a lamb encroute. This was beautifully cooked and presented, with great flavour and texture. For dessert we shared a selection plate..again all the dishes were exceptionally tasty and imaginative. To round this off, you can choose from a wine list running to 75 pages! Our waiter was knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and quickly helped with an excellent recommendation.
Overall the waiting on team were very good, unobtrusive but very attentive, and keen to help our group enjoy the evening.
Overall then, highly recommended and look forward to returning again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Petenac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    206
    125
    109
    62
See reviews for
123
953
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Vestry room. Lived up to my expectations. Loved the decor and service was exceptional. Would definitely stay here again. Good for couples and singles but don't think would be ideal for families/kids

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MirandaPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Witchery has not one, but two, super restaurants. The Garden room is light and airy whereas the other restaurant is gothic and wonderfully atmospheric. The great news us that both serve super food with great service. For a real treat stay a few nights in one of the utterly individual, luxurious bedroom suites. A wonderful place!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is magical. I personally felt the service was lovely.
We had a very welcoming suited who I assume was the manager. Very chatty and friendly and the staff all wanted to help throughout the evening.
The food was lovely and even though people have said this restaurant is pricey it's one of the best restaurants in Edinburgh so it's kind of expected. I had a lobster soup for starter and the salmon for dinner and it was really tasty and filling. The wine was nice, some worth hundreds of pounds but also a bottle for £22 which suited me. The wine was called the Oppprtunist and tasted great.
Anyway, the magical part, the place is just so romantic. The cosy restaurant with stunning presentation. I sat feeling like the luckiest girl in the world here because it was a beautiful experience. You should go and have your own experience here because I found the restaurant and it's decor really magical. I want to go back now !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahreeves57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I went came here for lunch after a morning visiting the nearby castle.

Although we did not have a booking, we were quickly seated.

My son and I ordered the sea food platter. My husband ordered the veal dish which was a special for the day.

We had to wait quite a while for our meal at least 40 minutes - which is a long time especially as we didn't have starters.

I asked our waiter ( an American girl) how long the food would take and she was very rude. Her response was - " it takes as long as it takes" which I thought was very rude!!!

When the food finally came out it was very nice. My husband thought his dish was amazing.

My sea food platter was nice but I would suggest that the prawns are slightly deshelled. There was no finger bowl provided and peeling the prawns is very dirty work. Everything else tasted very nice.

I didn't know that this was a famous restaurant or celebrities often go here. We chose it as it was close to the castle and had a lovely entrance.

Although expensive a nice restaurant with tasty food!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawyergirlMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I had an overnight in the Turret which exceeded our expectations..certainly has raised the bar now for any other hotels..not sure they'll be up there.

Very luxurious treat and agree with other reviewers that the breakfast hamper in the room was a relaxing start to the morning with the 12 noon check out.

We didn't eat in the restaurant since felt the reviews were a bit hit and miss but can say the atmosphere and décor looked amazing

We also booked the gold tour at the Mary Kings Close which was excellent too......

Hope to get back to the witchery at some again...better get saving!!!

Room Tip: The Turret had beautiful views out to the Forth
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bentenisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We had a meal here after visiting camera obscura. We chose the lunch menu deal- about £15 each. The food was very nice but it was overpriced as the portions were very small to be honest. Service was quick and efficient and staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank DevonAngel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,570 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,101 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Witchery by the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Witchery by the Castle

Property: The Witchery by the Castle
Address: The Royal Mile 352 Castlehill | Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Witchery by the Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Witchery by the Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Witchery By The Castle Hotel Edinburgh
Witchery Edinburgh
Edinburgh Witchery
Witchery Hotel Edinburgh
The Witchery By The Castle Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing