We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIRTHDAY TREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Witchery by the Castle
Ranked #30 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband took me here for my birthday. It was fantastic, the service was amazing the whole experience was out of this world. It was like going back in time. The suite made me cry it was so beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angiepangie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Treated my Fiancé to the night down in the Library room. Was a mindblowing evening. Such a nice room and the bed was fantastic.

So nice to have something far superior for the evening. Thoroughly recommend this for a special event or a romantic weekend.

The double ended bath wasn't quite as large as I'd hoped, but was deep enough to have a good soak. The room even comes with a kitchen, so we could store foodstuffs and drinks. The only thing missing was a roaring fire.

Room Tip: The Library is slightly smaller than the Armoury, which is downstairs. But was more my style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumzitron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I have this firmly on our 'special occassion' place to go. It isn't actually that expensive owing to the generous portions you get. Don't get me wrong....its not cheap, but its not silly money. We just want to keep it an occassional place so as we cherish every minute of the ambiance, service and food. We dined in the Secret Garden for the first time and had a lovely seat by the window. As darkness fell, the restaurant was transformed back in time as the staff lit the candles and the experience changed immediately. Tremendous place to dine for couples or good friends. We always go for the steak. We preferred the Sirloin when it was on the menu as opposed to the filet, but by no means is this a complaint, just a personal choice.

Service was perfect as always.

Already planning our next meal in a few months.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KwaiLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was a real treat as a great eating experience, from the unique environment through the wonderful food and wine, to the great service. It isnt cheap, but as a venue for a special celebration its well worthwhile.
We booked in the Secret Garden, and the welcome on arrival was warm and friendly. The menu is varied, although quite meat orientated (worth checking out the menus online). I had an individual haggis for starter (excellent), and for main we shared a lamb encroute. This was beautifully cooked and presented, with great flavour and texture. For dessert we shared a selection plate..again all the dishes were exceptionally tasty and imaginative. To round this off, you can choose from a wine list running to 75 pages! Our waiter was knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and quickly helped with an excellent recommendation.
Overall the waiting on team were very good, unobtrusive but very attentive, and keen to help our group enjoy the evening.
Overall then, highly recommended and look forward to returning again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Petenac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed in the Vestry room. Lived up to my expectations. Loved the decor and service was exceptional. Would definitely stay here again. Good for couples and singles but don't think would be ideal for families/kids

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank MirandaPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Witchery has not one, but two, super restaurants. The Garden room is light and airy whereas the other restaurant is gothic and wonderfully atmospheric. The great news us that both serve super food with great service. For a real treat stay a few nights in one of the utterly individual, luxurious bedroom suites. A wonderful place!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is magical. I personally felt the service was lovely.
We had a very welcoming suited who I assume was the manager. Very chatty and friendly and the staff all wanted to help throughout the evening.
The food was lovely and even though people have said this restaurant is pricey it's one of the best restaurants in Edinburgh so it's kind of expected. I had a lobster soup for starter and the salmon for dinner and it was really tasty and filling. The wine was nice, some worth hundreds of pounds but also a bottle for £22 which suited me. The wine was called the Oppprtunist and tasted great.
Anyway, the magical part, the place is just so romantic. The cosy restaurant with stunning presentation. I sat feeling like the luckiest girl in the world here because it was a beautiful experience. You should go and have your own experience here because I found the restaurant and it's decor really magical. I want to go back now !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarahreeves57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,884 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Witchery by the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Witchery by the Castle

Address: The Royal Mile 352 Castlehill | Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £316 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Witchery by the Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Witchery by the Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Witchery By The Castle Hotel Edinburgh
Witchery Edinburgh
Edinburgh Witchery
Witchery Hotel Edinburgh
The Witchery By The Castle Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing