We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Witchery by the Castle
Ranked #33 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dining review”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The venue is great and different from standard restaurants, the decor was amazing and made the visit, however the service was slow, the food was nice but a little disappointing for the price I expected better. I have wanted to go to the witchery for sometime, glad I paid a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    208
    126
    109
    64
See reviews for
125
960
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Spent 2 nights in the Armoury Suite and have to say it was amazing. Like stepping back a couple of centuries, but with all mod cons, including GHD straighteners (for the wife). The suite was luxurious and fantastic, and has to be seen to appreciate the adulation. Staff were fantastic. - amiable, professional and discreet. Ate breakfast in the suite on one morning and in the restaurant the other morning. Both highly enjoyable experiences in their own unique way. Wished I had booked dinner in the Secret Garden restaurant, but had other arrangements made. We are now looking at making this an annual visit, and would highly recommend you look beyond the headline cost and enjoy a stay here. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Indulge yourself and pay a little bit extra for either of the larger suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Wow. This really is an amazing place to stay. From first arriving and being welcomed by Roxy - who is obviously a star - to every little detail throughout our stay, it was an amazing experience and we felt truly happy luxuriating in such theatrical splendour. We stayed in the Inner Sanctum - wonderful!
Breakfast in the living area was fabulous. I also loved the hidden TV, the enormous bath, the hair straighteners .... and a very romantic, candlelit dinner in The Secret Garden. Edinburgh at its best.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Witchery's Inner Sanctum Suite for two nights. The entrance of the hotel (actually no, it is not a hotel, it is a restaurant with rooms) already makes you feel good. The staff was very friendly and took care of our luggage. The Suite is simply amazing. It certainly is not everbodies style, but we liked being throwed back in time with all the antiques and the nice bath room. It may not be very practical, but we loved it! The breakfast was served in a hamper to the suite, we could enjoy it while watching the activities on the Royal Mile. The location is really perfect, you cannot stay any closer to the castle and the Tattoo. If you look for a very special place to stay you should stay here.

Room Tip: Inner Sanctum, a dream!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isi-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful restaurant in an old merchant house. Stunning surrounding, brilliant service and somewhere you have to go purely from a tourist point of view, and to say you've been.

However, for the cost, I felt the food was slightly lacking and you're in essence paying for dining in such a beautiful surrounding. I must say though the desserts were spectacular and the wine list the most extensive I've ever seen!!!! In all I had a really nice meal but had enjoyed better food in more low key places on our trip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have stayed twice at this lovely hotel once in the Guardroom suite and more recently in the Sempill suite. I have to say that it was a great experience enhanced by the attention to detail by the staff. We were greeted on both occasions by Roxy who went out of his way to make us comfortable and feel welcome .
Breakfast was served in our suite dining area, although it was not full cooked it was very filling with home made pastries and a selection of cold meats and cheese. You could have the full breakfast if you wished in the main dining room.
A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The Sempill suite was on the ground floor and very quiet. The Guardroom did involve some narrow stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed three nights in the Witchery suites and loved every moment. The rooms are so opulent, everything feels luxurious. Breakfast is brought to the dining area in your personal suite and you can select what you want the evening before, including fresh fruit platters, home-made porridge and fresh pastries. Home-made cookies are placed in your suite everyday, along with a new bottle of champagne. The service was faultless. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reggiethewonderhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,596 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#47 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,132 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Witchery by the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Witchery by the Castle

Property: The Witchery by the Castle
Address: The Royal Mile 352 Castlehill | Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Witchery by the Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Witchery by the Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Witchery By The Castle Hotel Edinburgh
Witchery Edinburgh
Edinburgh Witchery
Witchery Hotel Edinburgh
The Witchery By The Castle Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing