We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Witchery by the Castle
Ranked #31 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“never disappointed”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

this was my fourth trip to The Witchery for dinner- twice in main restaurant and twice in Secret Garden. On each occasion, food has been amazing- varied menu, excellent wine list and desserts to die for. Friendly if slightly distant staff, amazing surroundings and a sense that you are experiencing something unique
Cant wait to return

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaytraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    211
    127
    111
    65
See reviews for
128
978
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

what a shame. great ambience, location ,but for the hundred pound i spent all i got was a good wine , we had 30 pound menu, they didnt have one starter, was offered spaghetti ? the steak was tough and undercooked i didnt have a steak knife , and the few chips that came with it were a small consolation as a chef myself i dont like eating out in scotland as it usually ends in disappointment . i headed off to burger king for some value for money. this restaurant has three menus , trying to capture everyone i would come back for a bottle of wine, and a great time in edinburgh

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdeeefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

stayed for two nights but had to change rooms for the second night no problem they did it all for us. Have stayed in hotels all over England and the world but there is something special to this place. First night in the inner sanctum second across the road. Inner sanctum is a magical experience the room across the road very different but also very special even without DAN BROWN's signature on the floor

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebMarkDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to Scotland and seeing as we couldn't afford to stay IN the Witchery (hotel), we decided to eat in the Secret Garden instead. I was looking forward to the meal, but was extremely disappointed. The Secret Garden is a beautiful restaurant lit by candlelight, but I found the rest of the atmosphere a bit pretentious. Yes, it is very fancy, and yes, it is very pricey, but you would think that the food and service would live up to that-not so. They do have an extensive wine list, which is nice. We were served bread, 3 different choices. We ordered from 30 pound list which included an appetizer, entree, and dessert. We figured this would be our best option as the separate entrees were close to 30 pounds each. Our appetizers were good, a salad and haggis. For the entree, we both ordered some kind of beef/steak. It was so fatty and gristly that you could barely cut it with a steak knife let alone chew it. It came with some kind of clover looking greens, which were very bitter. It did come with one other vegetable, which I cannot remember. The dessert was o.k. It was a honey flavored puree, but was on a cracker/biscuit that tasted like cardboard. We were not the only ones having a disappointing meal. The woman next to me complained to the waiter that her soup had no flavor to it. The staff was fairly attentive but seemed too "uptight." For 100 pounds, this meal was such a let down. I would tell people to go eat elsewhere. We had much better food at the pubs in town.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rudiegrl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2009

I was unable to book a time for dinner, but I was determined that I'd dine at The Witchery!
Being at Edinburgh Castle one day, I saw that The Witchery had a 3 course price fixe luncheon for 12.95 Sterling. I made a reservation for that afternoon.

I was shown to a table in the garden room, the part of the restaurant down the stairs from the reservation desk.

The meal was:

a green soup--I think it was basil and onion (?) --pretty good

a salmon "pie"-- mediocre--made from what we'd call Puff Pastry in the States--and it wasn't a cohesive whole, the thing didn't hold together.

a dessert -- can't remember it so that was probably not tops, either.

But I do remember that the bread offering, brought to the table by a server and offered a variety of choice, was quite good and plentiful. I chose a glass of Cabernet that was VERY good for the money (about 6 Sterling). The service was very strong as well. And, the hostess had been quite freindly and gracious as I made one reservation, then cancelled, then made another.

The atmosphere WAS of course the main event. Lovely, kitschy, and fun.

I highly recommend going to the Witchery although the food may not be top notch, it's good. If you can't get in for dinner, try a lunch.

I hope to go back someday and to stay in one of the well known rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilesDrentrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

The moment we stepped in the Vestry we were blown away. The suite boasts a huge bedroom that has a king sized bed and dining area, a seperate bathroom, seperate toilet room and seperate kitchen! The decor is the stuff of fantasy and is so delightfully theatrical and opulent that you cannot help but love it. The bathroom was amazing with a round stand alone bath with red velvet shower curtains! There were lots of nice touches too like a chocolates and champagne waiting for us on our arrival and the service from the staff was excellent. My only criticism is that because our room was next to the road that leads up to the castle it was very noisy but that certainly didn't spoil the experience and it's left me with memories I will cherish. Plus despite being noisy, being next to the castle not only meant easy access to the castle but that we were right in the heart of edinburgh city.

I (like so many others who wrote in the guest book in our room) can't wait to go back and try another suite. Many people wrote that they only left their room to go to dinner and given that it's such an entertaining, fantastical and romantic room I can fully understand why. If you go to Edinburgh and you like history, atmosphere and indulgence then you'd be mad to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nojiggerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

After reading other reviews I was quite worried as we had already booked a table at this restaurant. I need not have worried as we had a great time. The staff were incredibly friendly - they couldn't have done more to make our experience a special one. I agree that the food was very expensive and I have had better for less but the surroundings and ambiance were unbeatable.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chr1ss1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#50 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
330 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#88 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,294 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Witchery by the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Witchery by the Castle

Property: The Witchery by the Castle
Address: The Royal Mile 352 Castlehill | Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Witchery by the Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Witchery by the Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Witchery By The Castle Hotel Edinburgh
Witchery Edinburgh
Edinburgh Witchery
Witchery Hotel Edinburgh
The Witchery By The Castle Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing