We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bonham Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$488
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveller rating
730
443
168
74
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
730
443
168
74
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrumsheugh gardenswest end of edinburghbay windowbreakfast in bedprinces streetlovely hotelsuperior roomdean villageeggs benedictthird floorquiet locationfull scottish breakfastwithin easy walking distancemini barbeautiful roomhigh ceilingsbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,032 - 1,037 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We went for Afternoon Tea at The Bonham this weekend, and had a wonderful time. It is served in the 'Consulting Room' which is towards the rear of the hotel. A nice, small room with only 4 tables and a real fire. Service was impeccable throughout - attentive but not overstated. There is a good range of tea to choose from. Would recommend adding a glass of Prosecco which was chilled to perfection! The Afternoon Tea itself was just about the right quantity - sandwiches had traditional fillings (ham, salmon, cheese etc), and were very fresh. Some may find them quite basic, but we liked it more because of this. (A few weeks ago, we took A/Tea at the Sheraton, and although food was also good, the sandwiches were more fancy, and we thought The Bonham had the edge!). Delicious homebaked scones, lemon tart, lemon macaroons and other cakes. Will definitely visit again - a fun and refined way to spend a couple of hours on a Sunday afternoon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank missloobylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have stayed here before and it’s always a nice experience. The location is about 10min walk from Haymarket station, so very easy to get to and not expensive if you get a taxi. The room this time was not as good as previously, but it was still very warm and comfortable and decorated to a high spec. Overall everything was done well, but I think I’d try a different hotel next time I’m in Edinburgh because it wasn’t as good as my previous stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyLayne85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had a fabulous time celebrating a friend's hen do at the Bonham. We booked a junior suite which was perfect for three girls. The room was very luxurous and a good size, with a great separate living area. We had breakfast in the room both days, and dinner in the hotel one night (really enjoyable!). The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us. Highly reccommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeGills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights 4th-6th April 2012, and I have to say, we left disappointed. We booked a suit (room 104), which had a fantastically huge living room, comfortable bedroom, and a really tired (but very clean) bathroom. If you're looking for a boutique hotel bathroom that offers the wow-factor, then this isn't the hotel for you.

Part of our package included a 'complimentary soft drinks mini-bar' and 'complimentary sweet treats'. Now, if these little extras are the sort of thing that can help make-or-break a where-to-stay decision for you, then please bear in mind that the 'soft drinks mini-bar' consisted of 2 cans of coke, 1 can of diet & 2 bottles of water. The 'sweet treats' were a Kit-Kat and small bar of Green & Blacks chocolate. We did ask for additional soft drinks, which came in glass bottles but without a bottle opener. We asked twice, but resorted to opening them with our door key.

The suit was at the front of the hotel, over-looking Drumsheugh Gardens, and, perhaps it's due to the re-routing of the traffic due to the tram construction upheaval, but we found the traffic noise at night and early in the morning quite intrusive.

In general, we found the service a little off-hand...nobody was unpleasant, but they weren't particuarly friendly or helpful either. Breakfast was fine, but didn't blow us away.

Having stayed at the Bonham's sister hotel, Blythswood Square in Glasgow, we had high expectations as it had really delivered. The Bonham, unfortunately, couldn't compete in terms of style, decor and service.

On the plus side, the Bonham's location is good.

My acid-test is always: would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Would I choose to stay here again. Unfortunately the answer to both is no.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAC130476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie A, General Manager at The Bonham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

I am extremely grateful to you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Bonham. I am disappointed that we did not meet with all of your expectations. I will be writing to you personally in response to your review to discuss you comments further.

Kind regards

Johanne Falconer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here for business a few time - very nice rooms, hotel located on a delightful quiet square. Good for the West end, bit of a hike for Waverly station esp if the weather is bad. Service very good too. Comfy beds. Rooms have nice decor (mine did anyway). The bar was under construction when i stayed there last but it looked interesting....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunseeker1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews