We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but a bit tired and crowded with outside events in small lobby areas.”
Review of The Bonham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bonham Hotel
Ranked #48 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Bonham was billed as a great boutique hotel but it fell short for me. Although the staff was lovely and attentive and my room had a great view of Edinburgh, the decor in the hotel felt tired and there was a real problem with a humid heat in the hallways. They even placed a big floor fan right in the middle of the small hallway on my floor....kind of tacky. During the two nights I was there, the hotel was hosting outside events in the small front rooms of the hotel. Every time I walked through the partying people to get to my room, I felt a bit like an uninvited guest. The market menu in the restaurant was good but the wait staff could have been friendlier and more Overall, a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtotravel039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

975 - 981 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Bonham is part of a beautiful Georgian Terrace, a quieter area but only 5 minutes walk from Prince's Street. This was the final destination on our coast and castles bike ride, and it was a great choice for a two night stay to recharge the batteries! Storage was provided for the bikes.

Our room was on the third floor at the back of the hotel. It was wonderfully peaceful and had great views of the city and the Firth of Forth beyond. the bed was large and comfortable, although the duvet seemed like polyester, so overly warm.

We found the staff to be generally very friendly and helpful, especially those on reception. We had to ask for service at the bar on both evenings.

We ate at the hotel , as there is a "market menu" that is good value for the quality of the food, although the choice is very limited, and for a vegetarian means a choice of one dish. Good wine list, and some good value choices.

On our first day, we had breakfast early, and it was really good as was the service. We were up later on the second morning, when the service seemed more under strain and was slower. My husband's breakfast was overcooked, which was a surprise after the excellent dinner. The buffet table however, was good, with a range of juices, fresh fruit, salmon, cold meets, cheeses and pastries. Replenishment was a bit slow with many items running out.

Overall, a really good stay, perhaps a little attention to details required as this is a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CycleVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

My husband and I, stayed at The Bonham over the Jubilee bank holiday for 2 nights. We had a beautiful room with a king size bed. Very comfortable and quiet. Room was very soacious, but could maybe do with a little TLC, nothing major that a paint brush couldn't remedy. Bathroom was also spacious and shower was fantastic, but as the window wasn't frosted the blind needed to be permanently closed, making the room a little dark. The hotel itself was nothing short of stunning. Beautifully decorated with gorgeous features. Didn't eat in the restaurant, so can't comment on the food, but breakfast was fab. The cooked breakfast was on the small side, but the buffet was fantastic, including the fresh smoked salmon. The breakfast staff did tend to be a little un attentive (if that's a word) but the reception staff could not have been more helpful. The onsite parking was a god send, and the hotel is a 5 minute walk to pubs, eateries, etc.Overall a great stay, and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicki3180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed at Bonham with wife over jubilee weekend on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast room.
we had a Superior Room - the hotel was lovely and the room we had was super cool.

We had a slight issue in the bathroom regarding how it had / hadnt been cleaned by the time we checked in.

The staff were very embarrassed and apologetic and went out of their way to remedy the situation.

The restaurant was great for dinner - breakfast was ok.

Overall - defo reccommend for a comfortable / stay in luxurious surround and good customer service.

Thank you Bonham.

Room Tip: Go for a la carte menu rather than market menu - better choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotttennerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Bonham is housed within a row of Georgian townhouses in a quiet area of Edinburgh yet within minutes of all the shops and tourist attractions.It has a refined and genteel atmosphere and the public rooms are both beautiful and welcoming.
All the staff whom we came into contact with were top quality and are a credit to the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble.
The oak paneled dining room was both fantastic to look at and to eat in. We enjoyed both breakfasts and dinner here and the food was outstanding.
We booked The Bonham primarily because of the free, secure parking which is quite a rarity in Edinburgh.Be aware that the car park is not easy to find as it is not on the same street as the hotel and is not signposted from the road that it is on. We pulled up outside the front of the hotel and went straight to reception for directions. The car park itself isn't large with only about 15 spaces but you can double park and leave your keys at reception. They have an insured driver (or so we were told) who shuffles cars about to let people in and out. We just parked up for 4 days and walked everywhere as everything was so close and convenient.
Our superior room (315) at the back of the hotel on the third floor, was the only part of our stay here that had any negatives.It felt like it needed some TLC and a bit of maintenance on some wear and tear. The furniture was a little battered and there were water stains on the ceiling. A light switch had disappeared into it's socket displaying only a hole with wires behind. The grouting in the bathroom was beginning to blacken and the dressing gowns were showing their age. It also surprises me that a hotel of this standard does not have a safe in the room and that you are unable to regulate your own room temperature. All that being said, it was spacious with a large bay window looking out to the Forth and on to Fife. There were armchairs and a table positioned to take in these views and it was often hard to drag ourselves away from it. The room was kept immaculately clean and there was even a turn down service and room refresh every evening. The bed was large and very comfortable with lovely soft linens and there was very little noise from the rest of the hotel.
There is so much going for this hotel that we only consider the few negatives as minor. If we are ever back in Edinburgh we would definitely return to The Bonham.

Room Tip: Rooms atthe back have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabithaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Lovely little boutique hotel. Great location and walking distance to New Town. Friendly staff and very nice accommodation. Dined in the restaurant - one dish was spot on, the other a little lacking, but overall okay. Breakfasts are a real treat. Definitely recommend. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_Love_Great_Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Why not stay away from the hustle and bustle of the Royal Mile, princess street and such and stay in New Town? In this boutique hotel in a town house on a nice quiet square you will be pampered with everything you need on a stone throw of all your usual Edinburgh attractions. Rooms are modern, spacious and the bathroom is excellent. There is free wifi and a super friendly staff. The lounge & bar are cozy. The true hidden gem in the hotel is the restaurant where they prepare awesome food for very reasonable prizes.

Room Tip: Because there is no air conditioning - when it is hot and sunny ask for a room at the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mareku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,781 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham Hotel

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £62 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bonham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing