We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room and Great Staff”
Review of The Bonham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bonham Hotel
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed one night at The Bonham for a shopping trip. The walk from the centre of the city wasn't too far, even in the rain! The man on reception was helpful and pleasant. We were given one of the two rooms on the top floor and the view was good, but would of been even better if the rain and cloud had disappeared. The bed was nice and large and the bathroom clean. Breakfast was great with a nice selection of buffet style and hot breakfast. They even accomodated my wife's dairy-free diet. On check out day they looked after our luggage safely behind the reception until later in the afternoon.

One negative point to the room was that the TV was too small for the distance between it and the bed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WazKROKEIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie A, General Manager at The Bonham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your review and your kind comments made.

I will be placing your review onto our staff notice board for all of the team to see.

i do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future ( hopefully with the sun shining ).

Kind regards

Johanne Falconer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Returned to the Bonham for a two night stay. We have stayed here at least once a year for several years and it still does not disappoint.
We arrived to be given a room downstairs which although very newly done and with a lovely spacious bathroom, was definitely damp. When I went to complain we were shown promptly by the manager to another room on the third floor and ten minutes later complimentary glasses of champagne were served. The decor is still good although in parts a little shabby! Great breakfast and very obliging staff. Will definitely return since like the location but perhaps some refurb needs to be done!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glasgowscott_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We arrived at the Bonham late on a Thursday night for a two night stay for a wedding that we were attending in Edinburgh. Check in was quick and fine, but when we reached our room we were in all honestly sorely disappointed. We had chosen to stay at the Bonham having stayed in its sister hotel, Blythswood Square in Glasgow, earlier in the year. The Blythswood was fantastic and I couldn’t recommend it highly enough, however the Bonham just doesn’t quite live up to expectations after a stay in Blythswood.

The room we booked was one rung up from their standard and although it was exceptionally large for a city centre room, the furniture was tired, the bathroom was around the standard you’d expect in a tired Travelodge and the walls were bare – none of the unique style the website promised. We asked for an upgrade that night but were told there were no other rooms available.

Having felt increasingly short changed over the course of the night I asked again in the morning if another room was available and the duty manager upgraded us to a suite, arranged for our bags to be moved whilst we were out during the day and made sure the night porter was aware of the situation on our return. The suite was very nicely decorated, interesting and comfortable – although the bathroom was again rather tired, but I certainly wouldn’t have paid the extra for it having seen it. The bed linen was good but the towels had clearly been through an industrial wash cycle a few too many times.

In fairness, the breakfasts on both mornings were excellent, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful (especially the night porter on our first evening who made us tea and toast, which wasn’t on the menu, at 11.30pm in the bar – perfect!) and the public areas were lovely to relax in. I will however try a different hotel next time I stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnotherGirlsName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie A, General Manager at The Bonham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your recent review and the comments you have made. I so sorry that we did not meet with all of your expectations during your stay and will be in contact directly to discuss the areas you have highlighted further.

Kind regards

Johanne Falconer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel on the recommendation of trip advisor visitors. It is located about 10 minutes from the Old town, but is quite and very well located. The dining room was excellent on the first night, but the second was a disappointment as the a la carte was exactly the same as previously and apparently only changes weekly. Also the service was less than satisfactory. The standard room was adequate although small in comparison to 10 nights on the road elsewhere in Scotland. It was disappointing that 2 lights were not functioning, and the bathroom blind was out of order. Staff fixed one light, however the blind was not repaired after requesting it. This hotel is in real need of an upgrade, it is tired and in serious need of an upgrade. I am hesitant to be critical as management and staff did their best to correct the situation, and in fact the 3rd night dinner was on the house....so that made a difference. As a frequent contributor to trip advisor I endeavor to be genuinely balanced...I have to say a great location, but a tired hotel with a great restaurant. It has the potential to be a top boutique hotel, but money needs to be spent. The staff did their best, the room was very clean, and management helpful.....jus spend some money!!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie A, General Manager at The Bonham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your recent review and the comments you have made. I so sorry that we did not meet with all of your expectations during your stay and will be in contact directly to discuss further.

Kind regards

Johanne Falconer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The hotel is situated close enough to the main attractions - about 15 minutes walk from the old town and is in the quieter part of the city. I must admit, it was nice to be able to get away from the crowds, loud music and overcrowded bars (there were a number of stag parties that weekend) at the end of the evening (we were there on Friday and Saturday evening).

The accommodation was adequate, but the room had a bit of a stuffy smell to it. Perhaps it hadn’t been aired out in a while – it felt a lot better once we had opened the windows. The room was also quite dark even though we had to switch the lights on in the morning. It just made the room feel a bit gloomy despite the modern decor. The rest of the hotel was fine – I would suggest that you request a room on the upper floors when making a booking instead of one on the lower ground floor. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AwA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The Bonham was a wonderful experience. The service was on top of everything and the room was updated and very nice. The restaurant was both good and classy. Also, it was very quiet which is an issue with other places in Edinburgh, so it's a must!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europelover995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie A, General Manager at The Bonham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at The Bonham.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much with us .I will be passing your comments onto the team here.

I do hope that we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Johanne Falconer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Googled "Hotel with parking close to Princes Street"and got the Bonham - and it turned out to be perfect. Lovely old building on the outside but a modern hotel within. Charming, helpful receptionists. I had a lovely big room overlooking the square - very comfortable bed. I opted to eat in the restaurant both nights - it was excellent - great menus. Breakfast was very good - lots of choices. Restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive especially in the evening. It was about 10 minutes walk from Prince's Street. As a solo traveller I found it to be a very friendly place with attentive staff - it had a very nice feeling about it. I would most definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,899 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,384 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham Hotel

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £80 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bonham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing